HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Rotorua, New Zealand

93.1%
15 reviews Book Now 
1

Rock Solid Backpackers

Hostel
1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand 3015

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rock Solid Backpackers

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 93% Facilities - 92% Safety - 97%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 97%
Stephanie Wcislo
Alone
Work / volunteering
77.1%
Stephanie would recommend this property 14 April 2014

cool to watch people rock climb thru the window, while scrolling thru your Facebook newsfeed

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 09 April 2014

The common area and the kitchen; one guy at the front desk (a bit older) was just awesome, very friendly and helpful!

91.4%
3 reviews Book Now 
2

Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Hostel
1193 fenton st, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 93% Facilities - 86% Safety - 93%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 93%
Elton Sint Jago
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Elton would recommend this property 09 March 2014

Awesome hostel, VERY nice staff…Kath, Jazz and Fraser are the best! There is free wifi, free pasta, free rice….lot's of movies to watch. Excellent hostel, nothing to complain at all!!! I stayed here twice, three nights each time and would stay here every-time I come back to Rotorua!

Dragan Atanasov
With a large group / tour
Events / festivals
100.0%
Dragan would recommend this property 27 October 2013

It has some sort of a character that makes it imprinted on your memory for a long time.

89.4%
88 reviews Book Now 
3

Spa Lodge Backpackers

Hostel
1221 Amohau Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

79 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Spa Lodge Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 96% Facilities - 82% Safety - 87%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 28 February 2014

Looks like a hippie home. The 2 kitchens are good. The man at the réception is really really nice and helpfull

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 26 February 2014

This was a friendly, dependable place, and a wonderful addition to our travels. I'm only sad we couldn't stay longer.

88.8%
82 reviews Book Now 
4

YHA Rotorua

Hostel
1278 Haupapa St, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

77 out of 82 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Rotorua

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 95% Facilities - 84% Safety - 90%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 88%
Danielle Henry
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Danielle would recommend this property 02 February 2014

Everything about this property was great. For $100 a night I couldn't really complain. Had a fridge and jug with cups, a shower, and a television. Linda the lady on at night was really lovely, and very understanding. Would definitely stay again.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 02 January 2014

Very spacious, clean and friendly, the rooms as well as the communal areas. Everything can be easily reached by foot and there is the start of a thermal walk through the city right in front of the gates.

87.3%
152 reviews Book Now 
5

Crash Palace

Hostel
1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

132 out of 152 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Crash Palace

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 91% Facilities - 85% Safety - 87%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 22 November 2013

quite a lot of free things the Hostel offers.close to the supermarket and Burger king as well as mc Donalds are nearby for those who need it.enough plugs in the room.kitchen was alright.

Georgie Radford
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
74.3%
Georgie would recommend this property 23 October 2013

The hostel is central in Roturua, the beds were comfortable and they had entertainment in the evenings. Generally clean and friendly atmosphere.

85.7%
39 reviews Book Now 
6

Astray Motel And Backpackers

3 star Hotel
1202 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

36 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Astray Motel And Backpackers

Atmosphere - 71% Staff - 92% Facilities - 79% Safety - 87%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
62.9%
Customer would recommend this property 30 January 2014

Okay accommodation. Rooms were small, but the beds were quite comfortable. Central location. Free Wifi! Very nice lady at the front desk.

Nick Cullen
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Nick would recommend this property 13 January 2014

Great location within minutes walk of all of the attractions around town and free parking on-site is great for a big town. Staff were lovely and really helpful. Four bed dorm was tiny, but felt really cosy with loads of space under the bunk for bags.

83.8%
56 reviews Book Now 
7

Blarneys Rock Backpackers

Hostel
1210 Tutanekai St, Rotorua, New Zealand 000

52 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blarneys Rock Backpackers

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 84% Facilities - 79% Safety - 76%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 84%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 July 2013

The hostel was well furnished with many touches of home. The owners have put a lot of effort in because everything is quality, especially for a hostel. They go above and beyond to make your stay excellent, including an offering of free spices (so many I hadn't even heard of some before) and tea and coffee. The location is amazing and there is free parking around the corner if you can nab a spot in time. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and offered great advice on local activities.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 10 July 2013

It is such a great place to stay. Just like home. There are so many useful things in the place, so nice! This was the first time I stayed in backpackers, and I love backpackers!

81.5%
111 reviews Book Now 
8

Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Hostel
1201 Haupapa Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

87 out of 111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 80% Facilities - 76% Safety - 80%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 79% Value - 81%
Megan Bowker
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Megan would recommend this property 12 April 2014

Unique theme makes it more fun. Lot of area to socialize and hang out outside of your room.

Alex Coates
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Alex would recommend this property 04 March 2014

I loved all the effort they've put into the artwork and character of the place. all the people there were helpful and genuinely decent people.

80.7%
65 reviews Book Now 
9

Rotorua Planet Backpackers

Hostel
1080 Eruera Street, PO Box 2099, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

51 out of 65 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rotorua Planet Backpackers

Atmosphere - 71% Staff - 86% Facilities - 78% Safety - 74%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 85%
Amanda Liaina
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals
100.0%
Amanda would recommend this property 02 February 2014

Relaxing and my husband and I felt at home instantly. Our host was great he showed he had in depth knowledge of Rotorua which really helped us. Pak n save is only a couple minuets walk from here. good standard of hygiene. Had everything we needing to cook and store our food. We had a room to ourselves which was what we booked so had no worries about leaving our stuff in the room. For just over $100 my husband and I got a room all to ourselves and had a great experience with Rotorua planet backpackers.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 01 November 2013

The host was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Very conveniently located within walking distance to supermarket and the Polynesian Spa.

78.1%
40 reviews Book Now 
10

The Grand Hotel

Hotel
1130 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

30 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Grand Hotel

Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 88% Facilities - 64% Safety - 76%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 84%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 11 February 2014

I needed a clean comfortable room for the night at a budget price. The Grand Hotel delivered this in every way.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 02 February 2014

The staff were amazing! Very helpful and welcoming. The Grand Hotel is great value for your dollar!!

Rotorua

13 Hostels from 15.42 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Rotorua hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Rotorua. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.