We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

93.8%
27 reviews Book Now 
1

Tony's Lodge

Guesthouse
313 State Highway 1, Te Rangiita, Taupo, New Zealand 3382

26 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tony's Lodge

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 98% Facilities - 94% Safety - 96%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 96%
Traveena Subritzky
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Traveena would recommend this property 01 April 2015

This place is run by a super friendly and helpful couple. It is out of town but it is closer to the Tongariro crossing which is why we were in the area. Tony helped us with transport to and from the track and even put on a BBQ at the end of the day!!

Arran Farquhar
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Arran would recommend this property 10 March 2015

This was our favourite place we've stayed on our travels to New Zealand! Tony, Tania and the kids were so friendly and helpful and they made us feel like part of their family. A wonderful continental breakfast is included with your stay however you can ask Tony to make one of his cooked breakfasts for you, we did and it was delicious. A must do when you're in Taupo is the Tongariro crossing, Tony provides a shuttle service to and from the crossing or will follow you whilst you take your car to the end to take you back to the beginning so you can walk to your car. We didn't want to leave this place what excellent value for money and what a lovely family. We hope to return very soon!

90.9%
5 reviews Book Now 
2

Blackcurrant Backpackers

Hostel
20 Taniwha Street, Taupo, New Zealand 3330

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blackcurrant Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 92% Safety - 88%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 20 April 2015

Amazing beds, amazing staff, great facilities, great location!! Nothing bad about this place it was one of the best I have stayed at in NZ.

Dan kajet
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Dan would recommend this property 04 April 2015

Only stayed a night, but would have stayed longer if they weren't booked. Great relaxing place to stay. Friendly helpful staff

89.0%
90 reviews Book Now 
3

Taupo Urban Retreat

Hostel
65 Heu Heu Street, Taupo, New Zealand 000

86 out of 90 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Taupo Urban Retreat

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 94% Facilities - 83% Safety - 86%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 89%
Stefanie Foerster
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Stefanie would recommend this property 11 April 2015

Nice communal area, with cheap bar, not such a crazy noisy party armosphere like in base nearby. But if you wanna party you will be in 5 minutes at base. Don't be afraid of the 16 Bed Dorm, its really nice.

Alex burke
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
71.4%
Alex would recommend this property 25 March 2015

It had really good vibes about it, the rooms were a bit cramped but it's a hostel so what do you expect. Good laid out kitchen with enough sinks for dishes, the labels for the food are outside the kitchen and no signs saying they're by reception. Good stay overall, good British feel about it.

87.2%
79 reviews Book Now 
4

Rainbow Lodge Backpackers

Hostel
99 Titiraupenga Street, Taupo, New Zealand 3330

72 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rainbow Lodge Backpackers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 94% Facilities - 85% Safety - 86%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 86%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 26 April 2015

Just a few minutes walk from the Centre, friendly and helpful staff. Off street parking is very safe and cconvenient.

demi gillespie
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
demi would recommend this property 21 April 2015

very good environment , ill be back another time! even though was there for 1 night i throughly enjoyed my stay

85.7%
79 reviews Book Now 
5

Tiki Lodge

Hostel
104 Tuwharetoa St, Taupo, New Zealand 3330

70 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tiki Lodge

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 84% Facilities - 84% Safety - 88%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 87%
rebecca spruce
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
74.3%
rebecca would recommend this property 27 April 2015

Good kitchen and communal area. Hot tub good idea and hostel nicely close to the lake front.

Anna Lemmer
With my spouse / partner
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Anna would recommend this property 27 January 2015

Beautiful view on Lake Taupo and Tongariro National Park from the kitchen's balcony.

81.9%
52 reviews Book Now 
6

Berkenhoff Lodge

Hostel
75 Scannell St, Taupo, New Zealand 3330

43 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Berkenhoff Lodge

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 88% Facilities - 84% Safety - 89%
Location - 63% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 84%
Aileen Jones
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Aileen would recommend this property 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for accommodating my daughter and I. My sister had booked us in for the following week. However it was not a problem to cancel that booking and book us in the night we arrived. Staff were friendly, helpful and always had a smile. The room was great, as were the facilities that were available for us to access. An awesome stay was had :)

michael mccormack
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
michael would recommend this property 03 March 2013

a very likeable place, with friendly staff and also nice people to mix with. Clean bathrooms and also rooms and a reasonable price!

77.4%
70 reviews Book Now 
7

YHA Taupo

Hostel
56 Kaimanawa St, Taupo, New Zealand 5602

59 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Taupo

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 77% Facilities - 81% Safety - 79%
Location - 72% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 76%
Alex Ng
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
42.9%
18 April 2015

Can't really think of anything I like about it as compared to others I've stayed during this trip.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 27 November 2013

The bedrooms were clean, tidy and modern. Loved the little sun deck outside of our room!

74.9%
47 reviews Book Now 
8

Base Taupo

Hostel
7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo, New Zealand 000

36 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Base Taupo

Atmosphere - 67% Staff - 71% Facilities - 72% Safety - 80%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 70%
Rapata Witehira
With a large group / tour
Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Rapata would recommend this property 08 February 2015

Clean and tidy rooms quality ensuite- the guy working jn the morn at check out was very good

Aimee Moon
Alone
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Aimee would recommend this property 24 October 2013

Really clean rooms, the ensuite bathrooms are so clean with the best showers I've ever had travelling!

Taupo

9 Hostels from 17.31 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Taupo hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Taupo. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.