HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Te Anau hostels

Reviews of Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

Hostel | 48-50 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, New Zealand 9600

82.6% Overall Rating

16 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2014)

"When my food was stolen from the fridge, I got some money from the lady to buy myself dinner. Also the hostel is perfectly located on the lakeside and close to the start of the Kepler Track."

Read all Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.34
  • Towel USD 4.34

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Te Anau?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

16 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers'

Atmosphere
76.2%
Location
93.3%
Facilities
78.1%
Cleanliness
88.6%
Staff
74.3%
Value
82.9%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms with ensuite bathroom.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2014

Liked: Free 50mb wifi

Disliked: Kitchen

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2014

Liked: Dorm beds are nice

Disliked: Kitchen is dirty and small

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When my food was stolen from the fridge, I got some money from the lady to buy myself dinner. Also the hostel is perfectly located on the lakeside and close to the start of the Kepler Track.

Disliked: My food got stolen from the fridge. Ofcourse there's so much the owners can do about it, but still it happened.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Franziska Steiner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2014 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: Its a quiet, clean Hostel right at the lake and within walking distance to the shops and grocery store.

Disliked: I dont think the property had enough bathrooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Separate from the kitchen area and nice rooms

Disliked: Could only use wifi in a specific area of the property

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sachi Fernando

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Sachi would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the idea of sharing a plate for christmas dinner. I spent christmas with people all over the world, ate many interesting dishes

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel at very nice place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Guthrie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at Te Anau- this hostel has the charm of a quaint Bed and Breakfast that the big hostels simply can't match. The reception woman was polite and accomodating, the kitchen was enormous for the amount of people sleeping there, and there were 3 cozy common rooms that looked like something out of an idyllic mountain house.

Disliked: I have no negatives to staying at this property.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2013

Liked: room was warm and ok beds.

Disliked: Rude owner, my friend just walked away she was so unhelpful. Place has no character, have to pay for wifi which doesnt work, no views from rooms no wifi in rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

emily mcgarry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 emily would recommend this property

Liked: This was a nice little place to stay. The staff were friendly and we were able to check in early. Our private double room was very nice, and was detached so we didn't have any trouble with noise from other people, but were still close enough to use the kitchen. The loaction is good and is on the lakefront, which can be very pretty.

Disliked: The other people staying at the hostel were not very clean, and would often just leave things without washing them up. Obviously this isn't really the fault of the hostel, but it was a bit gross.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michaela Gibbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheerful face on reception! Good to see!! Received a lovey welcome. Sowers are good, kitchen is of a decent size and the rooms are very spacious. Loads of space for parking aswell!

Disliked: Michaela left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Somya Tiwari

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Somya would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Views. Rooms.

Disliked: Staff wasn't the most helpful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Liam Rathbone

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful lakeside views, only 5 minute walk from town.

Disliked: Wifi was expensive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Darshak Shah

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 Darshak would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location, clean, higly recommended.

Disliked: only 2 bathrooms amount 15 people and one was locked which was a bit of an issue.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patricia Mathison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2013 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: We were only there one night but it was a great location, comfortable. Great to have a kitchen in the room even though we didn't use it.

Disliked: Internet was a little expensive.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stacey Henson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Big spacious dorms and communal areas, great views

Disliked: The staff could have been a bit friendlier


See all Te Anau hostels