We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Wellington City

Hostel | 292 Wakefield St (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand 6011

89.1% Overall Rating

417 out of 435 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2015)

"Good sized rooms, lovely reading room with cosy sofas, big common room, nice clean kitchens, tons of ideas re: what to do, helpful staff."

Read all YHA Wellington City reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

YHA Cancellations Policy • To cancel any bookings a NZ$5.00 cancellation fee applies per transaction. • For cancellations made before 6pm the day before arrival - full refund. • For cancellations made after 6pm the day before arrival - no refund for the first night. • Cancellations on bookings made on the day of arrival will receive no refund for the first night, normal cancellation policy applies for subsequent nights. • If you do not advise the Hostel the non-arrival clause applies.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wellington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Wellington

The Cambridge Hotel
18.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.3% 138 reviews
The Setup on Dixon
22.76 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
BASE Wellington
21.24 USD

Hostel 67.4% 98 reviews
Trek Global
16.69 USD

Hostel 82.2% 86 reviews
Worldwide Backpackers
22.76 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
18.97 USD

Hostel 84.0% 234 reviews
Te Puni Village
47.80 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nomads Capital Backpackers - Wellington
19.73 USD

Hostel 88.2% 246 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

417 out of 435 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Wellington City'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 331 of 342 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: en-suite rooms

Disliked: poor water pressure resulting in a very poor shower in romm 606. Hostel was full and facilities stretched to the extent that it was almost dangerous working in the kitchen and difficult to get a table to eat my dinner.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: noise

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located, right in the centre of Wellington, with good rooms and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Perhaps a little too big for a hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean facilities, lots of options for room types (dorm, single, double), and free espresso in the morning!

Disliked: It was VERY noisy - trying to go to bed was really difficult because the windows didn't shield the noise from the traffic, and I was woken up in the morning from honking and sirens.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, easily accessible, well-run and located within easy walking distance of just about everything I wanted to see and do in Wellington.

Disliked: Wifi is run on a 24-hour basis, with set beginning and end times - if you miss them, you're not really getting everything you're paying for.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

James Baxter

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well equipped rooms, if a little utilitarian.

Disliked: The reception staff were pretty rude. The girl checking us in answered the phoned halfway through and kept us waiting, and then kept rolling her eyes at the person they'd just answered the phone too! It was expensive for what it was, the Ibis hotel was only a few blocks away and probably not much more expensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great, location was amaziig, rooms served their purpose

Disliked: Shared bathrooms not ensuite.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best YHA until now. Really good hostel with a nice and complete kitchen. Def stay here if you want a relaxed stay. Nice beds and rooms.

Disliked: Only thing I dont like about YHA is the 3 dollars they ask extra if you re not member. Please give then the correct rate and not the member rate on hostelbookers or world.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noreza Mohd Rejab

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Noreza would recommend this property

Liked: i like the cleanliness and the staff

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, central, nice people

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Good

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011

Liked: Lots of ideas of what to do for free

Disliked: Kitchen needed a deep clean and much more regular cleaning

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of things going on (including a delicious curry night!), helpful staff, excellent facilities. It is very big with lots of groups so did not have too much character, although there are lots of people to meet.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large dormitory rooms

Disliked: A large hostel so lacked some character.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good view of the harbour, quiet room, clean bathrooms.

Disliked: We had a double room. It was the first place we have stayed where we had to put our own sheets on the bed. The room was quite small, and we didn't have a tv.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, close to center of wellington and te papa museum. hostel very clean.

Disliked: no lockers in room, they were available on ground floor at a cost.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011

Liked: The location was probably the best thing about this place as it's right round the corner from Courtenay Place and hence lots of bars, cafes and restaurants. It was also handy having a supermarket across the road and being a 5 minute walk away from Te Papa and other major attractions (even though Wellington is pretty small and walkable anyway!). The nightly meal deals are pretty good too.

Disliked: YHAs are generally not good value for money in my experience. Rooms are bog standard (the bed was too short for a start and you don't even get it made up properly) and shower/toilet facilities relatively few considering the size of the hostel and the number of guests it can accommodate. Wifi cost extra and was quite temperamental and generally slow when it did work. The communal areas which everyone raves about are big for a reason - there are so many guests that even the large space the provide for cooking and dining was not enough for everyone to fit in comfortably. All in all I think you can find more for your money elsewhere, even in larger, more expensive cities like Wellington.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, efficient.

Disliked: I stayed for two days and one of two women's toilets on the floor was still not repaired the second day. Note said to go to a different floor. This is a very large hostel - that's a long way to tramp if it's urgent.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Localisation

Disliked: Very big

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ZOI MYLONA

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 ZOI would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and beautiful space.

Disliked: The behaviour of some of the staff.Not friendly, barely smiling and not helpful.Like if they are bored of what they are doing and they can't wait to get out of there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, very closed to all atractions & just right opposite to supermarket & bus stop.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011

Liked: The place is very clean and has ample kitchen and seating areas. The location is also good.

Disliked: Beware, the price is not as advertised! If you look carefully in the directions, it says that there is a $3 surcharge for non members. All the other hostels advertise the full price and discount for members on arrival, what the yha are doing is underhand. When we complained, customer service was not what I would have expected.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big launch erea

Disliked: to many rooms...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was very clean and had good facilities. It really felt more like a hotel which was good for the value you pay. The location was great with the supermarket right across the street!

Disliked: Since it was more like a hotel it was very hard to meet people since I was traveling alone. Most of the travellers I met staying were there for a short period of time of no more than a week. I checked in after midnight and they had a buzzer for staff to come and help me. I had to wait 20 minutes since it was no working. The staff was also not very knowledgable about questions I asked regarding IRD#'s, phones, etc.