HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kiwi Paka

Hostel | School Road, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand 0000

80.7% Overall Rating

25 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

"Its location to the glow worm caves was optimal, and it was very close to our bus stop. I also was given a 50% refund after complaining."

Read all Kiwi Paka reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Waitomo Caves?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.7%

Overall Rating

25 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kiwi Paka'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 31 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff and the proximity to the caves

Disliked: Early checkout time of 10am

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The private room with ensuite was reasonably priced and good value for money.

Disliked: I indicated we would be checking in after our Waitomo adventure tour and when we arrived the office was closed, We needed to go the nearby bar to get our room keys. This wasn't so much a problem, but one key didn't work, which was a bit of a nuisance initially.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Quiet at night. Nice rooms.

Disliked: Our room hadn't been properly cleaned. Old food in fridge and unwashed glasses left in room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they changedmy booking after I messed up on the hostelbookers website

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014

Liked: Its location to the glow worm caves was optimal, and it was very close to our bus stop. I also was given a 50% refund after complaining.

Disliked: The wifi wasn't free--which would be fine if it worked the entire time that I had paid for it. They had a no alcohol policy, but they allowed teens to have alcohol in the lodge anyway. My sheets had blood stains on them. The pillow was barely a pillow, and the mattress was not comfortable at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient and central location, works whether you have a car or not; good, simple comfort, very clean; availability of kitchen facilities or dining at the cafe, which was tasty and filling. Quiet, a peaceful and beautiful area, beautiful views.

Disliked: It was all good. Even the party-hikers went to bed early.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharon Chambers

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service, great food and great location for the caves!

Disliked: Sharon left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob McDonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Double room had plenty of space. Friendly staff. Meticulous cleaners. Okay cafe on site. Close to bus stop and information centre.

Disliked: Floors of corridor creak when you get up to go to the toilet at night. Quiet the first night but a bit of noise from other rooms on the second night when a large group of travellers arrived together.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, very clean accommodation

Disliked: Walls very thin, tiny pillow

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Obbard

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 November 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The scenary

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013

Liked: Convenient location for anyone touring the Waitomo Caves. Staff was friendly and facility was clean.

Disliked: Walls are razor thin; sound travels very easily. Creaky floors, shower water pressure is weak, and mattresses (more like futons) are quite old.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a restaurant and bar on property, along with internet and washing. Kitchen seemed great as well.

Disliked: It looks like a long walk from the caves, for the people who bus it to Waitomo!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

katinka verhagen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 April 2013 katinka would recommend this property

Liked: employees were very friendly. the whole accomodation was clean and there were different kinds of houses. some of which had a mini-village look, to my opinion, which i liked very much. the showers were very good. there was even a pizzeria and a bar in the fascility. and a nice large terras/verranda where you could chill, eat and drink. and there are plenty of parking places. it was very nearby the waitomo glow worm caves. the rooms were not large, but large enough and the beds were very good.

Disliked: the pots and pans of the kitchen were very bad. there were a lot of frying pans that did not even have a handle. you had to use a tea towel to hold the pan, so you would not burn your hands. honestly, I would have thrown the pots and pans away already 100 cook-sessions ago. (i noticed several backpackers that carried their own fryingpan and/or cooking pan. very clever!)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Grumpy staff

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Paul Hosking

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Caves and town

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place with big bedrooms and a really good restaurant with reasonable prices

Disliked: none

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013

Liked: Awful awful awful do not stay here!! EVER

Disliked: Horrific beds with springs popping out- asked for it to be changed and other one was just as bad Awful grumpy staff... If you dont like travellers then dont work in accomodation Terrible food in onsite cafe & no where to buy food in waitomo to cook You have to rent cutlery .... WFT? No alcohol allowed onsite - just so the god awful bar can maybe get a client i guess

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013

Liked: The food in the cafe was very nice (massive pizzas - and really tasty!!) and the bar was good - friendly barman and locals! It's also located just around the corner from the main caves reception, so is well located.

Disliked: We arrived, waited a very long time before the receptionist came to help us, and then went to our room to find it hadn't been cleaned since the previous people had left - the beds were unmade, there were empty beer bottles in the room, etc. We were switched to another room, which was fine though. The hostel has a 'no alcohol' policy due to the attached bar, which is a bit harsh on travellers, who don't have much money, and would prefer to drink supermarket-bought beer! (Though, to be fair, not many people were obeying this rule!) It's also loud...the hostel had a lot of young travellers, who were shouting and running around into the small hours...this may not be a problem for all travellers, but it was very annoying for us!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to the main attraction.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phillip Murphy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel us right in the centre of The village of Waitomo. A great pub is onsite with good grub & of course liquid refreshments. I would recommend having your own car in this area & the driving is very scenic in this area known as king country.

Disliked: Nil

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Oana Romanescu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2012

Liked: It is a basic accomodation, suited if you just need a place to sleep over night.

Disliked: Oana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All around, this is perhaps the loveliest hostel I've stayed at in the past six months...friendly and efficient staff, absolutely clean, no bunks!!--everyone has a twin or double bed, some ensuite baths or use very spacious and clean baths/thowers. The kitchen is huge, as is the dining area; both are spotless and well equipped with huge refrigerators, multiple stoves and sinks, microwaves, etc. The location is lovely, the property spacious and the rooms were warm and spacious...a real treat and a great value for the price.

Disliked: nothing--it;s a dry hostel, but Curly's Bar is next door and it's fun and pretty cheap, and especially friendly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the staff was really helpful, and it was really close to the center of town

Disliked: There was a big group with Kiwi experience that were rather loud

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean rooms, staff was awesome and very helpful! recommend it very much!

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

anja madhvani

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2012 anja would recommend this property

Liked: we had booked a dorm room but were put in a twin room which was a welcome break from busy dorms. We had previously been carrying all our valuables with us everywhere as lots of hostels dont have secure storage but this meant we could forget about that and leave things in our room. The kitchen was very clean, you hire your plates/cup/cuttlery etc for $10 per person which means everyone really looks after their things and washes up straight away. That's a really good system. There is a TV room and a pool table too so theres stuff to do. It was very quiet at night time too. comfy beds, hot showers, friendly staff. we were early for check in but they took us to our room anyway because we were tired, that was nice.

Disliked: anja left no negative feedback.