HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall Tongariro National Park Hostel

Finlay Street, P.O.Box 89, Tongariro National Park, New Zealand

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 80%

Location 89%

Safety 82%

Staff 86%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 0.73USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tongariro National Park?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 80%

Location 89%

Safety 82%

Staff 86%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Location and value for money.

Disliked: its not cozy enough as compared to the Ski Haus.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel was ideal for ski trips to Whakapapa. The staff kept everyone up to date with weather conditions. The room was comfortable and clean. I'll probably come back here for when I do the Tongariro Crossing as they do transfers from here.

Disliked: It would be nice if the shower was hotter but it was warm enough for a short rinse.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa

Liked: An excellent backpacker. Extremely helpful staff who went out of their way to help. Clean environment.

Disliked: An excellent backpacker. Extremely helpful staff who went out of their way to help. Clean environment.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: No comment

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big common area

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: - Hostel muy acogedor, construido estilo cabania de madera. La parte que mas me gusto es la cocina y comedor, con grandes ventanas desde uno puede ver las colinas. - El personal del hostel me informo muy bien acerca del Alpine Crossing, incluso me alquilaron y prestaron algunas ropas y guantes necesarias. Tambien proveen el transporte hasta el crossing. (Tengan en cuenta que muchas veces se cancela por varios dias debido al mal clima).-La habitacion en la que me hospede era de diez personas, se encontraba en buen estado y limpia. Los banios tambien eran buenos. -Hay un pub/restaurant junto al hostel donde comi unos fish and chips que estaban bien, sobre todo tenia lindo ambiente.

Disliked: -Hay que pagar por un servicio de wifi pesimo!

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nothing to write home about just a very average place.

Disliked: $30 charge to shuttle to the tongariro crossing. A very high price and I could swear a few months ago when I booked on hostel bookers it said that the shuttle was free.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: A friendly, and very helpful staff and a clean kitchen. I was able to store my luggage while I hiked the Tongariro Circuit and I appreciated this service.

Disliked: WiFi wasn't free.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Loved this hostel! My partner and I booked a double room as it was good value and found the hostel to be clean tidy and well equipped. The staff were welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable about thru Tongariro walk and our booking for the shuttle out to the start of the walk was well organised and went without a hitch!The hostel was generally quiet and had a great atmosphere.Thank you!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: good location, large kitchen

Disliked: very basic rooms, poor water pressure in shower, heater was not very useful

Check Availability