We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Twizel hostels

Reviews of High Country Lodge & Backpackers Twizel

Hostel | 23 Mackenzie Drive, Twizel, New Zealand PO BOX 16

80.8% Overall Rating

27 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/03/2013)

Emily Sanders thinks…

"Loved that we had our own room with our own sink and dresser! Loved how the hostel had separate buildings on the property with the rooms in them. The kitchen was big and not many people were using…"

Read all High Country Lodge & Backpackers Twizel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Twizel?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

27 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'High Country Lodge & Backpackers Twizel'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Geoff West

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2014 Geoff would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and central to town bike rental was good

Disliked: Good budget accommodation no real dislikes

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mandie Adams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014 Mandie would recommend this property

Liked: location and character great!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Richardson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic value for money. Clean and cosy :)

Disliked: None

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alta van zyl

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 April 2013 alta would recommend this property

Liked: clean and warm.

Disliked: bedding a bit old and worn. Met a guest who knew where we were from, not sure if he can access information at front office, seems he stays for long periods and didn't like the fact that he was so nosy.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2013

Liked: Waschbecken im Zimmer und kostenlose Parkptätze

Disliked: Die Küche war zu klein für die Anzahl der Personen und die Kochplatten unzugänglich. Teppich und Bettwäsche waren nicht sauber, sondern leicht eklig.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Sanders

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Loved that we had our own room with our own sink and dresser! Loved how the hostel had separate buildings on the property with the rooms in them. The kitchen was big and not many people were using it. Staff was great : we got in later than check in time and they left us the key and instructions for us by the door of reception, they let us pay the next morning at checkout! Clean facilities and well kept up!

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close from everything fridge in the room quiet nice well equiped kitchen

Disliked: No free wifi

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Deeble

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 March 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Its location, the views and assistance with booking trip to Milford Sound.

Disliked: Nothing in particular

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Roymond Olsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Roymond would recommend this property

Liked: Close to whatever one can call a town center, very helpfull staff, a good VHS-player with enough movies to keep one occupied on a chill out day, and dorms were like twin rooms only with the same price as a regular dorm.

Disliked: Nothing the owners could have done anything about. Only complaint would be to the other guests.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013

Liked: It is nice and cosy, the garden is very nice to enjoy dinner in.

Disliked: There is no internet available - quite the bummer.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: not enough toilets

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close proximity to surrounding activities and shops

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Dueckminor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly Staff! Staff recommended Mt. Cook tour and that was one of the best trips I've done so far. Thank you very much for that recommendation - Staff was very friendly all the time! People in Twizel are very friendly in general - everyone was really nice there.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

frances roberts

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2012 frances would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great help and very friendly, property was clean throughout. Had computers and good size kitchen and common room. Room also had sink fridge and tv which was great for those cold nights in. Would be great if more hostels were like this one.

Disliked: Heating could do with some updating but what they did have worked fine and was warm enough throughout.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice room, kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

melina neufeld

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 melina would recommend this property

Liked: right in town, not very busy so I had a dorm room to myself, sink in room

Disliked: motel feel, buildings all separate including kitchen

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011

Liked: The proximity to the pub

Disliked: The fact that we were the only people staying there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Penny Dewhurst

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2011 Penny would recommend this property

Liked: Everything you need in 1 room; sink, kettle, toaster, plates, mugs, cuttlery and tv. Big communal bathroom and even bigger kitchen and dining area. Kitchen had more than enough hobs and utensils available and was all very clean and tidy. Shame its in such a quiet area, although a great place to stay if you've spent the day admiring the nearby lakes. Such a great hostel wasted in a small town, wish more places were up to these standards!

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2011

Liked: Not much

Disliked: The walls between each room were think so we could hear everything that was going on in the room next to us and also the hall way. The sink was in the room, not the bathroom.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big kitchen

Disliked: The kitchen is not near the rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Tracey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and spacious. What I got for the values was excellent

Disliked: I would have liked to pay a bit less and perhaps have the option of a dorm room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

PATRICIA TURNER

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2010 PATRICIA would recommend this property

Liked: This place was exactly what we needed and expected. We were greeted with warmth and friendliness and we would definitely stay there on our way through again.

Disliked: PATRICIA left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a little quirky and it's not really a proper backpackers, but it does the job.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ziga Pavlic

20 March 2010 Ziga would recommend this property

Liked: Central location in Twizel! :)for a price of dorm you get a double room (2 in room), thats nice.good for reloading before mt cook

Disliked: Ziga left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 March 2010

Liked: Facilities were clean and good. Staff was horrible and rude, definitely not helpful. Beds were awful, extremely noisy and it feels like lying in a hole. Close to supermarket.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Twizel hostels