HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers Wellington Hostel

1 Bunny St, Wellington, New Zealand

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 77%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 83%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wellington?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 77%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 83%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: the character of the old building.

Disliked: the bathroom showerhead needs repair, it's loose. I was in room 408.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: A really cool historic building with a good feel to it. Our room had really good natural light, wasn't too cramped. There was storage in the room as well as lockers. The private bathroom was a luxury you're rarely afforded in a hostel and it was really clean and well kept. The cafe was good too! Gotta say this was probably the best hostel I've stayed at in my past few months of traveling. Highly recommend.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice location with many restaurants, museums, theatres in a walk distance. I spent 5 days there and everyday there used to be someone cleaning the room.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The kitchen facilities and the lounge room was great.

Disliked: That the womens toilets were clearly lablled on the 1st floor. I had to ask at the reception as someone was in the shower in my room.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Close to attractions

Disliked: A bit dated and could be refurbished

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Easy to find, close to city centre

Disliked: I stayed at a single room on the 5th floor which stunk every day from the restaurant next door (the whole floor stunk). Horrible internet connection, working less than half the time at speeds that could compete with those of 1968.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: 100mgbite free x day, huge kitchen AMD storage, mind helpful staff, Hood location. A little top expensive for bavkpackers

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Near the habour, train station and bus station.

Disliked: It's situated outside most shops, restaurants and Te Papa Museum, but all is possible in walking distance

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really close to the ferry port to get across to the south island. The kitchen facilities were pretty amazing, a massive industrial style kitchen. The shared bathroom was an odd concept, you go through a door in your room to get to it. The adjoining room also goes through a door in their room to the same bathroom. At least you only share with 2 other people and it's right next door.

Disliked: The woman who greeted us on arrival was very rude and just wanted to go home, she tried to push us off onto her colleague. The bathroom was not cleaned during our 3 night stay, even though the people sharing our bathroom changed all 3 nights. The 20mb free wifi was lousy. A bit of an insult, I'd preferred not to have any. The whole hotel could do with a face lift, it was very dated and looked like it had not had renovations for 50 years! The first room we had was dirty so we had to move! Not a pleasant stay for the capital city. Find elsewhere if I were you.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Room was big and had lots of space. Kitchen was also the same and had freezer and ovens!

Disliked: Seemed very formal for a backpackers

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability