HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Wellington, New Zealand

96.8%
30 reviews Book Now 
1

Moana Lodge

5 star Hotel
49 Moana Road, Plimmerton, Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand 5247

30 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Moana Lodge

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 100% Facilities - 97% Safety - 96%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 95%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 May 2013

What every backpacker needs is catered for, clean rooms, clean showers, helpful staff, big clean kitchen with all the utensils. Also Danny goes out of his way to help, that includes collecting and dropping you off.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 April 2013

Great Location& nice neighbourhood, clean facilities, big and well equipped kitchen, good layout to have food together, free parking

90.7%
416 reviews Book Now 
2

YHA Wellington City

Hostel
292 Wakefield St (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand 6011

398 out of 416 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Wellington City

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 94% Facilities - 92% Safety - 93%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 83%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 03 February 2014

Great location, really close to everything. Clean sheets, hot showers, what a traveller needs!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2014

I had a short stay but the staff were all friendly, talkative and nice. The kitchen facilities were great and it was all very spacious. I would have liked to have stayed longer!

89.7%
237 reviews Book Now 
3

Nomads Capital Backpackers - Wellington

Hostel
118 -120 Wakefield Street, Wellington, New Zealand 6011

203 out of 237 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nomads Capital Backpackers - Wellington

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 88% Facilities - 88% Safety - 89%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 88%
Tammy Tamura
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Tammy would recommend this property 29 December 2013

Good Location, clean, and comfortable hostel. Staff are very helpful, too. I enjoyed my stay in Wellington.

emily kate Blocki
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
emily kate would recommend this property 09 December 2013

The location, the fact that there were baths rooms around the building so that if someone was using the en suit you did not have to walk out the building to somewhere else. Good kitchen equipment and always cleaned twice a day. Towel and soap in bathrooms. Staff were great. A washing machine that actually gets stuff clean and a dryer that dries the clothes in under 35 mins (a first for me)

84.0%
78 reviews Book Now 
4

Trek Global

Hostel
9 O’Reily Avenue, Wellington, New Zealand -

65 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Trek Global

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 92% Facilities - 79% Safety - 84%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 82%
Corrin Walters
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
85.7%
Corrin would recommend this property 07 March 2014

This place was so clean. Housekeeping cleaned the bathrooms and kitchens at leat twice a day.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 03 March 2014

I liked the apartment style of the dorms and there were lots of kitchens with good equipment

83.4%
127 reviews Book Now 
5

The Cambridge Hotel

3 star Hotel
28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, New Zealand 6011

102 out of 127 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Cambridge Hotel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 88% Facilities - 73% Safety - 86%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
60.0%
27 March 2014

Reception area was nice and clean with a wide variety of leaflets. Also free luggage storage came in handy. Lots of toilets and showers!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 12 March 2014

A great hostel to stay! As a backpacker I really felt very much respected by the very informative staff. Also the facilities are great. The rooms were clean and the hallway had beautiful carpet (yes, it makes you feel like you're staying in the hotel instead of the hostel when you walk there).

79.3%
214 reviews Book Now 
6

Downtown Backpackers

Hostel
1 Bunny Street, Wellington, New Zealand 6011

178 out of 214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Downtown Backpackers

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 77% Facilities - 76% Safety - 85%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 76%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 01 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Downtown backpackers, it was ideally located across from the train station and very close to the shops, restaurants and museum. If you are looking for somewhere cheap, but clean and in a good location I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 20 January 2014

When we arrived at reception we were greeted by a very friendly and informative blonde girl. We could not fault her enthusiasm or welcome. The building is an old grand building with a nice large kitchen, tv room and lounge. The hostel is near to shops and restaurants. Out beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean.

Wellington

8 Hostels from 21.52 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Wellington hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Wellington. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.