HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka Hostel

7 Russell Street, Wanaka, New Zealand

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 83%

Location 89%

Safety 82%

Staff 89%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.53USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wanaka?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 83%

Location 89%

Safety 82%

Staff 89%

Value 88%

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Spacious living/communal areas. Helpful staff, both locals and fellow backpackers. Wonderful location for afternoon sun in May.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Nice location, nice garden and lounge

Disliked: After 10am on the day we check out we are not aloud to stay in the hostel anymore unless paying a 10 dollars fee, We have traveled a lot and this is the first hostel where We have seen that. Also the staff can be pretty rude sometimes.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Clean, quiet, friendly , our group of over 60s felt very welcome

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Age Range:
41+

Liked: I travel on the West Coast, thru Greymouth about once a year and I have stayed here several times, the high standard has been maintained and the new operators are very helpful, friendly and obliging. Apart from the charcter and spaciousness of the old home it is centrally situated which I find useful and I can walk into town. Parking outside is limited but they have gone to the trouble of arranging and directing you to a parking area over the road.

Disliked: Nothing.... I go back there regularly as it's good value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us many tips on what to do to make the most of our 2 day stay here.

Disliked: N/a. Keep up the good work.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly staff at the front desk. Clean and tidy rooms, with comfortable beds. Toilet and shower facilities reasonable.

Disliked: Kitchen was a bit messy although there were a lot of guests staying. Corridor a bit noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: I liked the location and view. The people there were friendly and honest when you asked questions.

Disliked: People were yelling till 4am ...

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: n/a

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean rooms, kitchen and bathrooms. Free movies available from reception. Great location!

Disliked: No free wifi - $5 for 100mb!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really liked how close the toilets and showers were. And our double room was nice.

Disliked: It wasn't super clean in the showers above the shower dome, but for the most part was quite tidy.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability