HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of YHA Wellington City Wellington Hostel

292 Wakefield St, (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 98%

Safety 92%

Staff 92%

Value 84%

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

YHA Cancellations Policy
• To cancel any bookings a NZ$5.00 cancellation fee applies per transaction.
• For cancellations made before 6pm the day before arrival - full refund.
• For cancellations made after 6pm the day before arrival - no refund for the first night.
• Cancellations on bookings made on the day of arrival will receive no refund for the first night, normal cancellation policy applies for subsequent nights.
• If you do not advise the Hostel the non-arrival clause applies.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wellington?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 98%

Safety 92%

Staff 92%

Value 84%

Showing 41-50 of 94 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location and storage of luggage while exploring Wellington

Disliked: Noise

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location. Close to bars, museum, supermarket

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it had a great location for buses and in the city.the staff were really helpful and polite and patient. the bathrooms had lots of hooks in the showers which i really liked. the kitchen area is big. really close to some main attractions and good restaurants. the supermarket is right across the street!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: location and public facilities (kitchen, lounge etc)

Disliked: NO LOCKERS IN DORM ROOM meaning there was no place to secure baggage except to carry downstairs and PAY to put in Storage lockers!!!!6 bed dorm room was too small meaning that baggage and personal belongins were all over the floor causing a safety hazard

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The bedrooms are huge with a desk, There arent many plug sockets in the room though. The kitchen was amazing with a blender and a sandwich maker.

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location is very good,near the beach and a big supermarket

Disliked: no oil in the kitchen,but it is not a problem

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean and the best hostel kitchen i've ever used. Hairdryer and GHD straighteners in the bathrooms!

Disliked: Excellent hostel but our room was like a sauna! No point in having a great hostel if you can't sleep. We asked reception for a fan and they only had one that was broken, they said there was nothing else they could do and that all the rooms were like that. We had the windows open constantly but didn't make any difference, must have been at least 30 degrees in our room

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were very helpful. Despite the large number of people they serve they helped me out extensively when making bookings and finding out things to do in Wellington. The location is great, right across the street from the Grocery Store. Also, if you are taking the Interislander Ferry they have a shuttle that will pick you up for $3.

Disliked: I am more of a small hostel type person, It's a little harder to meet people in big hostels.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It had lifts to cater for all abilities, plenty of room in my dorm, plus it was ensuite and good location. Lovely room

Disliked: The man who was booking me n said he couldn't guarantee me a bottom bunk even though I explained. had a knee injury and was unavle to use a top bunk, kneel down or make up a top bunk. He said I was to go all the way up to the room to see for myself if there was a bottom bunk or ask someone to. move! Even though he could see how many were already in that room already on his computer! However, the person next to him looked on the computer and pointed out to him that there was an available room that didn't have anyone occupying it at that time and he should swap me to that one. I would have had nowhere to sleep if it was left to the first person. I pointed this out and he shrugged his shoulders. Thank goodness the other man was listening. Very bad attitude and cooperation from the first person.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved the communal eating/cafe area with open sky light windows.

Disliked: Not enough power outlets in the bedroom. Between eight backpackers, there were only four power outlets, two of which were not easily accessible/ were not used because of a large desk in the way.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability