HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Turtlecove Accommodation Whitianga Hostel

14 Bryce Street, Whitianga, New Zealand

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 89%

Location 86%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.43USD

Important Information

A non-refundable portion of 20% applies to this booking.
Should you cancel this booking less than 48 hours prior to arrival date, your 1st night costs will be charged.
No shows will incur full purchase price of your total booking being charged.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Whitianga?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 89%

Location 86%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 92%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Really friendly, informative owner, spacious room, kitchen and lounge, lovely breakfast included. Quiet and peaceful during my stay. Close to transport,beach+ food places. Brilliant Wi-Fi!

Disliked: No fault to find :)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean,tidy, frendly staff

Disliked: no dislikes

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hostel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of your journey goes well.
Regards
Turtlecove Crew

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly and welcoming, very clean

Disliked: No complaints

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review of our hostel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel.
Regards
Turtlecove Crew

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We had a really lovely staff member check us in the afternoon of the 4th - she was so friendly and welcoming. We had 5 in our group who dealt with her at seperate times and all mentioned how lovely she was. The room and bathrooms were clean and well maintained. The rooms were secure and spacious.

Disliked: Nothing - if I had to nit-pick the pool table if a bit old and deformed so it makes playing difficult as the balls fall into a sunken area of the table.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your lovely review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry about the pool table, although it looks old it is not, but it has had some rough handling by some.
Hope the rest of your journey went well
Regards
Turtlecove Crew

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Close to town, breakfast included, nice and clean.

Disliked: Room shown on hostel bookers site was not provided on arrival.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Very quiet place, friendly staff, and good ambient.

Disliked: Somebody stole me food from the fridge. It hadn't any name but anyway, the hostel wasn't full and almost everybody were out the hostel at the time my food was stolen.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel, it is very sad that someone took your food from the fridge but if you have no name on it and leave it in the free shelf then it will happen. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Regards
Turtlecove Crew

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel was really nice and clean, we especially liked the well-equipped kitchen and the "living room area".

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi, thank you for your lovely review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that the rest of your trip went well.
Regards
Turtlecove Crew

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free breakfast, comfy beds, friendly staff, and clean facilities. Couldn't ask for anything more!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we appreciate that you have taken time to write a review for us.
All the best
Regards
Turtlecove Crew

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed in the twin private room and it had plenty of space for both of us. The bathrooms and our room were very clean. The free breakfast wasn't much but it's a nice touch and did the job. You get one hour of internet free but you have to pay for additional time used. There was plenty of parking for my car, however there weren't many people staying at that time of year. The owners were very helpful with recommendations on what to do and see and what to stay away from.

Disliked: The bathrooms we're separated for guys and girls, but there were two stalls in each without curtains. So you basically and to dress and undress in the stall to avoid flashing anyone.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi
Thank you we appreciate that you have taken time to write a review for us and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you did not like our bathroom, most don't mind the setup, and we do apologize that we did not inform you of a more private bathroom that you could have used.
Regards
Turtlecove Crew

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cute and cosy little hostel, loved the free breakfast and the VHS-collection! It was super clean and had the most comfy beds I had in ages!

Disliked: ---

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to write such a lovely review. We hope the rest of your journey is enjoyable and safe.
Regards
Turtlecove Crew

Check Availability