HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Wanaka hostels

Reviews of Mountain View Backpackers

Hostel | 7 Russell Street, Wanaka, New Zealand 9305

86.6% Overall Rating

19 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/03/2014)

Chiara Pelizzari thinks…

"Clean rooms, kitchen and bathrooms. Free movies available from reception. Great location!"

Read all Mountain View Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.71

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wanaka?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Wanaka

Flying Kiwi Backpackers
21.42 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Base Wanaka
23.13 USD

Hostel 78.6% 52 reviews
YHA Wanaka Purple Cow
22.28 USD

Hostel 91.1% 52 reviews
Hollys Backpacker
23.13 USD

Hostel 88.7% 26 reviews
Altamont Lodge
25.49 USD

Guesthouse 94.9% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

19 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mountain View Backpackers'

Atmosphere
89.1%
Location
89.1%
Facilities
83.6%
Cleanliness
84.6%
Staff
89.1%
Value
88.2%
Safety
82.7%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chiara Pelizzari

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014 Chiara would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, kitchen and bathrooms. Free movies available from reception. Great location!

Disliked: No free wifi - $5 for 100mb!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked how close the toilets and showers were. And our double room was nice.

Disliked: It wasn't super clean in the showers above the shower dome, but for the most part was quite tidy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

fleur kloppenberg

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 January 2014

Liked: The garden with the relax chairs.

Disliked: The property calls itself mountain view, but the name is not the view. The website says wheelchair accessible... The room we hired was so small that, when we wanted to go to the toilet or shower, the wheelchair had to be lifted over the bed to go there. The shower was dirty, overgrown with fungus. We let the person at the desk know we had an early check out (7.15), we still had to pay the key deposit, which was 20 dollars, but nobody was there when we checked out. so our 20 dollars were gone...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

JOANNE DUNCANSON

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2014 JOANNE would recommend this property

Liked: Homely and comfortable room, good location Good kitchen, outdoor patio and common area

Disliked: Bathrooms were a bit dirty, staff pretty rude

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff no strict rules

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, bunk beds bolted to the wall so did not rock around ( great idea!), friendly staff and nice location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bedroom and good location

Disliked: The shared area wasn't as clean as it could have been but this didn't bother us too much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, clean and really friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: no oven and doors don't lock automatically.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and location

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013

Liked: A lot of equipment in the kitchen, small shelves in the room to put your stuff in, clean hostel, good atmosphere

Disliked: small kitchen and only two tables in the common room, no oven, no space to fit all of the backpacks in the room, only two showers and one toilet, noisy and instable bunk beds, very thin walls and too noisy room neighbours, you could hear every word and loud music during the night and the toilet and the showers as well, it said 100MB free wifi but i only got 50MB, a beam over the top bed so i crashed my head when getting up, no lockers, you could only lock the shower itself but no room in front of it to get changed and it was not seperated by genders

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

laura machado solis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 laura would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms of 6 or less, not a big hostel, clean, good beds, orientated to the garden.

Disliked: Common area inside a bit small, no lockers,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michaela Gibbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was always willing to go out of his way to recommend activities to do and was very helpful! The beds are of very good quality and the garden area is great to relax in. Excellent kitchen and shower facilities aswell! Would highly recommend!!

Disliked: Michaela left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, cheap laundry, 50mb wifi free

Disliked: No oven :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Adams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel felt so homely. The weather was lovely so to be able to eat dinner and have a drink in the garden made us very happy. The staff were very helpful.

Disliked: The guests didn't clean up after themselves but not an issue with the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lloyd Potts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Lloyd would recommend this property

Liked: This such a good hostel, clean and a great atmosphere. Beautiful garden, free wifi and the owner is very friendly.

Disliked: Lockers in the room's would be good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ben dickey

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013 ben would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place. Amazing location and facilities! Great place to take it easy and enjoy the weather and scenery. Great little hostel I wished I could have stayed in for a week. They have an awesome back yard area, lounge/kitchen, and the lake and mountain views from almost every window make it absolutely breathtaking. I guess thats NZ for you though....

Disliked: They did not have any personal lockers. Had to carry my valuables with me

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a chilled out place where you can relax after/before Q-town. You won't risk running into people from the party buses.

Disliked: When it comes to Internet you pay according to how many MB you are using which is rather pricy if you're planning on uploading any pictures. (FYI there's no free wifi at the library)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet,familiar

Disliked: nothing


See all Wanaka hostels