HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of YHA Wellington City Wellington Hostel

292 Wakefield St, (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 98%

Safety 92%

Staff 90%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

YHA Cancellations Policy
• To cancel any bookings a NZ$5.00 cancellation fee applies per transaction.
• For cancellations made before 6pm the day before arrival - full refund.
• For cancellations made after 6pm the day before arrival - no refund for the first night.
• Cancellations on bookings made on the day of arrival will receive no refund for the first night, normal cancellation policy applies for subsequent nights.
• If you do not advise the Hostel the non-arrival clause applies.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wellington?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 98%

Safety 92%

Staff 90%

Value 84%

Showing 11-20 of 30 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean friendly and in perfect location ..

Disliked: The atmosphere could have been a little more personal .. but besides that nothing to criticise really.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A Lot of space in the room, good location

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was central-close to Te Papa. I enjoyed the reading room and T.V. rooms.The standard of cleanliness was outstanding. My single room was very comfortable, even if the view was a rusty tin roof!

Disliked: When I arrived about 11.30am on Monday 2nd of Feb. the female receptionist was holding a long friendly converstaion on the phone.I had to wait. The system of door opening should always be demonstrated slowly to an older client-I'm 81,and found it frustrating often when I couldn't make it work.Much bigger fridges would be great. I only used my milk and cream cheese once,then it vanished under dozens of other bags. I never found it.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff were very helpful & the location was excellent.

Disliked: I didn't think it was very good value for money, we stayed in a 4 star hotel across the road the week before for only $10 more

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Loved the free wifi and the lockers in the room! My room also had an amazing ocean view!

Disliked: The water pressure in shower was pretty weak but overall everything else was amazing!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean and well set out And good coffee at the cafe

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was near Te Papa, Mt Victoria, and right across the street from a grocery store. The facilities such as the TV room and the open kitchen and eating area were also nice.

Disliked: The rooms were not vacuumed which was pretty obvious. The Internet was super slow (though free) and whenever I had a question for the front desk there was always a line so it was not that easy to get information. Finally, it is a long walk (45-60 min) from the ferry or naked bus stop.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Its central location and value for money, and the fact it had a café & offered breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: very handy to centrality, Down the same road foodmarket organics and new world shopping. .Close to Tepapa and a wee visit to reception of the Museum Hotel ( beautiful decor and art work

Disliked: nothing to complain about

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa

Liked: The Location of the Wellington Hostel was perfect; grooves in with the CBD. I love the music played - nice blend. They supplied loads of information on activities/sites/events/transport etc. Very Helpful! Also the hostel itself had things like "movie night" --The kitchen area I was very impressed with too!

Disliked: The confusing wifi log on hassle. I insure you there was a high level of impatience in my attempt to join the network and then to had to create an account and credit it? It did not appear free.. There should be!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability