We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Taupo, New Zealand

93.6%
25 reviews Book Now 
1

Tony's Lodge

Guesthouse
313 State Highway 1, Te Rangiita, Taupo, New Zealand 3382

24 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tony's Lodge

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 98% Facilities - 93% Safety - 96%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 96%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 28 December 2014

Tony and Tania are just awesome and were so friendly to us. We had a real good time there.

João Cunha
With my spouse / partner
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
77.1%
João would recommend this property 24 April 2014

The owner is a good man and he is a funny person, this B&B for us is perfect to stay when you go a Taupo.

90.4%
81 reviews Book Now 
2

Taupo Urban Retreat

Hostel
65 Heu Heu Street, Taupo, New Zealand 000

77 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Taupo Urban Retreat

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 94% Facilities - 86% Safety - 89%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 08 January 2015

Very social hostel with a good central common place. It had good character and they are able to set you up with transportation for the alpine crossing.

Ciaran Head
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Ciaran would recommend this property 22 August 2014

Great staff, really friendly and helpful! Beds were comfortable and rooms had just about enough space, fantastic common areas, good kitchen and great bar deals! Chilli was also a real bonus!

88.5%
73 reviews Book Now 
3

Rainbow Lodge Backpackers

Hostel
99 Titiraupenga Street, Taupo, New Zealand 3330

66 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rainbow Lodge Backpackers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 94% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 12 January 2015

Rainbow Lodge is just awesome!!! It is very familar and you get to know a lot of interesting, great and polite people from all over the world. The rooms and dorms are very clean and the organisation is great (even for german standards^^). If you have problems you always can ask for help. I had a wonderful time there. Thank you so much!!!

Customer review
As a family with children
Family Holiday
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 05 January 2015

Cleanliness of room and it accommodated 5 people without it feeling over-crowded.

86.5%
77 reviews Book Now 
4

Tiki Lodge

Hostel
104 Tuwharetoa St, Taupo, New Zealand 3330

68 out of 77 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tiki Lodge

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 84% Facilities - 84% Safety - 89%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 17 January 2015

Very close to the lake, shops and harbour. Very helpful staff at the reception, rooms and hostel very clean. Great kitchen and living room / social area, plus a large balcony with the mountain and lake views.

Natalie McDonald
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Natalie would recommend this property 15 December 2013

The room was big, the bathroom was clean, the hostel felt secure and the staff were very helpful.

81.7%
51 reviews Book Now 
5

Berkenhoff Lodge

Hostel
75 Scannell St, Taupo, New Zealand 3330

42 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Berkenhoff Lodge

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 88% Facilities - 84% Safety - 88%
Location - 64% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 84%
Aileen Jones
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
Aileen would recommend this property 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for accommodating my daughter and I. My sister had booked us in for the following week. However it was not a problem to cancel that booking and book us in the night we arrived. Staff were friendly, helpful and always had a smile. The room was great, as were the facilities that were available for us to access. An awesome stay was had :)

michael mccormack
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
michael would recommend this property 03 March 2013

a very likeable place, with friendly staff and also nice people to mix with. Clean bathrooms and also rooms and a reasonable price!

80.7%
68 reviews Book Now 
6

YHA Taupo

Hostel
56 Kaimanawa St, Taupo, New Zealand 5602

58 out of 68 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Taupo

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 81% Facilities - 84% Safety - 81%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 80%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 27 November 2013

The bedrooms were clean, tidy and modern. Loved the little sun deck outside of our room!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
60.0%
20 July 2013

Nice and helpful staff that gave us city maps and advised us where we could find the cheapest bicycle rentals.

79.0%
6 reviews Book Now 
7

Astro Accommodation Taupo

Apartment
76 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo, New Zealand 3330

5 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Astro Accommodation Taupo

Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 73% Facilities - 80% Safety - 83%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 93%
Carlos C. Herrero Garcia
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
74.3%
Carlos C. would recommend this property 02 March 2013

Very good value for money. Superb facilities, both common and ensuite.Toilets are shared each 2 rooms.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 26 February 2013

I was apprehensive about staying at Astro after reading quite a few bad reviews but there was nothing else available at the time. I stayed in the single room and I was really impressed. It's more like a motel, and for and extra $15 per night I got my own room, with fridge, tv, microwave, kettle and basic kitchen equipment. I shared a bathroom with one other room and it was basic but decent. After staying in dorms, it was a couple of nights of privacy and luxury without the hefty price tag.

75.4%
45 reviews Book Now 
8

Base Taupo

Hostel
7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo, New Zealand 000

35 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Base Taupo

Atmosphere - 68% Staff - 72% Facilities - 73% Safety - 81%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 72%
Aimee Moon
Alone
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Aimee would recommend this property 24 October 2013

Really clean rooms, the ensuite bathrooms are so clean with the best showers I've ever had travelling!

Jamie Speicher
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife
80.0%
Jamie would recommend this property 09 December 2011

Bathroom , Kitchen , Internet, TV is all right.....is good!!! Their are very good pubs with live music and a lot of good possibilities to going out....

Taupo

10 Hostels from 18.67 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Taupo hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Taupo. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.