We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Hostel | 1 Bunny Street, Wellington, New Zealand 6011

85.9% Overall Rating

193 out of 231 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/02/2015)

dearbhail fleming thinks…

"Room was big and had lots of space. Kitchen was also the same and had freezer and ovens!"

Read all Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wellington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Wellington

Trek Global
16.65 USD

Hostel 83.4% 84 reviews
The Setup on Dixon
22.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
YHA Wellington City
22.71 USD

Hostel 89.7% 431 reviews
Worldwide Backpackers
22.71 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
The Cambridge Hotel
18.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.3% 134 reviews
Te Puni Village
47.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
BASE Wellington
21.19 USD

Hostel 67.4% 98 reviews
Nomads Capital Backpackers - Wellington
21.95 USD

Hostel 87.9% 245 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

193 out of 231 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 178 of 194 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

dearbhail fleming

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2015 dearbhail would recommend this property

Liked: Room was big and had lots of space. Kitchen was also the same and had freezer and ovens!

Disliked: Seemed very formal for a backpackers

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Sam greening

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2015

Liked: Really close to the ferry port to get across to the south island. The kitchen facilities were pretty amazing, a massive industrial style kitchen. The shared bathroom was an odd concept, you go through a door in your room to get to it. The adjoining room also goes through a door in their room to the same bathroom. At least you only share with 2 other people and it's right next door.

Disliked: The woman who greeted us on arrival was very rude and just wanted to go home, she tried to push us off onto her colleague. The bathroom was not cleaned during our 3 night stay, even though the people sharing our bathroom changed all 3 nights. The 20mb free wifi was lousy. A bit of an insult, I'd preferred not to have any. The whole hotel could do with a face lift, it was very dated and looked like it had not had renovations for 50 years! The first room we had was dirty so we had to move! Not a pleasant stay for the capital city. Find elsewhere if I were you.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Lemmer

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 January 2015 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel, but sometimes it's nice to feel anonymous. Close to city center, harbour, train station and ferry terminal.

Disliked: Loud sound from outside, something like a cooling system.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. We had to move out of our room and were upgraded to an even better room immidiately. En suite Bathrooms! Very good breakfast offers.

Disliked: everything seemd a little old and could do with some renovation.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Eva Muller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2015

Liked: Central located

Disliked: Not personal

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Café and bar area were nice with big kitchen as well.

Disliked: Wi fi is expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elvin Kumar

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2014 Elvin would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: not enpugh parking

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janaya Duggan

Alone

City break

22 June 2014 Janaya would recommend this property

Liked: I was staying in a single room and was plesantly surprised to find it equipped with a t.v and remote. Was also surprised to find that my shared bathroom was only shared between me and the other single room opposite me instead of several rooms as I had expected.

Disliked: The internet was incredibly slow when I tried to use it, so slow that ppl were complaining (loudly)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Efficiency of staff and quick check in and out location and price. ..

Disliked: No comment. .. I was happy with everything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Really close to bus and rail way stations and city centre as well

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place,close to the center,not noisy...perfect for our wellington-trip...thank u....:-)

Disliked: Nothing....too short holidays...;-)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom was ensuite

Disliked: Free wifi was not available (because they ran out of free wifi voucher, but you could have paid for one?!?), and that was the MAIN reason we chose the hostel, as we stayed only for the night and urgently needed to check something before leaving. Thus this was more than disappointing. The house itself is quite run down - cracks in the wall in the main stairway....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Tyler Bogucki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

16 April 2014 Colin Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet and conveniently located to the bus & train station,

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay at Downtown backpackers, it was ideally located across from the train station and very close to the shops, restaurants and museum. If you are looking for somewhere cheap, but clean and in a good location I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities such as cafe and bar

Disliked: Basic rooms are a bit dingey and dull - could do with some brighter paint or colourful curtains

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas McLoughlin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 February 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel bar had a good atmosphere. Close to the stadium and train station

Disliked: Shower was not great

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived at reception we were greeted by a very friendly and informative blonde girl. We could not fault her enthusiasm or welcome. The building is an old grand building with a nice large kitchen, tv room and lounge. The hostel is near to shops and restaurants. Out beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: The hostel gives you 20mb of Internet for free but only if you ask for it. Unfortunately this is for your whole stay not per night so you get the same for one night as you would if you had paid for a whole week which I find unfair. This last approximately 20-30 minutes. There is no way of purchasing wifi for a whole day, eg 4 dollars for 24 hours as in most hostels. You have to buy it for the amount of mb you use which can work out very expensive depending on the number of pages you open. On our second day we urgently needed to telephone our bus company and asked a brunette haired girl if we could please use the phone. She was rather rude and told me that I had to use the pay phones upstairs and was not allowed to use her phone. Unfortunately I did not have any change so the whole process ended up taking me about half an hour by the time I got money when my actual phone call was around 30seconds to a local command. Her customer service was very poor.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Siobhan Clancy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

12 January 2014 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good right beside the station , 20 minute pretty walk by the water to the museums and cafés and shops. Lovely helpful staff.

Disliked: Well it's an old building and the rooms are dated but clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lisa Parsons

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great and staff were friendly and helped with onward travel plans. I had a single room which I thought was quite pricey for a hostel. Very good value in the cafe for meals.

Disliked: Having to pay for WiFi!! Very large but it depends what you like, I needed some space so it was great!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the railwaycenter

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great

Disliked: Too crowded. Crammed into the rooms. Not enough space in the kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to Wellington, Train Station and Bus interchange. Able to access easy transportation.

Disliked: Elevator is not so good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Quite noisy

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 October 2013

Liked: Very conveniently located for arriving by Naked Bus, or any train - right across from the main train station in Wellington.

Disliked: A little bit far out of the centre of the city. The building felt a bit grim.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karen Gardham

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen has lots of facilities, very close to train and bus station and to town, bedside lamps

Disliked: bit strange the kitchen was through the restaurant, felt weird sitting eating with people who came from outside and ordered at the cafe, not very sociable in that respect