We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Rotorua, New Zealand

92.0%
5 reviews Book Now 
1

Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

Hostel
273 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 100% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 96%
Brendan Holland
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Brendan would recommend this property 24 April 2014

Fantastic propery, hot pool, heated and cold swimming pools were great. Kitchen large with plenty of space to prepare meals. Staff very friendly. Good tv/games room to chill out in. Location is pretty close to the CBD, quiet at night. Beds are the BEST! Best beds I've slept in a long time!

Emma Hutchinson
Alone
Romantic getaway
97.1%
Emma would recommend this property 27 December 2013

Loved this place - it helped I had the room to myself! Great to have a nice big clean kitchen, the outdoor areas and pools are brilliant and a real bonus. The people working there were all really lovely. Even free internet and a computer.

92.0%
28 reviews Book Now 
2

Rock Solid Backpackers

Hostel
1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand 3015

27 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rock Solid Backpackers

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 92% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 94%
Rafael disfrutar
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Rafael would recommend this property 01 September 2014

Very friendly and nice Hostel. All the facilities were provided and clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Recommend this place. Also the pricing is very reasonable!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 07 May 2014

one of the best hostel i ever stayed! Free wifi, billard, table tennis, dvds and Xbox. Very clean and the staff was friendly. Next to a big indoor climbing wall ( just 12$ for hostel guest)

89.4%
158 reviews Book Now 
3

Crash Palace

Hostel
1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

138 out of 158 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Crash Palace

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 91%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 87%
Flavia Silva
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Flavia would recommend this property 11 September 2014

Great nice hostel yet the cheapest I've stayed in so far!!! Definitely recommend! There's so much to do in Rotorua/neaby so I will definitely be returning!!

Geok Hian Laura Chia
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Geok Hian Laura would recommend this property 25 June 2014

Very friendly atmosphere and i also liked initiatives like free pasta and a list of free activities to do in Rotorua. Room had alot of power points which i thought was very thoughtful as now every traveller is bound to have a few devices that requires charging.

89.4%
88 reviews Book Now 
4

Spa Lodge Backpackers

Hostel
1221 Amohau Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

79 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Spa Lodge Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 96% Facilities - 82% Safety - 87%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 28 February 2014

Looks like a hippie home. The 2 kitchens are good. The man at the réception is really really nice and helpfull

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 26 February 2014

This was a friendly, dependable place, and a wonderful addition to our travels. I'm only sad we couldn't stay longer.

88.9%
86 reviews Book Now 
5

YHA Rotorua

Hostel
1278 Haupapa St, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

81 out of 86 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Rotorua

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 96% Facilities - 84% Safety - 89%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 89%
Danielle Henry
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Danielle would recommend this property 02 February 2014

Everything about this property was great. For $100 a night I couldn't really complain. Had a fridge and jug with cups, a shower, and a television. Linda the lady on at night was really lovely, and very understanding. Would definitely stay again.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 02 January 2014

Very spacious, clean and friendly, the rooms as well as the communal areas. Everything can be easily reached by foot and there is the start of a thermal walk through the city right in front of the gates.

87.4%
5 reviews Book Now 
6

Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Hostel
1193 fenton st, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 76% Safety - 92%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 10 June 2014

The location was brilliant - nice and central. The tours on offer were good too.

Elton Sint Jago
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Elton would recommend this property 09 March 2014

Awesome hostel, VERY nice staff…Kath, Jazz and Fraser are the best! There is free wifi, free pasta, free rice….lot's of movies to watch. Excellent hostel, nothing to complain at all!!! I stayed here twice, three nights each time and would stay here every-time I come back to Rotorua!

86.2%
40 reviews Book Now 
7

Astray Motel And Backpackers

3 star Hotel
1202 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

37 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Astray Motel And Backpackers

Atmosphere - 71% Staff - 93% Facilities - 80% Safety - 87%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 86%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 23 September 2014

Everything was clean, well-maintained and functional. The staff, especially Frank, were very helpful and friendly. The 400MB free wifi per day was awesome, and Frank even replaced a dud voucher for me. The location is great, it's easy to walk to everything, and we loved the little car park off the street.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
62.9%
Customer would recommend this property 30 January 2014

Okay accommodation. Rooms were small, but the beds were quite comfortable. Central location. Free Wifi! Very nice lady at the front desk.

84.1%
58 reviews Book Now 
8

Blarneys Rock Backpackers

Hostel
1210 Tutanekai St, Rotorua, New Zealand 000

54 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blarneys Rock Backpackers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 83% Facilities - 80% Safety - 78%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 07 October 2014

Convenient location, nice room, duvet provided, was able to drop off gear prior to check-in. Room was light and airy with good vetilation and blinds. A wide selection of spices was available for visitors to use. Good value for money.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 19 May 2014

Very cute hostel! I stayed 2 times! If I have to stay in Rotorua again I defenetly go back to this hostel <3

83.1%
119 reviews Book Now 
9

Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Hostel
1201 Haupapa Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

93 out of 119 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 81% Facilities - 76% Safety - 80%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 01 July 2014

Central and easy to find, Paul on the front desk was super-welcoming and helped so much with local advice.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 04 May 2014

Accessible to public transport and commercial establishment and basic travellers need.

80.7%
65 reviews Book Now 
10

Rotorua Planet Backpackers

Hostel
1080 Eruera Street, PO Box 2099, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

51 out of 65 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rotorua Planet Backpackers

Atmosphere - 71% Staff - 86% Facilities - 78% Safety - 74%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 85%
Amanda Liaina
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals
100.0%
Amanda would recommend this property 02 February 2014

Relaxing and my husband and I felt at home instantly. Our host was great he showed he had in depth knowledge of Rotorua which really helped us. Pak n save is only a couple minuets walk from here. good standard of hygiene. Had everything we needing to cook and store our food. We had a room to ourselves which was what we booked so had no worries about leaving our stuff in the room. For just over $100 my husband and I got a room all to ourselves and had a great experience with Rotorua planet backpackers.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 01 November 2013

The host was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Very conveniently located within walking distance to supermarket and the Polynesian Spa.

Rotorua

13 Hostels from 10.70 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Rotorua hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Rotorua. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.