HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of YHA Wellington City Wellington Hostel

292 Wakefield St, (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 93%

Staff 93%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Important Information

YHA Cancellations Policy
• To cancel any bookings a NZ$5.00 cancellation fee applies per transaction.
• For cancellations made before 6pm the day before arrival - full refund.
• For cancellations made after 6pm the day before arrival - no refund for the first night.
• Cancellations on bookings made on the day of arrival will receive no refund for the first night, normal cancellation policy applies for subsequent nights.
• If you do not advise the Hostel the non-arrival clause applies.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wellington?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 93%

Staff 93%

Value 86%

Showing 51-60 of 96 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It had lifts to cater for all abilities, plenty of room in my dorm, plus it was ensuite and good location. Lovely room

Disliked: The man who was booking me n said he couldn't guarantee me a bottom bunk even though I explained. had a knee injury and was unavle to use a top bunk, kneel down or make up a top bunk. He said I was to go all the way up to the room to see for myself if there was a bottom bunk or ask someone to. move! Even though he could see how many were already in that room already on his computer! However, the person next to him looked on the computer and pointed out to him that there was an available room that didn't have anyone occupying it at that time and he should swap me to that one. I would have had nowhere to sleep if it was left to the first person. I pointed this out and he shrugged his shoulders. Thank goodness the other man was listening. Very bad attitude and cooperation from the first person.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved the communal eating/cafe area with open sky light windows.

Disliked: Not enough power outlets in the bedroom. Between eight backpackers, there were only four power outlets, two of which were not easily accessible/ were not used because of a large desk in the way.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Near to the supermarket. Big and clean kitchen

Disliked: No parking lots. Too busy in the kitchen. The staffs are occupied most of time so had to wait in line all the time.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, and convenience of supermarket nearby. Good kitchen facilities. Clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Staff on reception could have been a bit more helpful. Not much use to someone who is claustophobic in lifts to be put on top floor and not being moved after asking several times (have been in other hostels and staff much more accommodating)! Add ons kept cropping up e..g wi-fi (non members), breakfast, lockers - and the price was about the same as some other hostels I have stayed in where at least one of these facilities was included.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: location

Disliked: obnoxious staff i was overcharged, did not get refund either.I should be compensated with one year free YHA membership.totally disappointed with the service & staff

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and good location

Disliked: A fan ran continuously outside our room window. Room extremely hot. Lacked friendliness/character

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Well organized and good facilities

Disliked: Too much traffic noise

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Spacious kitchens, big rooms, soft, squishy beds.

Disliked: Smaaaall showers. Staff didn't remember me even after I went to the counter 3 times in a row. Ages of guests ranged from children to elderly.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: It was so big it felt more like a hotel than a hostel. A lot of what I enjoy about hostels is getting to meet and know new people. It was so big I never saw the same people twice.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean and comfortable

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability