We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taupo hostels

Reviews of Tony's Lodge

Guesthouse | 313 State Highway 1, Te Rangiita, Taupo, New Zealand 3382

93.3% Overall Rating

22 out of 23 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2014)

João Cunha thinks…

"The owner is a good man and he is a funny person, this B&B for us is perfect to stay when you go a Taupo."

Read all Tony's Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taupo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taupo

Base Taupo
17.90 USD

Hostel 75.4% 45 reviews
Taupo Urban Retreat
17.12 USD

Hostel 90.1% 79 reviews
Tiki Lodge
19.46 USD

Hostel 86.4% 74 reviews
YHA Taupo
17.90 USD

Hostel 80.3% 67 reviews
Astro Accommodation Taupo
23.35 USD

Apartment 79.0% 6 reviews
Rainbow Lodge Backpackers
18.68 USD

Hostel 90.4% 68 reviews
Berkenhoff Lodge
20.24 USD

Hostel 80.3% 49 reviews
Lake Maraetai Lodge
27.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

22 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tony's Lodge'

Atmosphere
93.9%
Location
84.4%
Facilities
93.0%
Cleanliness
92.2%
Staff
98.3%
Value
95.7%
Safety
95.7%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

João Cunha

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2014 João would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is a good man and he is a funny person, this B&B for us is perfect to stay when you go a Taupo.

Disliked: This hostel( B&B) is localization out the Taupo.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 30 mins south of Taupo on SH1. Close but not on lake Taupo. 20-30 mins from the end of the Tongariro crossing where most people leave there cars and catch the bus round to the beginning. Comfortable beds. Hot showers. Continental breakfast included with plenty on offer.

Disliked: Don't stay here if you don't have a car.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Zaschke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2014 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Best atmosphere so far. Really kind people and so helpful. Thanks a lot guys.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew vaughan

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly hosts lovely accommodation great value. I would always stay at this b and b hostel in North island

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014

Liked: It's actually a familyhome. Tony is very friendly and helpful. We could use a fridge and the breakfast was included. The house was located right at the Lake Taupo. Though, it was half an hour away from Taupo.

Disliked: The house was not very tidy. Unfortunatly, our room had a window to the highway. It was so loud! I couldn't find sleep. The breakfast was a little cheap, but at least we had the chance to have breakfast there. The family has two little girls. In the morning, they were playing around and their toys were everywhere!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tony and his family were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. It felt like a home from home.

Disliked: Not a dislike but the property is probably a little out of the way from the towns for us personally.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tony and Tania are very very friendly Kiwi people which made our stay near Taupo special. Thanks for the perfect breakfast and ride to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. We wish you all the best, Linda + Ben

Disliked: You should have a car to get there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma van Dam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best place we've stayed in New Zealand! It's a true home away from home, because Tony, Tania and the kids really make you feel like you're part of the family and are always up for a chat.. It's got everything you need; your own livingroom, good beds, wifi and you can use their kitchen. If you let Tony know what you want for breakfast, he'll figure it out for you; great! Perfect basis to cover both Tongariro Crossing and Taupo! Annelieke & Emma

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allison Elgie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: Tony and Tonia are the most fantastic hosts. Friendly, caring, inviting and incredibly generous. The hostel is so homey and in a perfect, convenient location. Great breakfast, warm lounge and comfy beds. Tony is a wealth of local knowledge, and has lots of info/advice the Tongariro Crossing -- Winter guided tours will pick you up at the lodge. Highly recommended for all travelers. I have never felt so at home at a hostel! Wish I didn't have to leave!!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike, its so awesome!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukshmi Shanthakumar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013 Lukshmi would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, was the only person there but that meant I got my own room, comfy beds

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melvin Pong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Melvin would recommend this property

Liked: I've travelled throughout Europe, SE Asia, and China, and this is absolutely the best place I've ever stayed at. Tony and Tania were fantastic hosts, and their two little girls were very charming. If I were to list out all the postiives, I'd have to write an essay. so I'll just say that you will not be disappointed staying here. Ask to try Tania's jams and relishes. What a wonderful treat!

Disliked: It's a little out of the way from Taupo, but if you have a car, which you should, the location isn't really that far.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EVA KOH

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 April 2013 EVA would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very warm and welcoming, making you feel truly at home away from home. I loved the rustic and cosy feel of the place and my kids definitely had fun on the trampoline! Every detail has been thought of to ensure maximum comfort. Perfect for everyone, regardless if you're traveling alone or with a family. I'll definitely be back, next time with some steak and chops to fire up on their grill!

Disliked: EVA left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awsome, very funny and lovely family!!! a perfect place to stay, good breakfast and nice evening with tony!! highly recommend it-everything was worth it!! :-)

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners! They were very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The family made you fell like you were at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a great treat, especially after a long day hike. Secluded access to the lake only a short walk away, postcard stuff!

Disliked: No separate kitchen, however the family did allow us full access to their kitchen and BBQ! In fact we even enjoyed a lovely dinner with them and other guests. They certainly did go the extra mile to make you feel at home, in their home. A big thanks to all the family.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Stuart

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay at Tony's Lodge. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home, being upgraded from a dorm room to a private room! The breakfast was fantastic with the homemade muesli going down a treat! Tony and his family are great hosts and I cannot recommend this place enough. If we are ever in the area again a stay is a must!

Disliked: Nothing! It was the perfect amount out of Taupo and as Tony said during our stay, you can see some of the other activities around the other side of the lake!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

thomas collier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: You really must stay at Tony's if you're staying in Taupo. Really warm, lovely people, genuine hospitality, Tony and Tania are legends! Anything you need they provide. It really is like a home and not a hostel. We stayed the night before in a run of the mill hostel and paid the same price, its no comparison. The room was really nice, the bed was really comfortable and I had the best sleep in weeks. Breakfast was included with some of Tania's home made jams. Tony even gave me some of his secret stash of Marmite! This place really is a gem, its what people LOOK for while travelling but never find. We'll definitely stay again.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Aldworth

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2012 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Tony’s lodge offers everything you need in accommodation. Friendly, honest and very accommodating it’s a must stay when travelling through the North Island. 5 star accommodation at a very affordable price. Next time I’m in Taupo I’ll be staying at Tony’s!

Disliked: Jeremy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diane Ainsworth

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 November 2011 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely and helpfullness of staff. Tanya couldn't do enought for us.

Disliked: Only that no sink in the toilet area to wash hands.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: familiar atmosphere, very friendly staff, higher standard than a normal hostel (clean and fluffy towels, free breakfast). great value for money!

Disliked: .


See all Taupo hostels