HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Rotorua, New Zealand

YHA Rotorua 91%

1. YHA Rotorua

Hostel
1278 Haupapa Street

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 88%

Location 93%

Safety 93%

Staff 97%

Value 92%

63 out of 64 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Rotorua

24 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner

i like this the best because the kitchen almost has everything we need for preparing meals. They are clean and are usable. Perfect!

would recommend this property

20 Dec 2015 91%
Travel Type: Alone

Very clean, very friendly staff, free wifi (but only available at the kitchen & lounge)

would recommend this property

Read all YHA Rotorua reviews
Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ 90%

2. Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ

Hostel
1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown rotorua

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 92%

Staff 90%

Value 89%

46 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ

04 May 2016 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 41+

It was one of the best hostels that we have stayed in. Very clean and well maintained. It was very safe and secure too. We get wifi in our room too.

would recommend this property

23 Apr 2016 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Relaxation / spa
Age Range: 18-24

Nice, modern looking place and in a convenient location.

would recommend this property

Read all Rock Solid Backpackers Rotorua NZ reviews
Crash Palace 90%

3. Crash Palace

Hostel
1271 Hinemaru Street

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 88%

Location 94%

Safety 89%

Staff 88%

Value 90%

51 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Crash Palace

23 Sep 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Great location, free pasta was delicious and beds really comfy

would recommend this property

29 Apr 2015 91%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Clean, close to supermarket, i-site and spa. Really good kitchen with hearbs and free pasta/rice in reception. Free , good wifi.

would recommend this property

Read all Crash Palace reviews
Spa Lodge Backpackers 89%

4. Spa Lodge Backpackers

Hostel
1221 Amohau Street, Rotorua

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 84%

Location 96%

Safety 85%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

64 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Spa Lodge Backpackers

27 Nov 2015 86%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

I like that there are several common rooms, and the center of the hostel is actually outside. Really quaint. Also I've never experienced such helpful and knowledgable staff before.

would recommend this property

23 Oct 2015 80%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Relaxation / spa Sightseeing & culture

Good location and nice staff

would recommend this property

Read all Spa Lodge Backpackers reviews
Four Canoes Hostel and Bar 89%

5. Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

Hostel
273 Fenton Street

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 84%

Location 82%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 91%

9 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

16 Oct 2015 83%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

The atmosphere, clearness, and the room. Also in each room, there is a toilet and shower. It was cool.

would recommend this property

07 Mar 2015 71%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Room was good, kitchen was well planned. Good car parking

would recommend this property

Read all Four Canoes Hostel and Bar reviews
Rotorua Planet Backpackers 88%

6. Rotorua Planet Backpackers

Hostel
1080 Eruera Street, PO Box 2099

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 85%

Location 94%

Safety 86%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

12 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rotorua Planet Backpackers

06 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

great place, nice, clean and most importantly a very friendly and helpful stuff. Kerry made me feel welcome, drove me around, showed me the key sightseeing and looked after me very well!

would recommend this property

13 Oct 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Relaxation / spa

Very friendly and kind landlord. Clean and hospital. Good facilities. Really convenient to shops and hot pools. Excellent budget stay.

would recommend this property

Read all Rotorua Planet Backpackers reviews
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers 83%

7. Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Hostel
1193 Fenton St

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 77%

Location 93%

Safety 86%

Staff 89%

Value 80%

15 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

05 Apr 2016 34%
Travel Type: As a family with children
Trip Type: Family Holiday
Age Range: 41+

Nothing

05 Nov 2015 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Free tea, coffee and pasta is great :) girl on reception really friendly

would recommend this property

Read all Rotorua Downtown Backpackers reviews
The Backyard Inn 80%

8. The Backyard Inn

Hostel
60 Tarewa Road

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 84%

Location 84%

Safety 84%

Staff 80%

Value 80%

5 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Backyard Inn

09 Jan 2016 71%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner

Mucha gente, buena ubicacion, llegamos tarde y nos atendieron muy bien.

28 Nov 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Beach / sunbathing Family Holiday Partying / nightlife Relaxation / spa Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture

Good suff and accomodation

would recommend this property

Read all The Backyard Inn reviews
Base Rotorua 81%

9. Base Rotorua

Hostel
1286 Arawa St

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 82%

Location 85%

Safety 80%

Staff 77%

Value 79%

17 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Base Rotorua

13 Feb 2015 89%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Really big private rooms

would recommend this property

11 Aug 2014 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Best base I have stayed in and the hot pool is amazing and very good that's it's free

would recommend this property

Read all Base Rotorua reviews
Cactus Jacks Backpackers 78%

10. Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Hostel
1210 Haupapa St

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 73%

Location 86%

Safety 78%

Staff 75%

Value 78%

33 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cactus Jacks Backpackers

30 Aug 2015 60%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Cheapest But better pay 1-2 NZD more and have a bed in more comfortable hostels. In Rotorua is really plenty of them.

08 Mar 2015 26%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

nothing

Read all Cactus Jacks Backpackers reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rotorua?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Rotorua hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Rotorua. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Rotorua

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Rotorua. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!