HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Wellington, New Zealand

96.6%
31 reviews Book Now 
1

Moana Lodge

5 star Hotel
49 Moana Road, Plimmerton, Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand 5247

31 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Moana Lodge

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 100% Facilities - 97% Safety - 96%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 93%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 May 2013

What every backpacker needs is catered for, clean rooms, clean showers, helpful staff, big clean kitchen with all the utensils. Also Danny goes out of his way to help, that includes collecting and dropping you off.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 April 2013

Great Location& nice neighbourhood, clean facilities, big and well equipped kitchen, good layout to have food together, free parking

91.1%
421 reviews Book Now 
2

YHA Wellington City

Hostel
292 Wakefield St (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand 6011

403 out of 421 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Wellington City

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 94% Facilities - 92% Safety - 95%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 85%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 16 June 2014

I like the central location with the supermarket so close, you can walk everywhere. The chill out area outside in front of the hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful and the toiletts all clear.

PAUL DOCKERAY
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
PAUL would recommend this property 27 May 2014

It felt homely, staff were great, room was fine. Kitchen, dining areas, TV room all good. Really handy with the bike cave!!

88.5%
242 reviews Book Now 
3

Nomads Capital Backpackers - Wellington

Hostel
118 -120 Wakefield Street, Wellington, New Zealand 6011

208 out of 242 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nomads Capital Backpackers - Wellington

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 87% Facilities - 87% Safety - 88%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 85%
Abbi Morrison
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Abbi would recommend this property 26 April 2014

Very central. Clean and comfortable. Quiet dorm room with not a lot of noise filtering through from neighbouring bar.

Tammy Tamura
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Tammy would recommend this property 29 December 2013

Good Location, clean, and comfortable hostel. Staff are very helpful, too. I enjoyed my stay in Wellington.

82.9%
79 reviews Book Now 
4

Trek Global

Hostel
9 O’Reily Avenue, Wellington, New Zealand -

65 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Trek Global

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 89% Facilities - 78% Safety - 81%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 79% Value - 80%
Corrin Walters
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
85.7%
Corrin would recommend this property 07 March 2014

This place was so clean. Housekeeping cleaned the bathrooms and kitchens at leat twice a day.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 03 March 2014

I liked the apartment style of the dorms and there were lots of kitchens with good equipment

82.7%
221 reviews Book Now 
5

Downtown Backpackers

Hostel
1 Bunny Street, Wellington, New Zealand 6011

185 out of 221 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Downtown Backpackers

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 87% Facilities - 76% Safety - 85%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 80%
Janaya Duggan
Alone
City break
88.6%
Janaya would recommend this property 22 June 2014

I was staying in a single room and was plesantly surprised to find it equipped with a t.v and remote. Was also surprised to find that my shared bathroom was only shared between me and the other single room opposite me instead of several rooms as I had expected.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 19 May 2014

Great location. Really close to bus and rail way stations and city centre as well

81.8%
129 reviews Book Now 
6

The Cambridge Hotel

3 star Hotel
28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, New Zealand 6011

102 out of 129 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Cambridge Hotel

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 85% Facilities - 72% Safety - 84%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 79%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
60.0%
27 March 2014

Reception area was nice and clean with a wide variety of leaflets. Also free luggage storage came in handy. Lots of toilets and showers!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 12 March 2014

A great hostel to stay! As a backpacker I really felt very much respected by the very informative staff. Also the facilities are great. The rooms were clean and the hallway had beautiful carpet (yes, it makes you feel like you're staying in the hotel instead of the hostel when you walk there).

75.0%
4 reviews Book Now 
7

Worldwide Backpackers

Hostel
291 The Terrace, Te ARo, Wellington, New Zealand 6011

3 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Worldwide Backpackers

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 85% Facilities - 65% Safety - 85%
Location - 65% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 80%
Mae Griffin
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
54.3%
07 June 2014

It was cheap, there was free breakfast, the first 2 nights we were upgraded to a double room as they had double booked the 3 bed dorm.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 19 March 2014

After camping for 3 days we were really impressed with the large, comfy bed and size of room.

Wellington

8 Hostels from 19.55 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Wellington hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Wellington. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.