HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Park Tongariro National Park Hostel

Cnr Millar Street and State Highway 4, National Park, Tongariro National Park, New Zealand

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 80%

Location 85%

Safety 76%

Staff 73%

Value 67%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tongariro National Park?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 80%

Location 85%

Safety 76%

Staff 73%

Value 67%

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location.

Disliked: We booked two weeks in advance for a deluxe suite. They were definitely marked available and we paid our deposit. When we arrived nice and early we were given key to our room which turned out to be anything but deluxe, not even a television! When we talked to the reception staff they said there was nothing they could do, the fault was Trivago's/ Hostel Bookers and gave us $20 back - and that was for two days! So definitely not the deluxe experience we paid for.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location close to skifields, spa pool, restraunt on site, rooms reasonable size for type of accomodation, front office friendly and very efficient

Disliked: When the resatuarnt got busy it all fell apart and staff were in a complete panic sending the house guests away rather than trying to sort out a better outcome.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Cosy fire and lounge area. Big kitchen

Disliked: Difficulties with wireless Internet but did get it working finally .

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely room - really clean and crisp, with an en suite, towels, fridge, etc. More like a hotel than a hostel! The place has great facilities: a spa, kitchen, lounge, bar and very nice restaurant - we only had breakfast there, but it was well made and good value for money. I just wish we'd had a bit longer there...due to travel problems we only arrived at 9:30pm and left again on the shuttle to the crossing at 8am! The staff organised for us to be on the shuttle over the ohone though, and left the keys and directions to our room out for us, which was really helpful!

Disliked: There was a school trip there at the time, which was quite loud...but were quickly quietened by the teachers! That's not the fault of the Lodge, but it's a large place, so I imagine it's popular with big groups...

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great place to stayexcellent facilities with food optionsvery friendly staff

Disliked: cant think of anything

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: Room was dark

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Overall, this is a nice place to stay. I stayed in a dorm. It is pretty clean, a great location, friendly staff. Amazing hot shower. Comfortable beds and nice reading lights.

Disliked: Needs soap in the en suite bathrooms. Security is not great as most people in the rooms don't lock the door - they should have doors that auto lock when you leave the room. It had too much of a corporate feel here for my personal taste. More worried about making money on everything than being a welcoming place.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I does exactly what it says it should

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: clean and modern, warm rooms, having the choice of a kitchen or the restaurant, friendly staff. recommend staying here!

Disliked: nothing.. it was a great place to stay for the weekend :)

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: just a decent all rounder

Disliked: their description doesn't match their services

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability