HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Wellington City

Hostel | 292 Wakefield St (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand 6011

91.1% Overall Rating

403 out of 421 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/06/2014)

"I like the central location with the supermarket so close, you can walk everywhere. The chill out area outside in front of the hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful and the toiletts all clear."

Read all YHA Wellington City reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

YHA Cancellations Policy • To cancel any bookings a NZ$5.00 cancellation fee applies per transaction. • For cancellations made before 6pm the day before arrival - full refund. • For cancellations made after 6pm the day before arrival - no refund for the first night. • Cancellations on bookings made on the day of arrival will receive no refund for the first night, normal cancellation policy applies for subsequent nights. • If you do not advise the Hostel the non-arrival clause applies.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wellington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Wellington

The Cambridge Hotel
21.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 129 reviews
BASE Wellington
20.52 USD

Hostel 66.5% 94 reviews
Trek Global
21.37 USD

Hostel 82.9% 79 reviews
Worldwide Backpackers
25.65 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
Downtown Backpackers
21.37 USD

Hostel 82.5% 220 reviews
Nomads Capital Backpackers - Wellington
22.23 USD

Hostel 88.5% 242 reviews
Moana Lodge
29.07 USD

Hotel 5 star 96.6% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

403 out of 421 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Wellington City'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 319 of 328 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of things going on (including a delicious curry night!), helpful staff, excellent facilities. It is very big with lots of groups so did not have too much character, although there are lots of people to meet.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large dormitory rooms

Disliked: A large hostel so lacked some character.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good view of the harbour, quiet room, clean bathrooms.

Disliked: We had a double room. It was the first place we have stayed where we had to put our own sheets on the bed. The room was quite small, and we didn't have a tv.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, close to center of wellington and te papa museum. hostel very clean.

Disliked: no lockers in room, they were available on ground floor at a cost.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011

Liked: The location was probably the best thing about this place as it's right round the corner from Courtenay Place and hence lots of bars, cafes and restaurants. It was also handy having a supermarket across the road and being a 5 minute walk away from Te Papa and other major attractions (even though Wellington is pretty small and walkable anyway!). The nightly meal deals are pretty good too.

Disliked: YHAs are generally not good value for money in my experience. Rooms are bog standard (the bed was too short for a start and you don't even get it made up properly) and shower/toilet facilities relatively few considering the size of the hostel and the number of guests it can accommodate. Wifi cost extra and was quite temperamental and generally slow when it did work. The communal areas which everyone raves about are big for a reason - there are so many guests that even the large space the provide for cooking and dining was not enough for everyone to fit in comfortably. All in all I think you can find more for your money elsewhere, even in larger, more expensive cities like Wellington.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, efficient.

Disliked: I stayed for two days and one of two women's toilets on the floor was still not repaired the second day. Note said to go to a different floor. This is a very large hostel - that's a long way to tramp if it's urgent.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Localisation

Disliked: Very big

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ZOI MYLONA

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 ZOI would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and beautiful space.

Disliked: The behaviour of some of the staff.Not friendly, barely smiling and not helpful.Like if they are bored of what they are doing and they can't wait to get out of there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, very closed to all atractions & just right opposite to supermarket & bus stop.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011

Liked: The place is very clean and has ample kitchen and seating areas. The location is also good.

Disliked: Beware, the price is not as advertised! If you look carefully in the directions, it says that there is a $3 surcharge for non members. All the other hostels advertise the full price and discount for members on arrival, what the yha are doing is underhand. When we complained, customer service was not what I would have expected.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big launch erea

Disliked: to many rooms...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was very clean and had good facilities. It really felt more like a hotel which was good for the value you pay. The location was great with the supermarket right across the street!

Disliked: Since it was more like a hotel it was very hard to meet people since I was traveling alone. Most of the travellers I met staying were there for a short period of time of no more than a week. I checked in after midnight and they had a buzzer for staff to come and help me. I had to wait 20 minutes since it was no working. The staff was also not very knowledgable about questions I asked regarding IRD#'s, phones, etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Hamilton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service at desk Excellent night managers good kitchen great showers bloody brilliant TV room

Disliked: smkers congregate at front door

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Kate Linfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2011 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and new looking. It's opposite a supermarket and close to the Te Papa Museum. The room I was staying in was nice and big and had a decent mattress on the bed.

Disliked: It's huge, I personally prefer smaller hostels as it's easier to meet people. There isn't much atmosphere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, good location

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shiheng Fu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2011 Shiheng would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near to the marina and mount victoria but slightly far from the city central. The staff was very helpful and offered their dinign recommendations and "Things to do" in Wellington. Place was generally clean and facilities aplenty for everyone.

Disliked: Nth

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the location, that it was well organised and that they would cater to a lot of travellers' needs - lockers, local information, launderette etc etc. i also liked that they seems to do a few things about being environmentally friendly at the hostel - although this did not seem to be extended to all the activities.

Disliked: what i did not like that the laundry which did not wash my clothes properly and was overpriced, the towel for rent was smelly and had lots of spots and was quite disgusting. the hostel building itself is not well designed. lack of privacy issues and partly poor acoustics.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and organized

Disliked: Can't think of anything important.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is located in the center of wellington, right next to a big supermarket. the dorms were verry clean and big, so that there was enough space for everyones bag.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chantal Dass

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010 Chantal would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic! Clean rooms and friendly staff.

Disliked: Chantal left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Eriksson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Clean. 1 minute walk to 07-00 open supermarket.Big.

Disliked: The staff did'nt know what there was to do in Wellington. One of the kitchens "Flag kitchen" smelled realy bad. No free WiFi.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

laura shuck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 laura would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place, definitely worth the money. Staff are really helpful and everything is spotless!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic. Very well equipped, clean & spacious with great facilities (i.e. tv room).

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magdalena Vergara

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2010 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! i will come back

Disliked: nothing