HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Paddy's Palace Belfast

Hostel | 68 Lisburn Rd, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT9 6AX

76.7% Overall Rating

650 out of 805 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/10/2013)

Ralf Schuster thinks…

"rooms and toilets are clean. The "lounge" and kitchen were a bit chaotic which is no wonder since everybody made his/her breakfast self and had then to wash the dishes too. A small buffet prepared by…"

Read all Paddy's Palace Belfast reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

IMPORTANT: Please note check-in times are from 1pm until 8pm. Later check-in times will need to be pre-arranged by calling the hostel. Contact details will be given on your confirmation e-mail. Check-ins will not be admitted after 10pm.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Arnies Backpackers
22.87 USD

Hostel 83.5% 41 reviews
Titanic Apartments
42.67 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
22.19 USD

Hostel 92.6% 222 reviews
City Backpacker
25.60 USD

Hostel 88.9% 45 reviews
Lagan Backpackers
22.19 USD

Hostel 83.3% 558 reviews
Global Village
23.89 USD

Hostel 92.5% 168 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
67.42 USD

Hostel 89.7% 5 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
23.04 USD

Hostel 79.4% 317 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

650 out of 805 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Paddy's Palace Belfast'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 521 of 548 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2014

Liked: Very little, nice layout

Disliked: Unhelpful staff, dirty, communial areas ckose at 10, way to eatly,

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Dirty and filthy. Only one shower worked. Toilet paper was out in many of the bathrooms. Kitchen very old and worn down. Extremely cold in halls and room. Windows didn't shut properly. They don't seem to be cleaning the rooms after people has checked out. Was first given a room which was a total mess, food on the floor, puke in the sink and just generally dirty. Was then given another room, but cleaning does not seem to be a priority.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Xian Gong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2013

Liked: Nice location, friendly staff and nice bathrooms.

Disliked: The rooms are a little bit small.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ralf Schuster

Alone

Partying / nightlife

14 October 2013 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: rooms and toilets are clean. The "lounge" and kitchen were a bit chaotic which is no wonder since everybody made his/her breakfast self and had then to wash the dishes too. A small buffet prepared by the staff would improve the situation.

Disliked: according to my booking confirmation Nr 19595-9967432 I had to pay 1.00 GBP, of which I payed 0.10 GBP in advance by credit card, leaving 0.90 GBP to be paid on arrival. The receptionist asked me however to pay 12.00 GBP and told me that the price on my booking confirmation was "a mistake"! She then reduced the price to 10.00 GBP which I finally paid and because I did not want to start looking for another hostel at 4pm! I got receipt Nr 12120 from "Paddy's Palace". I would like to send you a copy but it is not possible on this online feedback form, so I will send it by separate mail.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nadya Blouin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013

Liked: The staff were friendly.

Disliked: The common areas close at 10PM. Way too early. Almost everyone there was working or going to school so it was very difficult to meet fellow travelers. The morning I left to catch the bus to the airport. I was given wrong directions from a staff member that had me running around the city centre for an hour with a 70 litre backpack and I just barely caught my flight. I was not impressed.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Shona O Donnell

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 July 2013 Shona would recommend this property

Liked: Handy location, value for money, ok place just to put head down, get what u pay for.

Disliked: Toilets bit untidy, not enough ventilation in room no window to open properly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is extremely helpful and friendly. Clean and excellent location.

Disliked: The WiFi is a little unreliable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mona Zirngibl

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

29 June 2013 Mona would recommend this property

Liked: There were two spacious common rooms and a large garden to chill out in.

Disliked: The breakfast was very basic

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really nice and really make the place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, location and value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was right near the university and good bars. the rooms were small and clean and nice

Disliked: the door wouldnt open to get into the hostel because the key sticks really badly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksander Strukelj

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

20 May 2013 Aleksander would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff, included breakfast

Disliked: keys seem to be badly done, so you have to struggle a bit

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

James Bullock

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013

Liked: Purple Walls.

Disliked: Cold Showers. Not enough Showers / Bathrooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, had more of a homey feel to it. Big kitchen, TV room with movies and cable. Beds were comfortable.

Disliked: Was a little dirty. No hand dryers or towels in the bathrooms or kitchen. Our key didn't work to get into the main door. Online it says you can check in at 1 but you can't check in until 4 which is a very late check in

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, warm blankets, small electric heater in the bedroom, wifi, breakfast included, good showers.

Disliked: A little shabby, not so clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sher Shah

Alone

Business / conference

11 April 2013 Sher would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and very new, close to the city centre

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very value for money and you can get the Giant causeway tour for just 10GBP! Hot water is provided for showering and the water pressure is great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Owens

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff, beautiful facilities, cant wait to go back!

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel for the price and very helpfull staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and clean. Really nice bathrooms (but I don't think there will be enough of them if the place is full). Bed was comfy.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere, renovations going on, no heating (small electric heaters provided) and working power points are scarce.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

03 December 2012

Liked: The reception people were waiting us even we arrived on Sunday midnight.

Disliked: After too days of relative satisfaction, there was just cold water in the shower, no heating, the problem was not fixed until we left the hostel staying there 7 nights. Fair to say, after asking the staff they lended us an electric heater to heat the room up a little bit.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012

Liked: Free parking in the street where the hostel is situated.

Disliked: -15 (empty) bottles of beer in my room - smelled like vomit (sink/floor) - beds were messy although the mess described was not created by the staff but by another guest the staff was unable to offer a different room. In fact a part of the staff was drinking with guests while there was one person in charge who didn't seem to have control over the situation. In the end the charge for one bed was to be 24 Euro eventhough in the confirmation e-mail the price was set to be 10 Euro per person. The place looks like it is about to be renovated everywhere is paint stains and tools. There was just one key for the room because all the other keys were apparently lost. Bathroom door couldn't be locked. Just one shower with hot water.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Katrin Rüger

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012

Liked: I had a bed to stay overnight.

Disliked: I missed better atmosphere and especially cleanliness. The windows in the room were hardly to open and shut again. The only chair in that 2bedroom was broken.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Bruno Santos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2012 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Really dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petra Tolarova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, freshly refusbished hostel and very friendly staff, I can highly recommend to stay at this place as it's great value for money.

Disliked: N/A