HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Downtown Backpackers

Hostel | 1 Bunny Street, Wellington, New Zealand 6011

79.3% Overall Rating

178 out of 214 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

"We enjoyed our stay at Downtown backpackers, it was ideally located across from the train station and very close to the shops, restaurants and museum. If you are looking for somewhere cheap, but clean and in a good…"

Read all Downtown Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wellington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Wellington

Trek Global
21.42 USD

Hostel 84.0% 78 reviews
YHA Wellington City
25.70 USD

Hostel 90.7% 416 reviews
Worldwide Backpackers
25.70 USD

Hostel 81.9% 3 reviews
The Cambridge Hotel
19.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.4% 127 reviews
BASE Wellington
24.85 USD

Hostel 66.3% 93 reviews
Nomads Capital Backpackers - Wellington
23.13 USD

Hostel 89.7% 237 reviews
Moana Lodge
29.13 USD

Hotel 5 star 96.8% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

178 out of 214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Downtown Backpackers'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
76.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 166 of 177 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Tyler Bogucki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

16 April 2014 Colin Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet and conveniently located to the bus & train station,

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay at Downtown backpackers, it was ideally located across from the train station and very close to the shops, restaurants and museum. If you are looking for somewhere cheap, but clean and in a good location I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities such as cafe and bar

Disliked: Basic rooms are a bit dingey and dull - could do with some brighter paint or colourful curtains

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas McLoughlin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel bar had a good atmosphere. Close to the stadium and train station

Disliked: Shower was not great

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived at reception we were greeted by a very friendly and informative blonde girl. We could not fault her enthusiasm or welcome. The building is an old grand building with a nice large kitchen, tv room and lounge. The hostel is near to shops and restaurants. Out beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: The hostel gives you 20mb of Internet for free but only if you ask for it. Unfortunately this is for your whole stay not per night so you get the same for one night as you would if you had paid for a whole week which I find unfair. This last approximately 20-30 minutes. There is no way of purchasing wifi for a whole day, eg 4 dollars for 24 hours as in most hostels. You have to buy it for the amount of mb you use which can work out very expensive depending on the number of pages you open. On our second day we urgently needed to telephone our bus company and asked a brunette haired girl if we could please use the phone. She was rather rude and told me that I had to use the pay phones upstairs and was not allowed to use her phone. Unfortunately I did not have any change so the whole process ended up taking me about half an hour by the time I got money when my actual phone call was around 30seconds to a local command. Her customer service was very poor.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Siobhan Clancy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

12 January 2014 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good right beside the station , 20 minute pretty walk by the water to the museums and cafés and shops. Lovely helpful staff.

Disliked: Well it's an old building and the rooms are dated but clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lisa Parsons

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great and staff were friendly and helped with onward travel plans. I had a single room which I thought was quite pricey for a hostel. Very good value in the cafe for meals.

Disliked: Having to pay for WiFi!! Very large but it depends what you like, I needed some space so it was great!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the railwaycenter

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great

Disliked: Too crowded. Crammed into the rooms. Not enough space in the kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to Wellington, Train Station and Bus interchange. Able to access easy transportation.

Disliked: Elevator is not so good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Quite noisy

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 October 2013

Liked: Very conveniently located for arriving by Naked Bus, or any train - right across from the main train station in Wellington.

Disliked: A little bit far out of the centre of the city. The building felt a bit grim.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karen Gardham

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen has lots of facilities, very close to train and bus station and to town, bedside lamps

Disliked: bit strange the kitchen was through the restaurant, felt weird sitting eating with people who came from outside and ordered at the cafe, not very sociable in that respect

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms where big and the toilets where very clean

Disliked: the offer a bar in the hostel but when u coming in the hostel between 10-12pm the bar was close and that on a friday and saturday nigth

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big living room

Disliked: No free internet NO free breakfast We had a earthquake, 21st jyly 2013

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The large rooms and ensuite in the 4 bed dorm.

Disliked: The staff could be more helpful and not look like they hate their job.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: The location next to the train station was convenient.

Disliked: The place was cold (a poor heater with single glazed windows) and had a terribly antiquated plumbing in the bathroom.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Anna Skinner

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2013

Liked: It was warm

Disliked: Filthy old poorly maintained

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Charlotte Weston

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: It was right beside my bus stop, so location was perfect. The bar was awesome, my friends and I took full advantage of the drinks special on Sunday and the pool tables and other games. The value for money was awesome.

Disliked: The pillows and sheets we had in our room had hairs on them from previous guests and there was no soap in the bathroom to wash our hands.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tammie Banks

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 June 2013 Tammie would recommend this property

Liked: The location. Close to everything I wanted.

Disliked: The staff were a bit unhelpful when we misplaced our room key.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location for bus and ferry . Helpful staff on reception.

Disliked: The kitchen equipment are old and need upgrading

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, private bathroom.

Disliked: Short beds, I am 192cm and didn't fit on the bed!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Hansen

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: central location;switched on staff; meal provided was generous; good lounge area.

Disliked: street noise(but not too bad)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

emily mcgarry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 emily would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of our favourite backpackers during our stay in New Zealand. I has a great atmosphere, and is more like a hotel than a hostel! The kitchen was huge, which was great because it meant you rarely had to wait around to cook. They also have free pool to play in the bar from 4pm - 6pm, which was something nice to do in the evening. The location is great, especially if you're travelling with nakedbus as the stop is right outside. And there's also a Mcdonalds next door where you can use free wifi. We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend staying here.

Disliked: emily left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Kolaczek

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: location, guest kitchen was well-equipped to support many people cooking at one time, new towel every day, decent cafe prices

Disliked: the wifi charge seemed higher than average