We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Wellington City

Hostel | 292 Wakefield St (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand 6011

87.5% Overall Rating

421 out of 439 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

"It was warm. Even when it was really cold outside the whole building was warm, from the bathrooms to the dorms to the kitchen/dining area."

Read all YHA Wellington City reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

YHA Cancellations Policy • To cancel any bookings a NZ$5.00 cancellation fee applies per transaction. • For cancellations made before 6pm the day before arrival - full refund. • For cancellations made after 6pm the day before arrival - no refund for the first night. • Cancellations on bookings made on the day of arrival will receive no refund for the first night, normal cancellation policy applies for subsequent nights. • If you do not advise the Hostel the non-arrival clause applies.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wellington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Wellington

The Cambridge Hotel
16.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.5% 140 reviews
The Setup on Dixon
19.73 USD

Hostel 89.5% 3 reviews
BASE Wellington
15.28 USD

Hostel 67.8% 104 reviews
Trek Global
14.00 USD

Hostel 80.7% 91 reviews
Worldwide Backpackers
19.10 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
15.91 USD

Hostel 83.5% 236 reviews
Te Puni Village
20.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nomads Capital Backpackers - Wellington
15.28 USD

Hostel 87.4% 252 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

421 out of 439 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Wellington City'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 335 of 346 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very Quite ans vert clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was warm. Even when it was really cold outside the whole building was warm, from the bathrooms to the dorms to the kitchen/dining area.

Disliked: Pillows were really flat.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to book in, with no deposit needed

Disliked: People sharing a bed in my dorm

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chelsea Kamprath

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2015 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was great, location was great, rooms seemed quite spacious, kitchen was very well stocked

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized rooms, lovely reading room with cosy sofas, big common room, nice clean kitchens, tons of ideas re: what to do, helpful staff.

Disliked: No power points in rooms! Had to sit in the corridor with my phone as it charged...not ideal. No soap in the dorm room en-suite and no free tea or coffee :( they said this is because they have a cafe inside the building but it's not open 24/7 so you have to go across the road and pay $5 for a hot drink, or bring your own tea etc.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, the staff on reception were very helpful, great facilities such as laundry and secure lockers.

Disliked: The atmosdphere of the hostel was average as other backpackers tend to keep to themselves.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean friendly and in perfect location ..

Disliked: The atmosphere could have been a little more personal .. but besides that nothing to criticise really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

fotis sahertian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2015 fotis would recommend this property

Liked: A Lot of space in the room, good location

Disliked: fotis left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was central-close to Te Papa. I enjoyed the reading room and T.V. rooms. The standard of cleanliness was outstanding. My single room was very comfortable, even if the view was a rusty tin roof!

Disliked: When I arrived about 11.30am on Monday 2nd of Feb. the female receptionist was holding a long friendly converstaion on the phone.I had to wait. The system of door opening should always be demonstrated slowly to an older client-I'm 81,and found it frustrating often when I couldn't make it work. Much bigger fridges would be great. I only used my milk and cream cheese once,then it vanished under dozens of other bags. I never found it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jon Hill

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 January 2015 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful & the location was excellent.

Disliked: I didn't think it was very good value for money, we stayed in a 4 star hotel across the road the week before for only $10 more

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Pharo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2015 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the free wifi and the lockers in the room! My room also had an amazing ocean view!

Disliked: The water pressure in shower was pretty weak but overall everything else was amazing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Rodliffe

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2015 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well set out And good coffee at the cafe

Disliked: Janet left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was near Te Papa, Mt Victoria, and right across the street from a grocery store. The facilities such as the TV room and the open kitchen and eating area were also nice.

Disliked: The rooms were not vacuumed which was pretty obvious. The Internet was super slow (though free) and whenever I had a question for the front desk there was always a line so it was not that easy to get information. Finally, it is a long walk (45-60 min) from the ferry or naked bus stop.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its central location and value for money, and the fact it had a café & offered breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

annette hallaran

Alone

Business / conference

13 August 2014 annette would recommend this property

Liked: very handy to centrality, Down the same road foodmarket organics and new world shopping. .Close to Tepapa and a wee visit to reception of the Museum Hotel ( beautiful decor and art work

Disliked: nothing to complain about

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location of the Wellington Hostel was perfect; grooves in with the CBD. I love the music played - nice blend. They supplied loads of information on activities/sites/events/transport etc. Very Helpful! Also the hostel itself had things like "movie night" --The kitchen area I was very impressed with too!

Disliked: The confusing wifi log on hassle. I insure you there was a high level of impatience in my attempt to join the network and then to had to create an account and credit it? It did not appear free.. There should be!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the central location with the supermarket so close, you can walk everywhere. The chill out area outside in front of the hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful and the toiletts all clear.

Disliked: I didn't like the shower because the water drop out so slowly and you couldn't hang the brush very high :( the powerpoints were to close togeather that you couldn't put two adapters in it at the same time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PAUL DOCKERAY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 PAUL would recommend this property

Liked: It felt homely, staff were great, room was fine. Kitchen, dining areas, TV room all good. Really handy with the bike cave!!

Disliked: PAUL left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of communal rooms where people can chat and greet other travellers, their complete facilities and their location.

Disliked: Some people on the reception seemed annoyed when we asked more detail questions about things. And they had given wrong direction to find the hotel. Said the hotel was on the opposite of a fire station and that we could ask the Intercity bus driver to drop us off before they made final stop. Truth is, we did not see any fire station near bye (but a hypermarket) and the Intercity bus never get through anywhere near the Courtenay place. We end up taking city bus from the ferry terminal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rachel Fagan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The location to downtown Wellington was very good. And it was definitely worth the price

Disliked: The showers didn't work well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Stables

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, Excellent

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2014

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful

Disliked: We were given a room that it was not readz (used blankets and not cleaned), even at 15pm on check in. It was however solved quickly and efficient. The price is too high for backpackers place. Location too central for reaching by car

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really close to everything. Clean sheets, hot showers, what a traveller needs!

Disliked: Kitchen was a bit disorganised and messy. I know that is really down to the users, but it is also down to staff to check and regulate the hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and facilities

Disliked: Could get a little noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the facilities were great.

Disliked: Nothing