HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Berkenhoff Lodge Taupo Hostel

75 Scannell Street, Taupo, New Zealand

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 89%

Location 69%

Safety 93%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 09:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taupo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 89%

Location 69%

Safety 93%

Staff 94%

Value 91%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: price, private bathrooms, the large kitchen and communal areas, free billiards

Disliked: While they do clean regularly, it still feels a little dirty due to old appliance and washroom facilities. The beds and bunks could be upgraded so that they don't squeak and shake quite so easily, and are a bit more comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Tengo que destacar que los dueños fueron muy amables nos buscaron en la parada del bus y luego nos llevaron de vuelta el dia en que nos ibamos... tambien nos dieron mucha informacion sobre lo que podiamos hacer en la zona

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Clean comfortable cheap

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Thank you so much for accommodating my daughter and I. My sister had booked us in for the following week. However it was not a problem to cancel that booking and book us in the night we arrived. Staff were friendly, helpful and always had a smile. The room was great, as were the facilities that were available for us to access. An awesome stay was had :)

Disliked: Nil

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks Aileen I am glad you had a nice stay pity we didnt find the glasses. Thanks a lot. See you again sometime

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Cheap and clean

Disliked: Had to pay for wifi, no chairs in the room, no hooks for clothes

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi

Thanks for your comments re your stay at the hostel. If people tell us these things then we can try and rectify these things, we will put a couple of hooks behind the doors in the rooms but there is no room in there for chairs as people now have big backpacks and suitcases. Re the wifi, this does not belong to us and was put in by a Christchurch company, so they charge the same as they do from all their sites in camping grounds and other hostels/motels.

Thanks and enjoy NZ

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Double rooms were fairly largeKitchen had plenty of room

Disliked: Nothing in particularMaybe a bit away from town, but we had a car

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Mike

Thanks for your comments, hoping your rest of your trip was enjoyable

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: a very likeable place, with friendly staff and also nice people to mix with. Clean bathrooms and also rooms and a reasonable price!

Disliked: it was a great place to stay

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Michael

Thanks for your great comments and hope to see you again at the Berkenhoff Lodge once day.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Toilette und Dusche im ZimmerKostenlose Parkplätze im Hof

Disliked: Spinnweben in allen EckenMatratzen durchgelegenSehr viele VerbotsschilderKüche erst ab 8 Uhr morgens zugänglich


The property's response is

Hi Thanks for your comments, 2 people in a 3 bed dorm pretty gud when you had the room to yourself. Nice large clean kitchen. the signs are necessary because a lot of people cant use commonsense these days, if you had a problem with the kitchen opening at 8am, advise the office and you would have been given a key for earlier admission. Hard to please people sometimes, they want everything for very little, you could have chosen Huka Lodge down the road, it would have been perfect

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff, cleanliness and layout of kitchen and dining area was nice, free parking

Disliked: Bar was closed on a sat night?. Stained bed linen, mattress quality not great

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi

Thanks for your comments, if there is not enough people staying and due to past experience with the present economic situation it is pointless to open and not even cover wages. Last year the bar was opened 5 nights per week, the bar is only an added extra so not our main point of business. All sheets and duvets are all clean and it is a budget backpackers not a five star motel

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Beds were really good I think they are the best. Also the staff were reaaly friendly Save place to stay in. This place wasn't the best but its the best place to sleep just to sleep

Disliked: The loucation is really bad and it's far away from everything. We had to drive each time to the centre to get food or shampo or other stuff that they didn't provide or we couldnot but it nearby

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi

Thanks for your comments, there is a corner shop five minutes from the hostel, you should have asked. In our write up we describe it as 1.5kms from town, the location is not bad, some independent travellers prefer to be further away from the noisy bars in town.
We are only 15 minutes walk from town and most people enjoy a nice walk to the lake or hot spring. Have a good New Year

Check Availability