HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Wellington City

Hostel | 292 Wakefield St (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand 6011

91.2% Overall Rating

399 out of 417 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2014)

Rachel Fagan thinks…

"The location to downtown Wellington was very good. And it was definitely worth the price"

Read all YHA Wellington City reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

YHA Cancellations Policy • To cancel any bookings a NZ$5.00 cancellation fee applies per transaction. • For cancellations made before 6pm the day before arrival - full refund. • For cancellations made after 6pm the day before arrival - no refund for the first night. • Cancellations on bookings made on the day of arrival will receive no refund for the first night, normal cancellation policy applies for subsequent nights. • If you do not advise the Hostel the non-arrival clause applies.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wellington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Wellington

The Cambridge Hotel
19.76 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.6% 128 reviews
BASE Wellington
20.62 USD

Hostel 66.3% 93 reviews
Trek Global
21.48 USD

Hostel 84.0% 78 reviews
Worldwide Backpackers
25.77 USD

Hostel 81.9% 3 reviews
Downtown Backpackers
23.20 USD

Hostel 79.9% 215 reviews
Nomads Capital Backpackers - Wellington
23.20 USD

Hostel 89.1% 238 reviews
Moana Lodge
29.21 USD

Hotel 5 star 96.8% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

399 out of 417 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Wellington City'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 316 of 325 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rachel Fagan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The location to downtown Wellington was very good. And it was definitely worth the price

Disliked: The showers didn't work well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Stables

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, Excellent

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2014

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful

Disliked: We were given a room that it was not readz (used blankets and not cleaned), even at 15pm on check in. It was however solved quickly and efficient. The price is too high for backpackers place. Location too central for reaching by car

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really close to everything. Clean sheets, hot showers, what a traveller needs!

Disliked: Kitchen was a bit disorganised and messy. I know that is really down to the users, but it is also down to staff to check and regulate the hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and facilities

Disliked: Could get a little noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the facilities were great.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a short stay but the staff were all friendly, talkative and nice. The kitchen facilities were great and it was all very spacious. I would have liked to have stayed longer!

Disliked: It was all good!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic - across the road from a supermarket, 2 mins away from Te Papa Museum, minutes walk away from all the best restaurants in the centre of Wellington and close to all transport, and the waterfront. The room was clean, quiet, secure and warm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, with a supermarket across the road, Te Papa museum 5 minutes away and lots of bars and restaurants around the corner. Clean, good kitchen facilities, and free wifi for YHA members

Disliked: There is no left luggage room so you have to pay to use the lockers provided.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice kitchen

Disliked: Quite big and anonymous

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice building, great and pretty facilities, clean kitchen and rooms, staff is very friendly and helpful!

Disliked: no lockers in rooms - feels pretty safe, though.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Robert McHugh

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in city. Good laundry facilities. Large kitchen and dining area. The hostel had a games room with pool tablet. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

11 July 2013

Liked: How close it was to everything. To get to anywhere was just a short walk.

Disliked: We had a twin share room however the size of the room was more of a single with two beds, a desk and a chair in it. There was no wardrobe or drawers so we had to live out of our suitcase meaning that both of us could not get dressed at the same time as there was no room left.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly environment, all facilities I need was there, reasonably priced.

Disliked: Nothing. It was perfect for my travelling needs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bedrooms and bathrooms very clean. Quiet, warm rooms

Disliked: Mattess far too soft. Woke up with a sore back. Thats personal preference though

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and storage of luggage while exploring Wellington

Disliked: Noise

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bedrooms are huge with a desk, There arent many plug sockets in the room though. The kitchen was amazing with a blender and a sandwich maker.

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Close to bars, museum, supermarket

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a great location for buses and in the city.the staff were really helpful and polite and patient. the bathrooms had lots of hooks in the showers which i really liked. the kitchen area is big. really close to some main attractions and good restaurants. the supermarket is right across the street!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 March 2013

Liked: location and public facilities (kitchen, lounge etc)

Disliked: NO LOCKERS IN DORM ROOM meaning there was no place to secure baggage except to carry downstairs and PAY to put in Storage lockers!!!! 6 bed dorm room was too small meaning that baggage and personal belongins were all over the floor causing a safety hazard

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

yingshu xu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 yingshu would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good,near the beach and a big supermarket

Disliked: no oil in the kitchen,but it is not a problem

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and the best hostel kitchen i've ever used. Hairdryer and GHD straighteners in the bathrooms!

Disliked: Excellent hostel but our room was like a sauna! No point in having a great hostel if you can't sleep. We asked reception for a fan and they only had one that was broken, they said there was nothing else they could do and that all the rooms were like that. We had the windows open constantly but didn't make any difference, must have been at least 30 degrees in our room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Root

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. Despite the large number of people they serve they helped me out extensively when making bookings and finding out things to do in Wellington. The location is great, right across the street from the Grocery Store. Also, if you are taking the Interislander Ferry they have a shuttle that will pick you up for $3.

Disliked: I am more of a small hostel type person, It's a little harder to meet people in big hostels.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had lifts to cater for all abilities, plenty of room in my dorm, plus it was ensuite and good location. Lovely room

Disliked: The man who was booking me n said he couldn't guarantee me a bottom bunk even though I explained. had a knee injury and was unavle to use a top bunk, kneel down or make up a top bunk. He said I was to go all the way up to the room to see for myself if there was a bottom bunk or ask someone to. move! Even though he could see how many were already in that room already on his computer! However, the person next to him looked on the computer and pointed out to him that there was an available room that didn't have anyone occupying it at that time and he should swap me to that one. I would have had nowhere to sleep if it was left to the first person. I pointed this out and he shrugged his shoulders. Thank goodness the other man was listening. Very bad attitude and cooperation from the first person.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the communal eating/cafe area with open sky light windows.

Disliked: Not enough power outlets in the bedroom. Between eight backpackers, there were only four power outlets, two of which were not easily accessible/ were not used because of a large desk in the way.