HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

95.0%
21 reviews Book Now 
1

Tony's Lodge

Guesthouse
313 State Highway 1, Te Rangiita, Taupo, New Zealand 3382

20 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tony's Lodge

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 99% Facilities - 95% Safety - 96%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 97%
Andrew vaughan
As a family with children
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Andrew would recommend this property 28 February 2014

Very friendly hosts lovely accommodation great value. I would always stay at this b and b hostel in North island

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
60.0%
20 February 2014

It's actually a familyhome. Tony is very friendly and helpful. We could use a fridge and the breakfast was included. The house was located right at the Lake Taupo. Though, it was half an hour away from Taupo.

92.1%
60 reviews Book Now 
2

Rainbow Lodge Backpackers

Hostel
99 Titiraupenga Street, Taupo, New Zealand 3330

54 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rainbow Lodge Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 96% Facilities - 94% Safety - 92%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 06 December 2013

Clean, comfortable and very affordable. Helpful staff, free tea and coffee, great atmosphere!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 01 December 2013

Super clean and well equipped. Sweet large window in room. Nice patio and seating area out side and inside. Good atmosphere.

91.7%
72 reviews Book Now 
3

Taupo Urban Retreat

Hostel
65 Heu Heu Street, Taupo, New Zealand 000

70 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Taupo Urban Retreat

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 92% Facilities - 87% Safety - 88%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Harriet Partington
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Harriet would recommend this property 14 April 2014

Large communal area, no byo, but v cheap bar so it works out ok. Awesome hostel cat called puddles who wanders about the place looking cute. Right in the centre of Taupo, walking distance from supermarket, shops, cafes, restaurants and bars. 1 hour free computer use per day, plus global gossip wifi $4 for 24 hours. Staff very friendly. Loads of movies if its raining or you just want to chill.

Hannah Atwell
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Hannah would recommend this property 12 December 2013

Has a cool little bar at reception that leads into the kitchen. Good atmosphere for mingling. Super friendly staff.

86.6%
72 reviews Book Now 
4

Tiki Lodge

Hostel
104 Tuwharetoa St, Taupo, New Zealand 3330

63 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tiki Lodge

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 80% Facilities - 84% Safety - 90%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 87%
Natalie McDonald
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Natalie would recommend this property 15 December 2013

The room was big, the bathroom was clean, the hostel felt secure and the staff were very helpful.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 28 October 2013

it was close to everything, very clean and not noisy the spa was also nice to chill in.

83.5%
64 reviews Book Now 
5

YHA Taupo

Hostel
56 Kaimanawa St, Taupo, New Zealand 5602

56 out of 64 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Taupo

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 88% Facilities - 87% Safety - 84%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 81%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 27 November 2013

The bedrooms were clean, tidy and modern. Loved the little sun deck outside of our room!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
60.0%
20 July 2013

Nice and helpful staff that gave us city maps and advised us where we could find the cheapest bicycle rentals.

80.3%
49 reviews Book Now 
6

Berkenhoff Lodge

Hostel
75 Scannell St, Taupo, New Zealand 3330

40 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Berkenhoff Lodge

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 88% Facilities - 83% Safety - 88%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 82%
Aileen Jones
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Aileen would recommend this property 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for accommodating my daughter and I. My sister had booked us in for the following week. However it was not a problem to cancel that booking and book us in the night we arrived. Staff were friendly, helpful and always had a smile. The room was great, as were the facilities that were available for us to access. An awesome stay was had :)

michael mccormack
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
michael would recommend this property 03 March 2013

a very likeable place, with friendly staff and also nice people to mix with. Clean bathrooms and also rooms and a reasonable price!

78.9%
5 reviews Book Now 
7

Astro Accommodation Taupo

Apartment
76 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo, New Zealand 3330

4 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Astro Accommodation Taupo

Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 72% Facilities - 80% Safety - 84%
Location - 72% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Carlos C. Herrero Garcia
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
74.3%
Carlos C. would recommend this property 02 March 2013

Very good value for money. Superb facilities, both common and ensuite.Toilets are shared each 2 rooms.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 26 February 2013

I was apprehensive about staying at Astro after reading quite a few bad reviews but there was nothing else available at the time. I stayed in the single room and I was really impressed. It's more like a motel, and for and extra $15 per night I got my own room, with fridge, tv, microwave, kettle and basic kitchen equipment. I shared a bathroom with one other room and it was basic but decent. After staying in dorms, it was a couple of nights of privacy and luxury without the hefty price tag.

77.4%
43 reviews Book Now 
8

Base Taupo

Hostel
7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo, New Zealand 000

34 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Base Taupo

Atmosphere - 69% Staff - 74% Facilities - 75% Safety - 82%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 77% Value - 73%
Aimee Moon
Alone
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Aimee would recommend this property 24 October 2013

Really clean rooms, the ensuite bathrooms are so clean with the best showers I've ever had travelling!

Jamie Speicher
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife
80.0%
Jamie would recommend this property 09 December 2011

Bathroom , Kitchen , Internet, TV is all right.....is good!!! Their are very good pubs with live music and a lot of good possibilities to going out....

Taupo

9 Hostels from 20.59 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Taupo hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Taupo. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.