We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taupo hostels

Reviews of Rainbow Lodge Backpackers

Hostel | 99 Titiraupenga Street, Taupo, New Zealand 3330

88.2% Overall Rating

65 out of 72 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/01/2015)

"Rainbow Lodge is just awesome!!! It is very familar and you get to know a lot of interesting, great and polite people from all over the world. The rooms and dorms are very clean and the organisation is great (even for…"

Read all Rainbow Lodge Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taupo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taupo

Blackcurrant Backpackers
19.45 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Astro Accommodation Taupo
23.34 USD

Apartment 79.0% 6 reviews
YHA Taupo
21.01 USD

Hostel 80.7% 68 reviews
Taupo Urban Retreat
19.45 USD

Hostel 90.4% 81 reviews
Tiki Lodge
19.45 USD

Hostel 85.7% 76 reviews
Base Taupo
22.56 USD

Hostel 75.4% 45 reviews
Berkenhoff Lodge
20.23 USD

Hostel 80.7% 50 reviews
Tony's Lodge
23.34 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

65 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rainbow Lodge Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 72 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rainbow Lodge is just awesome!!! It is very familar and you get to know a lot of interesting, great and polite people from all over the world. The rooms and dorms are very clean and the organisation is great (even for german standards^^). If you have problems you always can ask for help. I had a wonderful time there. Thank you so much!!!

Disliked: WiFi is very expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linsey Honaker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2015 Linsey would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and there was a nice gathering area for hostel guests.

Disliked: Linsey left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness of room and it accommodated 5 people without it feeling over-crowded.

Disliked: Didn't like computer or TV room in need of a spruce up.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2014

Liked: The staff did try really hard to be friendly and helpful and offer free coffee in the mornings.

Disliked: The kitchen can't cope with volume of people at the hostel, I had to wait 2 hours both nights to use the kitchen. The cooker is a nightmare, for starters you need matches to light it, which the hostel didn't provide. The ensuite bathroom had no fan or window so steamed up the bedroom after everyone's shower, nightmare. I expected a BBH hostel but it wasn't it lack atmosphere, was extremely noisy and had no where safe to store my stuff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JaMara Vazquez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2014 JaMara would recommend this property

Liked: Me friends and I are from the US and it was an amazing place to stay. The rooms were very warm at night and the morning coffee was amazing. Being from the US filtered coffee is a must and that is exactly what they had. The staff was very helpful and kept us informed every step of the way. In the front office there is coupons for everything around. Overall a great place to stay. Also the showers were soooo hot, the first hot shower I had in New Zealand.

Disliked: It was a little chilly, during the day, but you can't expect to be warm all day everyday.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A homely feel with good gardens and pathways.

Disliked: Parking layout was very tight and not enough to accommodate everyone.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Wyatt

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: great facilities, friendly atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

CHUN-WEI LIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014 CHUN-WEI would recommend this property

Liked: it is a nice Backpackers, good choice.

Disliked: CHUN-WEI left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Good Location, Friendly Staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susanne Mayr

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place - lovely hostel, very comfortable, big spacious kitchen and living room area and 24 hours sauna

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phoebe Holworthy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Phoebe would recommend this property

Liked: The room

Disliked: A bit too secure maybe..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Service, Helpfulness, own bathroom, big kitchen/living room, safe parking place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people and location are so great

Disliked: The laundry fee

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and efficient

Disliked: Kitchen area slightly messy

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Emma Hutchinson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big kitchen and all the basics needed.

Disliked: Maybe just not my style, felt very much like a travellers/old school hippy hostel with people from all walks of life and some long termers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeeta Singh Rathore

Alone

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Jeeta Singh would recommend this property

Liked: All facilities were upto the mark and had free food resting area awesome staff

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable and very affordable. Helpful staff, free tea and coffee, great atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean and well equipped. Sweet large window in room. Nice patio and seating area out side and inside. Good atmosphere.

Disliked: Music track of sub par 90's pop on repeat--- easy fix but as it was staying their a few days and feeling driven out of the common room for fear of getting another song stuck in our heads was a bit of a bummer.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Po King Chung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2013 Po King would recommend this property

Liked: Big and comfy lounge area. The room is clean. The kitchen is huge and well-equipped whch can fit a lot of people to cook at the same time. I enjoyed the Sauna very much. The shower is good. The staff are very friendly. Recommended!

Disliked: WIFI is not free.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved Ross from the hostel staff team! We wished we stayed a lot longer. Absolutely gorgeous area! Amazing vibe, clean rooms, helpful staff, great facilities, safe (locking facilities for cars etc. Can only get in with codes or keys). GREAT all round!

Disliked: Shower in room was luke warm and not very powerful... But who needs showers anyway!? Nothing bad to report really!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, friendly staff, free pickup/drop off service, private rooms are good with tv

Disliked: Wifi signal needs improvement in private rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: Need a bit of an upgrade...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jingjing HU

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2013 Jingjing would recommend this property

Liked: Good service.

Disliked: Jingjing left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronika Martin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Veronika would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, helpful, great big kitchen, nice outside area. I would always stay here again and would recommend to other backpackers.

Disliked: none

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Hannah Fratschko

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I stayed there for four nights, and I would definitely recommend this hostel to other backpackers. They offer a free pick up from the bus station to take you to the hostel (which is very helpful if you don't know where your going, or have a lot of luggage.) Staff members were very helpful and friendly, wanting you to enjoy yoru stay. They have movie night with free popcorn, and have coupons for places in town. If I had to, I would stay here again in a heart beat!

Disliked: The only thing that wasn't to great was the kitchen. Just because of all the backpackers there, not a lot of them did their dishes or cleaned up after themselves. (It's not the staffs fault at all, there are signs everywhere to tell everyone to clean up after themselves) Other than that, it was fantastic!

The property's response is...


See all Taupo hostels