We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Rotorua, New Zealand

90.6%
94 reviews Book Now 
1

YHA Rotorua

Hostel
1278 Haupapa St, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

89 out of 94 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Rotorua

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 96% Facilities - 87% Safety - 92%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 91%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 26 April 2015

Good location, clean rooms and a spacious common area. You also get free unlimited wifi

Danielle Henry
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Danielle would recommend this property 02 February 2014

Everything about this property was great. For $100 a night I couldn't really complain. Had a fridge and jug with cups, a shower, and a television. Linda the lady on at night was really lovely, and very understanding. Would definitely stay again.

90.6%
38 reviews Book Now 
2

Rock Solid Backpackers

Hostel
1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand 3015

36 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rock Solid Backpackers

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 93%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 90%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 17 August 2015

Free Upgrade and discount due to the nightclub next door, but could sleep very well anyway.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 02 July 2015

Really cheap rate for us travellers!! And free wifi! Friendly and helpful staff :)

90.5%
91 reviews Book Now 
3

Spa Lodge Backpackers

Hostel
1221 Amohau Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

82 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Spa Lodge Backpackers

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 96% Facilities - 86% Safety - 86%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 21 June 2015

Just metres from the heart of the city but feels like you could be much further out as it is so peaceful. Love the fact they offer a two-bed dorm - perfect for solo travellers who can't quite stretch to a private room.

Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 11 February 2015

It is a cozy place and the staff are very helpful and friendly. They are well informed about the area and are more than welling to give directions. When I asked for directions, they provided me with a map on which they marked the possible routes that could take. I have seen do the same for other guests too. Excellent staff

89.6%
169 reviews Book Now 
4

Crash Palace

Hostel
1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

148 out of 169 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Crash Palace

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 88% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 89%
Maria Blomkvist
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Maria would recommend this property 01 May 2015

Clean, close to supermarket, i-site and spa. Really good kitchen with hearbs and free pasta/rice in reception. Free , good wifi.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
74.3%
Customer would recommend this property 26 April 2015

Staff were helpful, good kitchen facilities, were worried it might be loud with our window facing the communal area outside but slept well!

88.9%
10 reviews Book Now 
5

Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

Hostel
273 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

8 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 98% Facilities - 86% Safety - 90%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 90%
Brendan Holland
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Brendan would recommend this property 24 April 2014

Fantastic propery, hot pool, heated and cold swimming pools were great. Kitchen large with plenty of space to prepare meals. Staff very friendly. Good tv/games room to chill out in. Location is pretty close to the CBD, quiet at night. Beds are the BEST! Best beds I've slept in a long time!

Emma Hutchinson
Alone
Romantic getaway
97.1%
Emma would recommend this property 27 December 2013

Loved this place - it helped I had the room to myself! Great to have a nice big clean kitchen, the outdoor areas and pools are brilliant and a real bonus. The people working there were all really lovely. Even free internet and a computer.

87.1%
10 reviews Book Now 
6

Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Hostel
1193 fenton st, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

10 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 94% Facilities - 78% Safety - 90%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 84%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Relaxation/spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 28 July 2015

The staff was really friendly and helpfull! We arrived at 5am in Rotorua and they let us in a room as soon as they opened dispite check-in being at 2pm. They also advised on our travel plans and gave us discount vouchers to the spa.

Amanda Wood
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
82.9%
Amanda would recommend this property 11 February 2015

Great location next to the information centre & easy walking distance to the gardens, thermal park and everything you need.

86.2%
40 reviews Book Now 
7

Astray Motel And Backpackers

3 star Hotel
1202 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

37 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Astray Motel And Backpackers

Atmosphere - 71% Staff - 93% Facilities - 80% Safety - 87%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 86%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 23 September 2014

Everything was clean, well-maintained and functional. The staff, especially Frank, were very helpful and friendly. The 400MB free wifi per day was awesome, and Frank even replaced a dud voucher for me. The location is great, it's easy to walk to everything, and we loved the little car park off the street.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
62.9%
Customer would recommend this property 30 January 2014

Okay accommodation. Rooms were small, but the beds were quite comfortable. Central location. Free Wifi! Very nice lady at the front desk.

84.8%
59 reviews Book Now 
8

Blarneys Rock Backpackers

Hostel
1210 Tutanekai St, Rotorua, New Zealand 000

55 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blarneys Rock Backpackers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 83% Facilities - 81% Safety - 80%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 07 October 2014

Convenient location, nice room, duvet provided, was able to drop off gear prior to check-in. Room was light and airy with good vetilation and blinds. A wide selection of spices was available for visitors to use. Good value for money.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 19 May 2014

Very cute hostel! I stayed 2 times! If I have to stay in Rotorua again I defenetly go back to this hostel <3

80.8%
69 reviews Book Now 
9

Rotorua Planet Backpackers

Hostel
1080 Eruera Street, PO Box 2099, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

53 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rotorua Planet Backpackers

Atmosphere - 69% Staff - 85% Facilities - 79% Safety - 75%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 77% Value - 84%
Amanda Liaina
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals
100.0%
Amanda would recommend this property 02 February 2014

Relaxing and my husband and I felt at home instantly. Our host was great he showed he had in depth knowledge of Rotorua which really helped us. Pak n save is only a couple minuets walk from here. good standard of hygiene. Had everything we needing to cook and store our food. We had a room to ourselves which was what we booked so had no worries about leaving our stuff in the room. For just over $100 my husband and I got a room all to ourselves and had a great experience with Rotorua planet backpackers.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 01 November 2013

The host was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Very conveniently located within walking distance to supermarket and the Polynesian Spa.

78.2%
124 reviews Book Now 
10

Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Hostel
1201 Haupapa Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

94 out of 124 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 76% Facilities - 72% Safety - 76%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 76%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 December 2014

The owner Paul, dashingly handsome, was friendly and very helpful sorting us out with things to do and was quite nice to allow us to check out early.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 01 July 2014

Central and easy to find, Paul on the front desk was super-welcoming and helped so much with local advice.

Rotorua

14 Hostels from 8.32 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Rotorua hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Rotorua. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.