HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Rotorua, New Zealand

Four Canoes Hostel and Bar 89%

Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

Hostel
273 Fenton Street
Atmosphere
87%
Cleanliness
85%
Facilities
84%
Location
82%
Safety
91%
Staff
98%
Value
91%

9 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

16 Oct 2015 83%
Alone Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

The atmosphere, clearness, and the room. Also in each room, there is a toilet and shower. It was cool.

would recommend this property

07 Mar 2015 71%
With my spouse / partner Backpacking / gap year

Room was good, kitchen was well planned. Good car parking

would recommend this property

Read all Four Canoes Hostel and Bar reviews

The Backyard Inn 80%

The Backyard Inn

Hostel
60 Tarewa Road
Atmosphere
72%
Cleanliness
84%
Facilities
84%
Location
84%
Safety
84%
Staff
80%
Value
80%

4 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Backyard Inn

09 Jan 2016 71%
With my spouse / partner

Mucha gente, buena ubicacion, llegamos tarde y nos atendieron muy bien.

28 Nov 2015 100%
With friends / other travellers Backpacking / gap year Beach / sunbathing Family Holiday Partying / nightlife Relaxation / spa Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture

Good suff and accomodation

would recommend this property

Read all The Backyard Inn reviews

Rotorua Downtown Backpackers 86%

Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Hostel
1193 Fenton St
Atmosphere
83%
Cleanliness
83%
Facilities
80%
Location
95%
Safety
88%
Staff
94%
Value
85%

13 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

05 Nov 2015 89%
With friends / other travellers Backpacking / gap year

Free tea, coffee and pasta is great :) girl on reception really friendly

would recommend this property

14 Oct 2015 69%
With friends / other travellers Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

Staff is kindly, helpfulness. And free WiFi.

would recommend this property

Read all Rotorua Downtown Backpackers reviews

Base Rotorua 81%

Base Rotorua

Hostel
1286 Arawa St
Atmosphere
76%
Cleanliness
85%
Facilities
82%
Location
85%
Safety
80%
Staff
77%
Value
79%

17 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Base Rotorua

13 Feb 2015 89%
With my spouse / partner Backpacking / gap year

Really big private rooms

would recommend this property

11 Aug 2014 100%
With friends / other travellers Backpacking / gap year

Best base I have stayed in and the hot pool is amazing and very good that's it's free

would recommend this property

Read all Base Rotorua reviews

Rotorua Planet Backpackers 88%

Rotorua Planet Backpackers

Hostel
1080 Eruera Street, PO Box 2099
Atmosphere
80%
Cleanliness
86%
Facilities
85%
Location
94%
Safety
86%
Staff
95%
Value
90%

12 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rotorua Planet Backpackers

06 Dec 2015 100%
Alone Sightseeing & culture

great place, nice, clean and most importantly a very friendly and helpful stuff. Kerry made me feel welcome, drove me around, showed me the key sightseeing and looked after me very well!

would recommend this property

13 Oct 2015 100%
Alone Backpacking / gap year City break Relaxation / spa

Very friendly and kind landlord. Clean and hospital. Good facilities. Really convenient to shops and hot pools. Excellent budget stay.

would recommend this property

Read all Rotorua Planet Backpackers reviews

Blarneys Rock Backpackers 87%

Blarneys Rock Backpackers

Hostel
1210 Tutanekai Street
Atmosphere
86%
Cleanliness
90%
Facilities
84%
Location
94%
Safety
82%
Staff
86%
Value
89%

27 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blarneys Rock Backpackers

29 Sep 2014 89%
Alone Backpacking / gap year

Convenient location, nice room, duvet provided, was able to drop off gear prior to check-in. Room was light and airy with good vetilation and blinds. A wide selection of spices was available for visitors to use. Good value for money.

would recommend this property

17 May 2014 97%
With friends / other travellers Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Very cute hostel! I stayed 2 times! If I have to stay in Rotorua again I defenetly go back to this hostel <3

would recommend this property

Read all Blarneys Rock Backpackers reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rotorua?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Rotorua hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Rotorua. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Rotorua

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Rotorua. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!