We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Wellington City

Hostel | 292 Wakefield St (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand 6011

88.0% Overall Rating

419 out of 437 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/05/2015)

Chelsea Kamprath thinks…

"the staff was great, location was great, rooms seemed quite spacious, kitchen was very well stocked"

Read all YHA Wellington City reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

YHA Cancellations Policy • To cancel any bookings a NZ$5.00 cancellation fee applies per transaction. • For cancellations made before 6pm the day before arrival - full refund. • For cancellations made after 6pm the day before arrival - no refund for the first night. • Cancellations on bookings made on the day of arrival will receive no refund for the first night, normal cancellation policy applies for subsequent nights. • If you do not advise the Hostel the non-arrival clause applies.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wellington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Wellington

The Cambridge Hotel
16.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.5% 140 reviews
The Setup on Dixon
20.43 USD

Hostel 89.5% 3 reviews
BASE Wellington
15.82 USD

Hostel 66.7% 103 reviews
Trek Global
14.50 USD

Hostel 80.8% 90 reviews
Worldwide Backpackers
19.77 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
16.48 USD

Hostel 83.5% 236 reviews
Te Puni Village
29.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nomads Capital Backpackers - Wellington
17.13 USD

Hostel 88.7% 251 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

419 out of 437 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Wellington City'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 333 of 344 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, with a supermarket across the road, Te Papa museum 5 minutes away and lots of bars and restaurants around the corner. Clean, good kitchen facilities, and free wifi for YHA members

Disliked: There is no left luggage room so you have to pay to use the lockers provided.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice kitchen

Disliked: Quite big and anonymous

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice building, great and pretty facilities, clean kitchen and rooms, staff is very friendly and helpful!

Disliked: no lockers in rooms - feels pretty safe, though.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Robert McHugh

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in city. Good laundry facilities. Large kitchen and dining area. The hostel had a games room with pool tablet. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

11 July 2013

Liked: How close it was to everything. To get to anywhere was just a short walk.

Disliked: We had a twin share room however the size of the room was more of a single with two beds, a desk and a chair in it. There was no wardrobe or drawers so we had to live out of our suitcase meaning that both of us could not get dressed at the same time as there was no room left.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly environment, all facilities I need was there, reasonably priced.

Disliked: Nothing. It was perfect for my travelling needs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bedrooms and bathrooms very clean. Quiet, warm rooms

Disliked: Mattess far too soft. Woke up with a sore back. Thats personal preference though

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and storage of luggage while exploring Wellington

Disliked: Noise

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bedrooms are huge with a desk, There arent many plug sockets in the room though. The kitchen was amazing with a blender and a sandwich maker.

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Close to bars, museum, supermarket

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a great location for buses and in the city.the staff were really helpful and polite and patient. the bathrooms had lots of hooks in the showers which i really liked. the kitchen area is big. really close to some main attractions and good restaurants. the supermarket is right across the street!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 March 2013

Liked: location and public facilities (kitchen, lounge etc)

Disliked: NO LOCKERS IN DORM ROOM meaning there was no place to secure baggage except to carry downstairs and PAY to put in Storage lockers!!!! 6 bed dorm room was too small meaning that baggage and personal belongins were all over the floor causing a safety hazard

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

yingshu xu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 yingshu would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good,near the beach and a big supermarket

Disliked: no oil in the kitchen,but it is not a problem

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and the best hostel kitchen i've ever used. Hairdryer and GHD straighteners in the bathrooms!

Disliked: Excellent hostel but our room was like a sauna! No point in having a great hostel if you can't sleep. We asked reception for a fan and they only had one that was broken, they said there was nothing else they could do and that all the rooms were like that. We had the windows open constantly but didn't make any difference, must have been at least 30 degrees in our room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Root

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. Despite the large number of people they serve they helped me out extensively when making bookings and finding out things to do in Wellington. The location is great, right across the street from the Grocery Store. Also, if you are taking the Interislander Ferry they have a shuttle that will pick you up for $3.

Disliked: I am more of a small hostel type person, It's a little harder to meet people in big hostels.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had lifts to cater for all abilities, plenty of room in my dorm, plus it was ensuite and good location. Lovely room

Disliked: The man who was booking me n said he couldn't guarantee me a bottom bunk even though I explained. had a knee injury and was unavle to use a top bunk, kneel down or make up a top bunk. He said I was to go all the way up to the room to see for myself if there was a bottom bunk or ask someone to. move! Even though he could see how many were already in that room already on his computer! However, the person next to him looked on the computer and pointed out to him that there was an available room that didn't have anyone occupying it at that time and he should swap me to that one. I would have had nowhere to sleep if it was left to the first person. I pointed this out and he shrugged his shoulders. Thank goodness the other man was listening. Very bad attitude and cooperation from the first person.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the communal eating/cafe area with open sky light windows.

Disliked: Not enough power outlets in the bedroom. Between eight backpackers, there were only four power outlets, two of which were not easily accessible/ were not used because of a large desk in the way.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Callie Ryu

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 January 2013 Callie would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the supermarket. Big and clean kitchen

Disliked: No parking lots. Too busy in the kitchen. The staffs are occupied most of time so had to wait in line all the time.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013

Liked: Location, and convenience of supermarket nearby. Good kitchen facilities. Clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Staff on reception could have been a bit more helpful. Not much use to someone who is claustophobic in lifts to be put on top floor and not being moved after asking several times (have been in other hostels and staff much more accommodating)! Add ons kept cropping up e..g wi-fi (non members), breakfast, lockers - and the price was about the same as some other hostels I have stayed in where at least one of these facilities was included.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: obnoxious staff i was overcharged, did not get refund either. I should be compensated with one year free YHA membership. totally disappointed with the service & staff

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and good location

Disliked: A fan ran continuously outside our room window. Room extremely hot. Lacked friendliness/character

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nurit simpson

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 November 2012 nurit would recommend this property

Liked: Well organized and good facilities

Disliked: Too much traffic noise

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious kitchens, big rooms, soft, squishy beds.

Disliked: Smaaaall showers. Staff didn't remember me even after I went to the counter 3 times in a row. Ages of guests ranged from children to elderly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dane Ricketts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2012 Dane would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: It was so big it felt more like a hotel than a hostel. A lot of what I enjoy about hostels is getting to meet and know new people. It was so big I never saw the same people twice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean hostel and big common room

Disliked: nothing