HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Kiwipaka Waitomo Waitomo

Hostel

Kiwipaka Waitomo, Hotel Access Road, Waitomo, New Zealand

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 76%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Waitomo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 76%

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was walking distance to other restaurants, tourist information and caves. Ample parking available.

Disliked: The pool table was missing. A few other games available would have been nice. Service in the restaurant was slow.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The rooms and location were nice.

Disliked: Small town place, understaffed. Took a bit of searching to find a staff member for help, and i felt a burden asking questions. Doors locks took a few tries to open. Locks in the shower don't lock at all.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Ideally suited for visiting the caves. Friendly staff

Disliked: Poor WIFI CONNECTION

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Loved the chalet style of accommodation. Had good kitchen facilities. Comfortable bed. Close to everything at Waitomo.

Disliked: No complaints.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is very close to the 'center' of town. If you do not have a car, the many highlights of the community are still accessible.

Disliked: The rooms were fine, nothing spectacular, and we were able to check in early, which was a plus!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is spartan but all we needed for our stay. The location is good.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Really friendly staff and the proximity to the caves

Disliked: Early checkout time of 10am

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location. Quiet at night. Nice rooms.

Disliked: Our room hadn't been properly cleaned. Old food in fridge and unwashed glasses left in room

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The private room with ensuite was reasonably priced and good value for money.

Disliked: I indicated we would be checking in after our Waitomo adventure tour and when we arrived the office was closed, We needed to go the nearby bar to get our room keys. This wasn't so much a problem, but one key didn't work, which was a bit of a nuisance initially.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: they changedmy booking after I messed up on the hostelbookers website

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability