HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Taupo hostels

Reviews of Berkenhoff Lodge

Hostel | 75 Scannell St, Taupo, New Zealand 3330

80.3% Overall Rating

40 out of 49 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/01/2014)

Aileen Jones thinks…

"Thank you so much for accommodating my daughter and I. My sister had booked us in for the following week. However it was not a problem to cancel that booking and book us in the night we arrived.…"

Read all Berkenhoff Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Taupo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Taupo

Astro Accommodation Taupo
25.96 USD

Apartment 78.9% 5 reviews
YHA Taupo
22.50 USD

Hostel 83.5% 64 reviews
Rainbow Lodge Backpackers
20.77 USD

Hostel 92.1% 60 reviews
Tiki Lodge
21.63 USD

Hostel 86.6% 72 reviews
Taupo Urban Retreat
21.63 USD

Hostel 91.7% 72 reviews
Base Taupo
25.09 USD

Hostel 77.4% 43 reviews
Tony's Lodge
23.36 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 21 reviews
Lake Maraetai Lodge
30.28 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

40 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Berkenhoff Lodge'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
60.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 30 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aileen Jones

As a family with children

Family Holiday

16 January 2014 Aileen would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you so much for accommodating my daughter and I. My sister had booked us in for the following week. However it was not a problem to cancel that booking and book us in the night we arrived. Staff were friendly, helpful and always had a smile. The room was great, as were the facilities that were available for us to access. An awesome stay was had :)

Disliked: Nil

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and clean

Disliked: Had to pay for wifi, no chairs in the room, no hooks for clothes

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Double rooms were fairly large Kitchen had plenty of room

Disliked: Nothing in particular Maybe a bit away from town, but we had a car

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013

Liked: Toilette und Dusche im Zimmer Kostenlose Parkplätze im Hof

Disliked: Spinnweben in allen Ecken Matratzen durchgelegen Sehr viele Verbotsschilder Küche erst ab 8 Uhr morgens zugänglich

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael mccormack

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

03 March 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: a very likeable place, with friendly staff and also nice people to mix with. Clean bathrooms and also rooms and a reasonable price!

Disliked: it was a great place to stay

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Thomas Breen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, cleanliness and layout of kitchen and dining area was nice, free parking

Disliked: Bar was closed on a sat night?. Stained bed linen, mattress quality not great

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bandar Alzabi

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2012 Bandar would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were really good I think they are the best. Also the staff were reaaly friendly Save place to stay in. This place wasn't the best but its the best place to sleep just to sleep

Disliked: The loucation is really bad and it's far away from everything. We had to drive each time to the centre to get food or shampo or other stuff that they didn't provide or we couldnot but it nearby

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice clean hostel with cool kitchen

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean kitchen, large lounge and dining room - lots of space to make dinner and to relax - never felt cramped. Really handy location - only 5 mins from town so nice and peaceful. The staff were also very kind letting us store bikes in the communal areas.

Disliked: The number of angry messages and rules pinned up everywhere. I guess some people can't take responsibility for themselves, but we're not children. Also the zero alcohol policy just because there happens to be a bar at the hostel. Would it really be such a crime to have a beer with dinner? Most backpackers are on a budget after all! The bunks beds also need upgrading - the mattresses are saggy and the pillows are like rocks.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good, clean Kitchen, Lounge, Swimming pool etc..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miia Suutarinen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

28 November 2011 Miia would recommend this property

Liked: It was awesome I love the place and it was quiet and peacfull stay. I really recommend this place.

Disliked: Bit far away from the city center

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Friendly staff, very helpful - Clean and quiet (friendly people, but not noisy people) - Nice common areas, big

Disliked: - Far from supermarket (but when they went in the direction of town they would drop me off) - Pick up/drop off - you need it! I walked with a backpack from the bus terminal, not fun!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Dunn

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 May 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized kitchen, good pressure shower.

Disliked: They don't allow your alcohol within the hostel as you are meant to buy from the hostel bar, yet the bar was closed both times we were there. We were told the hot tub was open until 9:30 yet the sign says 11pm. They have a great fire place in the common room and we were disappointed they didn't have it on the second time we visited. If you don't have a car it's a fair distance out of the main part of town.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

broderick hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 broderick would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicholas Dackombe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 December 2010 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were brilliant. Nice homely atmosphere. Good facilities - big TV in a nice big area with comfortable seating. Huge range of DVD's, book swap, Spa, swimming pool, garden area, nice sized kitchen and eating area. Shop 2 minutes walk away, town 10-15 minutes walk away.

Disliked: The walk into town.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is a bit far from the center, but they offered free pick ups at any time and so there was no problem with getting around. it's a verry clean place, got the tolets and the shower in your room, the stuff was verry friendly and helpfull.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elaine Omand

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2010 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and welcoming, calling up companies to book tours etc for me and giving me advice on where to go. They also picked me up and dropped me off from the bus station which was a big help with a huge suitcase!

Disliked: The spa is not very good, its nice on a cold nice but clearly just a really cheap one. The hostel is also a 15min walk from town up a hill, which must be considered if going out at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Welton

31 March 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, wish we could have spent longer there. They have a spa and pool you can use free of charge. Really homely atmosphere and lovely staff. Highly recommended!!!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

lawrence lowrie

02 January 2009

Liked: hostel staff did wait for us for a late arrival (10pm) but gave a frosty reception. wouldve liked the bar if it was open.

Disliked: lawrence left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grainne Conlon

21 December 2008 Grainne would recommend this property

Liked: It's a bit of a hike out of the town but great value for money!

Disliked: Grainne left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Tatge

01 March 2008 David would recommend this property

Liked: They really gave us a seperate house that was awesome!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter jacquin

02 November 2007 peter would recommend this property

Liked: very tidy and cozy, close to the spa park and AC Baths, a short walk to town. very nice place to relax! highly recommend

Disliked: peter left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 October 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness and helpfulness of the staf

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Bennett

16 June 2007 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were a great help and very friendly. All the facilities you can imagine-the spa was the best after a long day out! The best hostel we have stayed in so far, would recommend it to anyone! :-)

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.


See all Taupo hostels