HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Spa Lodge Backpackers Rotorua Hostel

1221 Amohau Street, Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 84%

Location 96%

Safety 85%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Common Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rotorua?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 84%

Location 96%

Safety 85%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I like that there are several common rooms, and the center of the hostel is actually outside. Really quaint. Also I've never experienced such helpful and knowledgable staff before.

Disliked: Pretty old.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location and nice staff

Disliked: Little parking available, still can park nearby

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Just metres from the heart of the city but feels like you could be much further out as it is so peaceful. Love the fact they offer a two-bed dorm - perfect for solo travellers who can't quite stretch to a private room.

Disliked: Could have been slightly cleaner but not by much and was comparatively clean compared to other places I have stayed.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It is a cozy place and the staff are very helpful and friendly. They are well informed about the area and are more than welling to give directions. When I asked for directions, they provided me with a map on which they marked the possible routes that could take. I have seen do the same for other guests too. Excellent staff

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big communal area with space to relax on your own or with friends. Spa was a pretty cool thing for the evening as well.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly environment

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Looks like a hippie home.The 2 kitchens are good.The man at the réception is really really nice and helpfull

Disliked: My room looked like a prison room.I didn't feel safe, i can't say why.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: kindda old

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really friendly, helpful staff and guests, the hot spring hot tub!

Disliked: Some of the furniture is showing its age and the wifi is not free. Not a biggie, though.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was a friendly, dependable place, and a wonderful addition to our travels. I'm only sad we couldn't stay longer.

Disliked: We didn't have a toilet in our room. That kind of sucked. Everything else was great, though.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability