HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Rotorua, New Zealand

92.0%
5 reviews Book Now 
1

Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

Hostel
273 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 100% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 96%
Brendan Holland
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Brendan would recommend this property 24 April 2014

Fantastic propery, hot pool, heated and cold swimming pools were great. Kitchen large with plenty of space to prepare meals. Staff very friendly. Good tv/games room to chill out in. Location is pretty close to the CBD, quiet at night. Beds are the BEST! Best beds I've slept in a long time!

Emma Hutchinson
Alone
Romantic getaway
97.1%
Emma would recommend this property 27 December 2013

Loved this place - it helped I had the room to myself! Great to have a nice big clean kitchen, the outdoor areas and pools are brilliant and a real bonus. The people working there were all really lovely. Even free internet and a computer.

91.5%
27 reviews Book Now 
2

Rock Solid Backpackers

Hostel
1140 Hinemoa street, Downtown Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand 3015

26 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rock Solid Backpackers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 95%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 07 May 2014

one of the best hostel i ever stayed! Free wifi, billard, table tennis, dvds and Xbox. Very clean and the staff was friendly. Next to a big indoor climbing wall ( just 12$ for hostel guest)

Beth Paxton
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals
77.1%
Beth would recommend this property 04 May 2014

The free pool table was a great addition. We could get wifi in our room. The kitchen was large and up-to-date.

89.4%
88 reviews Book Now 
3

Spa Lodge Backpackers

Hostel
1221 Amohau Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

79 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Spa Lodge Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 96% Facilities - 82% Safety - 87%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 28 February 2014

Looks like a hippie home. The 2 kitchens are good. The man at the réception is really really nice and helpfull

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 26 February 2014

This was a friendly, dependable place, and a wonderful addition to our travels. I'm only sad we couldn't stay longer.

88.9%
86 reviews Book Now 
4

YHA Rotorua

Hostel
1278 Haupapa St, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

81 out of 86 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Rotorua

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 96% Facilities - 84% Safety - 89%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 89%
Danielle Henry
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Danielle would recommend this property 02 February 2014

Everything about this property was great. For $100 a night I couldn't really complain. Had a fridge and jug with cups, a shower, and a television. Linda the lady on at night was really lovely, and very understanding. Would definitely stay again.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 02 January 2014

Very spacious, clean and friendly, the rooms as well as the communal areas. Everything can be easily reached by foot and there is the start of a thermal walk through the city right in front of the gates.

88.3%
156 reviews Book Now 
5

Crash Palace

Hostel
1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

136 out of 156 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Crash Palace

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 90% Facilities - 87% Safety - 88%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 84%
Geok Hian Laura Chia
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Geok Hian Laura would recommend this property 25 June 2014

Very friendly atmosphere and i also liked initiatives like free pasta and a list of free activities to do in Rotorua. Room had alot of power points which i thought was very thoughtful as now every traveller is bound to have a few devices that requires charging.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 25 May 2014

It was decorated with graffei that was amazing. Had very friendly vibe about it and stuff have planned stuff to do each nite.

87.4%
5 reviews Book Now 
6

Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Hostel
1193 fenton st, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 76% Safety - 92%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 10 June 2014

The location was brilliant - nice and central. The tours on offer were good too.

Elton Sint Jago
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Elton would recommend this property 09 March 2014

Awesome hostel, VERY nice staff…Kath, Jazz and Fraser are the best! There is free wifi, free pasta, free rice….lot's of movies to watch. Excellent hostel, nothing to complain at all!!! I stayed here twice, three nights each time and would stay here every-time I come back to Rotorua!

85.7%
39 reviews Book Now 
7

Astray Motel And Backpackers

3 star Hotel
1202 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

36 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Astray Motel And Backpackers

Atmosphere - 71% Staff - 92% Facilities - 79% Safety - 87%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
62.9%
Customer would recommend this property 30 January 2014

Okay accommodation. Rooms were small, but the beds were quite comfortable. Central location. Free Wifi! Very nice lady at the front desk.

Nick Cullen
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Nick would recommend this property 13 January 2014

Great location within minutes walk of all of the attractions around town and free parking on-site is great for a big town. Staff were lovely and really helpful. Four bed dorm was tiny, but felt really cosy with loads of space under the bunk for bags.

84.6%
57 reviews Book Now 
8

Blarneys Rock Backpackers

Hostel
1210 Tutanekai St, Rotorua, New Zealand 000

53 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Blarneys Rock Backpackers

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 84% Facilities - 80% Safety - 78%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 84%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 19 May 2014

Very cute hostel! I stayed 2 times! If I have to stay in Rotorua again I defenetly go back to this hostel <3

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 July 2013

The hostel was well furnished with many touches of home. The owners have put a lot of effort in because everything is quality, especially for a hostel. They go above and beyond to make your stay excellent, including an offering of free spices (so many I hadn't even heard of some before) and tea and coffee. The location is amazing and there is free parking around the corner if you can nab a spot in time. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and offered great advice on local activities.

83.1%
119 reviews Book Now 
9

Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Hostel
1201 Haupapa Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

93 out of 119 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 81% Facilities - 76% Safety - 80%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 01 July 2014

Central and easy to find, Paul on the front desk was super-welcoming and helped so much with local advice.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 04 May 2014

Accessible to public transport and commercial establishment and basic travellers need.

80.7%
65 reviews Book Now 
10

Rotorua Planet Backpackers

Hostel
1080 Eruera Street, PO Box 2099, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

51 out of 65 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rotorua Planet Backpackers

Atmosphere - 71% Staff - 86% Facilities - 78% Safety - 74%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 85%
Amanda Liaina
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals
100.0%
Amanda would recommend this property 02 February 2014

Relaxing and my husband and I felt at home instantly. Our host was great he showed he had in depth knowledge of Rotorua which really helped us. Pak n save is only a couple minuets walk from here. good standard of hygiene. Had everything we needing to cook and store our food. We had a room to ourselves which was what we booked so had no worries about leaving our stuff in the room. For just over $100 my husband and I got a room all to ourselves and had a great experience with Rotorua planet backpackers.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 01 November 2013

The host was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Very conveniently located within walking distance to supermarket and the Polynesian Spa.

Rotorua

13 Hostels from 12.57 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Rotorua hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Rotorua. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.