HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Rotorua hostels

Reviews of Spa Lodge Backpackers

Hostel | 1221 Amohau Street, Rotorua, New Zealand 3010

89.4% Overall Rating

79 out of 88 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/02/2014)

"Looks like a hippie home. The 2 kitchens are good. The man at the réception is really really nice and helpfull"

Read all Spa Lodge Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rotorua?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rotorua

Astray Motel And Backpackers
19.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.2% 40 reviews
Rock Solid Backpackers
11.67 USD

Hostel 92.0% 28 reviews
Blarneys Rock Backpackers
11.67 USD

Hostel 84.1% 58 reviews
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
11.28 USD

Hostel 83.1% 119 reviews
The Grand Hotel
19.45 USD

Hotel 76.3% 45 reviews
YHA Rotorua
17.12 USD

Hostel 88.9% 86 reviews
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
19.45 USD

Hostel 80.7% 65 reviews
BASE Rotorua, Hot Rock
15.56 USD

Hostel 76.1% 74 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

79 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Spa Lodge Backpackers'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly environment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: kindda old

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Looks like a hippie home. The 2 kitchens are good. The man at the réception is really really nice and helpfull

Disliked: My room looked like a prison room. I didn't feel safe, i can't say why.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a friendly, dependable place, and a wonderful addition to our travels. I'm only sad we couldn't stay longer.

Disliked: We didn't have a toilet in our room. That kind of sucked. Everything else was great, though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosanne de Vries

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Rosanne would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly, helpful staff and guests, the hot spring hot tub!

Disliked: Some of the furniture is showing its age and the wifi is not free. Not a biggie, though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lars Kristensson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 February 2014 Lars would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy environment, and free spa!

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Tilsted

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly and helpful staff was amazing, and their Xmas bbq was super cool

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was really great. Very friendly and extremely cosmopolitan.

Disliked: A very minor point - there was a shortage of cutlery in the kitchens at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, relaxed, very clean, friendly & helpful staff

Disliked: Not much, it was one of the better places we stayed in NZ.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, nice patio.

Disliked: Not overly clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central and close to shopping and restaurant.

Disliked: Guest should be informed to turn off lights if not using.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, a friendly greeting, and clean and tidy.

Disliked: Could feel the room shake when a truck past by!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELAINE HAMILTON

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2013 ELAINE would recommend this property

Liked: We were in Rotorua to ride the cycle tracks and we arrived in our bike gear...the laid back atmosphere made us feel very welcome, we fitted right in, we werent made to feel underdressed even tho we were a bit mud splashed!

Disliked: nothing...it was great!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stéphanie RYMKIEWICZ

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

06 December 2013 Stéphanie would recommend this property

Liked: tranquillité de l'auberge 2 cuisines très bon emplacement

Disliked: Stéphanie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

katrin goriupp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 katrin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!

Disliked: katrin left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessica Bayne

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 October 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing. Enthusiastic and wanting to help you to experience rotorua as much as you can.was great

Disliked: The bunk beds were uncomfortable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff & central location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 October 2013

Liked: Friendly staff. Spa hot bath. Large room.

Disliked: no toilet in private bathroom. No towels.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, good location, rooms and facilities were clean

Disliked: Needs an update, everything is just a little worn and tired

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Real friendly, helpful and available staff. Rooms and bed very comfortable. Great 'wallpaper' :) And best of all a real spa with muddy water and the health giving properties of sulphur-all free with the room rate. I'm visiting Rotorua again next week and have already booked.

Disliked: On 1 night some other people staying were a bit noisy- but not for long-just annoying.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and comfy. Had a nice feel to it.

Disliked: There was no hot water in my room for the shower and tap and I thought i had booked a private bathroom but there was only a shower and no toilet in my room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Kaity Crampton

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

22 September 2013 Kaity would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and even though I was late instead of just locking up and not worrying about me. They called to make sure I was on my way and waited up for me. Super employees!!!!

Disliked: Not enough pillows in the room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jingjing HU

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2013 Jingjing would recommend this property

Liked: Good service.

Disliked: Jingjing left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

anthony smith

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 July 2013 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: good all round value for money

Disliked: poor communication with manager

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

emily mcgarry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 emily would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to stay! The staff were friendly and the spa in the back is so cool. We were only in Rotoura for 1 night, but it looked as though booking trips and activities through the lodge could save you a bit of money, so it's probably worth waiting until you get there to book anything. We would definitely recommend this place :)

Disliked: Nothing


See all Rotorua hostels