We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Wellington City

Hostel | 292 Wakefield St (Cnr Cambridge Tce), Wellington, New Zealand 6011

90.3% Overall Rating

406 out of 424 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2014)

annette hallaran thinks…

"very handy to centrality, Down the same road foodmarket organics and new world shopping. .Close to Tepapa and a wee visit to reception of the Museum Hotel ( beautiful decor and art work"

Read all YHA Wellington City reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

YHA Cancellations Policy • To cancel any bookings a NZ$5.00 cancellation fee applies per transaction. • For cancellations made before 6pm the day before arrival - full refund. • For cancellations made after 6pm the day before arrival - no refund for the first night. • Cancellations on bookings made on the day of arrival will receive no refund for the first night, normal cancellation policy applies for subsequent nights. • If you do not advise the Hostel the non-arrival clause applies.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wellington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Wellington

The Cambridge Hotel
19.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.8% 130 reviews
The Setup on Dixon
23.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
BASE Wellington
19.45 USD

Hostel 65.6% 96 reviews
Trek Global
21.01 USD

Hostel 82.3% 81 reviews
Worldwide Backpackers
23.34 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
Downtown Backpackers
21.01 USD

Hostel 83.4% 222 reviews
Te Puni Village
49.02 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nomads Capital Backpackers - Wellington
21.01 USD

Hostel 88.5% 242 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

406 out of 424 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Wellington City'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 321 of 331 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

yingshu xu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 yingshu would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good,near the beach and a big supermarket

Disliked: no oil in the kitchen,but it is not a problem

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and the best hostel kitchen i've ever used. Hairdryer and GHD straighteners in the bathrooms!

Disliked: Excellent hostel but our room was like a sauna! No point in having a great hostel if you can't sleep. We asked reception for a fan and they only had one that was broken, they said there was nothing else they could do and that all the rooms were like that. We had the windows open constantly but didn't make any difference, must have been at least 30 degrees in our room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Root

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. Despite the large number of people they serve they helped me out extensively when making bookings and finding out things to do in Wellington. The location is great, right across the street from the Grocery Store. Also, if you are taking the Interislander Ferry they have a shuttle that will pick you up for $3.

Disliked: I am more of a small hostel type person, It's a little harder to meet people in big hostels.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had lifts to cater for all abilities, plenty of room in my dorm, plus it was ensuite and good location. Lovely room

Disliked: The man who was booking me n said he couldn't guarantee me a bottom bunk even though I explained. had a knee injury and was unavle to use a top bunk, kneel down or make up a top bunk. He said I was to go all the way up to the room to see for myself if there was a bottom bunk or ask someone to. move! Even though he could see how many were already in that room already on his computer! However, the person next to him looked on the computer and pointed out to him that there was an available room that didn't have anyone occupying it at that time and he should swap me to that one. I would have had nowhere to sleep if it was left to the first person. I pointed this out and he shrugged his shoulders. Thank goodness the other man was listening. Very bad attitude and cooperation from the first person.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the communal eating/cafe area with open sky light windows.

Disliked: Not enough power outlets in the bedroom. Between eight backpackers, there were only four power outlets, two of which were not easily accessible/ were not used because of a large desk in the way.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Callie Ryu

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 January 2013 Callie would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the supermarket. Big and clean kitchen

Disliked: No parking lots. Too busy in the kitchen. The staffs are occupied most of time so had to wait in line all the time.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013

Liked: Location, and convenience of supermarket nearby. Good kitchen facilities. Clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Staff on reception could have been a bit more helpful. Not much use to someone who is claustophobic in lifts to be put on top floor and not being moved after asking several times (have been in other hostels and staff much more accommodating)! Add ons kept cropping up e..g wi-fi (non members), breakfast, lockers - and the price was about the same as some other hostels I have stayed in where at least one of these facilities was included.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: obnoxious staff i was overcharged, did not get refund either. I should be compensated with one year free YHA membership. totally disappointed with the service & staff

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and good location

Disliked: A fan ran continuously outside our room window. Room extremely hot. Lacked friendliness/character

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nurit simpson

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 November 2012 nurit would recommend this property

Liked: Well organized and good facilities

Disliked: Too much traffic noise

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious kitchens, big rooms, soft, squishy beds.

Disliked: Smaaaall showers. Staff didn't remember me even after I went to the counter 3 times in a row. Ages of guests ranged from children to elderly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dane Ricketts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2012 Dane would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: It was so big it felt more like a hotel than a hostel. A lot of what I enjoy about hostels is getting to meet and know new people. It was so big I never saw the same people twice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean hostel and big common room

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen facilities, the big rooms, it was clean, easy to get to from bus stop

Disliked: The staff don't seem to know much about the city, they charge for internet whilst cheap should just be built in to the price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is large and run like a hotel, but it worked well for me. There were a wide variety of guests, of all ages, but not much interaction between them as the hostel has 300 beds and was completely booked. I appreciated the quiet in the halls, ample and very clean bathrooms/showers, other facilities were also large, friendly, well maintained and very clean. Great staff!

Disliked: A bit expensive, but this hostel is in a major city and I stayed on the night ot the All Blacks vs. Argentina game...there were NO beds available in the city for latecomers (I booked a long while ahead)...and most places raised prices for that night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Bonello

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

31 August 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, and plenty of information about what to see and do around Wellington and across New Zealand. Facilities are very clean.

Disliked: Noisy from outside nightlife at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Eakin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, perfect location

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Goran Segrt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 Goran would recommend this property

Liked: Huge Hostel with 2 Kitchens and right next to Te Papa - Location is right in the middle of Wellington.

Disliked: Lockers could be managed more flexible - You have to pay!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

frances roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 frances would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I have stayed in. Facilities and cleanliness are of a very high standard. Two kitchens so always space to cook whatever the time. Very secure and felt safe the whole time. Location brilliant on corner of road opposite supermarket for cheap food and acroos the road from embassy theatre, just round corner from main high street. The staff are brilliant and helped me with booking tours and even helped change bookings and dates to things I had already made with no fuss and helpful attitude. Can not reccomend enough.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly desk staff, nice and clean, great kitchens. Loved the women only four bed dorm with en suite - so nice to have a shower!

Disliked: No lockers in the room, only for pay on the ground floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Great staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central and close to everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Paulo Roberto de Souza Teodoro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012 Paulo Roberto would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location! Just accross the street from supermarket and few blocks from Te Pa Pa museum :)

Disliked: Showers have no pressure on higher floors ...a lot of large groups taking the place, not the best place to talk / meet / drink with backpackers.