HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Mountain View Backpackers Wanaka

Hostel

7 Russell Street, Wanaka, New Zealand

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 85%

Location 89%

Safety 82%

Staff 90%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.42USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Wanaka?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 85%

Location 89%

Safety 82%

Staff 90%

Value 89%

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us many tips on what to do to make the most of our 2 day stay here.

Disliked: N/a. Keep up the good work.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly staff at the front desk. Clean and tidy rooms, with comfortable beds. Toilet and shower facilities reasonable.

Disliked: Kitchen was a bit messy although there were a lot of guests staying. Corridor a bit noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: I liked the location and view. The people there were friendly and honest when you asked questions.

Disliked: People were yelling till 4am ...

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: n/a

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean rooms, kitchen and bathrooms. Free movies available from reception. Great location!

Disliked: No free wifi - $5 for 100mb!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really liked how close the toilets and showers were. And our double room was nice.

Disliked: It wasn't super clean in the showers above the shower dome, but for the most part was quite tidy.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Homely and comfortable room, good locationGood kitchen, outdoor patio and common area

Disliked: Bathrooms were a bit dirty, staff pretty rude

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location, friendly staff no strict rules

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The garden with the relax chairs.

Disliked: The property calls itself mountain view, but the name is not the view. The website says wheelchair accessible... The room we hired was so small that, when we wanted to go to the toilet or shower, the wheelchair had to be lifted over the bed to go there. The shower was dirty, overgrown with fungus.We let the person at the desk know we had an early check out (7.15), we still had to pay the key deposit, which was 20 dollars, but nobody was there when we checked out. so our 20 dollars were gone...

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great place.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability