HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Paddy's Palace Belfast Belfast

Hostel

68 Lisburn Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 66%

Location 80%

Safety 78%

Staff 76%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.56USD

Important Information

IMPORTANT: Please note check-in times are from 1pm until 8pm. Later check-in times will need to be pre-arranged by calling the hostel. Contact details will be given on your confirmation e-mail. Check-ins will not be admitted after 10pm.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 66%

Location 80%

Safety 78%

Staff 76%

Value 77%

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Price and location

Disliked: Unhealthy breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Not too far from the city centre; reasonable price - you get what you pay for - budget accommodation; plenty of places to buy food, eat or drink nearby. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Quite often at least one bathroom or toilet out of order; breakfast was very basic and the kitchen could have done with more cutlery, etc.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The guy at the desk was the most informed hostel worker I have ever met! He gave me a rundown of the whole city including all the tourist sights opening times and prices.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Really relaxed, easy-going ... and the staff were really helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location, value for money.

Disliked: Only negative was you are asked to pay a deposit of £5 for the keys to your room which is fine however when there is no one in the office the next day just a note saying return keys under office door if checking out how are you meant to get £5 deposit back?

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent question. We are able to make arrangements for early check outs to get around this problem, if you do choose us again you can let the reception know when you are checking out and we will accommodate you.
Regards,
Rachel, Manager

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very little, nice layout

Disliked: Unhelpful staff, dirty, communial areas ckose at 10, way to eatly,


The property's response is

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We're sad that you did not find the cleanliness standards high on June 2014. This problem has been addressed since then and our cleaners are now monitored. Our reception staff have also changed since this time.
The communal areas close at 10pm when there is no night porter, 12pm with a night porter. This is due to the close proximity of communal areas to dorm rooms. For the comfort of people in those rooms we request quiet after 11pm.
Regards,
Rachel

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Dirty and filthy.Only one shower worked. Toilet paper was out in many of the bathrooms. Kitchen very old and worn down. Extremely cold in halls and room. Windows didn't shut properly.They don't seem to be cleaning the rooms after people has checked out. Was first given a room which was a total mess, food on the floor, puke in the sink and just generally dirty. Was then given another room, but cleaning does not seem to be a priority.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice location, friendly staff and nice bathrooms.

Disliked: The rooms are a little bit small.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: rooms and toilets are clean. The "lounge" and kitchen were a bit chaotic which is no wonder since everybody made his/her breakfast self and had then to wash the dishes too. A small buffet prepared by the staff would improve the situation.

Disliked: according to my booking confirmation Nr 19595-9967432 I had to pay 1.00 GBP, of which I payed 0.10 GBP in advance by credit card, leaving 0.90 GBP to be paid on arrival. The receptionist asked me however to pay 12.00 GBP and told me that the price on my booking confirmation was "a mistake"! She then reduced the price to 10.00 GBP which I finally paid and because I did not want to start looking for another hostel at 4pm! I got receipt Nr 12120 from "Paddy's Palace". I would like to send you a copy but it is not possible on this online feedback form, so I will send it by separate mail.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were friendly.

Disliked: The common areas close at 10PM. Way too early. Almost everyone there was working or going to school so it was very difficult to meet fellow travelers. The morning I left to catch the bus to the airport. I was given wrong directions from a staff member that had me running around the city centre for an hour with a 70 litre backpack and I just barely caught my flight. I was not impressed.

Check Availability