HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Nomads Capital Backpackers Wellington Hostel

118 Wakefield Street, PO Box 11-247, Wellington, New Zealand

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 94%

Safety 83%

Staff 88%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.60USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wellington?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 94%

Safety 83%

Staff 88%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Very clean, secure, staff were helpful, super central location

Disliked: Dry hostel and bar next door closed at 9

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, cheers for taking the time to leave a review. We are stoked to see that you enjoyed your stay. We fully appreciate that you disliked our on site bar closing at 9 pm. This should not have been the case. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do hope to see you back in the capital in the future. Saoirse, General Manager.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Free breakfast and dinner. Good location

Disliked: One night the price is 24 dollars for a dorm, next night it's 43 dollars for the same dorm. A bit excessive

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thank you taking the time to leave a review. We are stoked to see that you enjoyed our central location and our two free meals per day. I have just reviewed your booking. It appears that you received a free upgrade for your original booking. As your booking was for a ten bed dorm it was upgraded free of charge to a 6 bed dorm with private bathroom. When you attempted to extend you were quoted the actual price of said 6 bed dorm. We do hope that you make it back to the capital in the future. Saoirse, General Manager

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Very central location easy to walk everywhere

Disliked: Lack of lockers in dorm

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, cheers for the review. We are stoked to see that you enjoyed your stay. We have now put lockers in most of our dorm rooms. We hope to see you back in the capital in the future. Saoirse, General Manager

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: It was downtown and close to most things.

Disliked: Only has small lockers. Just big enough for Laptops.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, cheers for taking the time to leave a review. We are indeed very lucky to be situated in the center of all that Wellington has to offer. We hope to have rucksack storage in all of our dorm rooms by the end of this year. We hope to see you back in the capital in the future. Saoirse, General Manager

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: The biggest plus for me was where it was situated.

Disliked: No toilets downstairs. I booked in another time but was behind a coach load of people doing the same, I really needed the toilet but I had to wait till I was booked in.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there cheers for taking time to leave a review. I am not entirely sure why you waited to be checked in, there is a bathroom located just off the ground floor common area. We are indeed very lucky to be as centrally located as we are. We hope to see you back in the capital in the future. Saoirse, general manager

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property is in an awesome location .

Disliked: I didn't personally enjoy my stay , there were some guys there that were being noisy , swearing , fighting late at night and thought it a good idea to wolf whistle at my daughter and say some stupid things to her .


The property's response is

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very disappointed to what you had to endure during your stay. We do everything in our power to protect minors in our hostel. I am entirely unsure as to how your daughter was exposed to such behavior. We are committed to ensuring the protection of young guests while they are in our care and am very sorry to see that we failed in this during your stay. We do hope to you back in the Capital in the future. Saoirse, General Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Clean, friendly staff

Disliked: Could here noise from the coridor

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay. I would love the opportunity to discuss this with you further if you like to send us an email with more details. Or should you return to the capital I would love to discuss this in person. Saoirse, General Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I really liked the location and the staff were fantastic!! All my queries were answered and staff went the extra mile! Thank you for a brilliant stay! I will come again and I have told all my friends and in fact I've even told strangers of my epic stay with you guys sooo again Thankyou!! Keep it up ��❤️

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The option of free dinner, albeit small.

Disliked: Lack of plugs in the rooms, you had to buy wifi and even then it was pretty awful, far too few bathrooms per floor (3 showers between about 16 dorm rooms) and they weren't clean. Some receptionists were good and others had no idea. "So what would you recommend we are in our two days here?" "I don't know really".. Free breakfast was just chaos. 100 people trying to cook themselves pancakes in a tiny kitchen does not work.


The property's response is

Hi there thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do indeed have 16 dorm room on each floor, 8 of these on each floor are ensuite, the remaining eight rooms have 2 shower blocks per wing. We are sorry that you did not find some of the reception staff helpful, this is normally not the case but this has been addressed in our latest team meeting. We are also sorry to see that you didn't enjoy the free breakfast, we hope you found the free dinner better. Saoirse, General Manager.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Central, free food,friendly staff

Disliked: unclean kitchen, rooms smelly, not communicative or friendly atmosphere


The property's response is

Hi there, cheers for taking the time to leave a review. We like to think our staff are pretty awesome. We do try to clean our shared use facilities regularly, however in peak season it can get a tad messy between cleans. We do hope to see you back in the capital in the future. Saoirse, General Manager

Check Availability