HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Queenstown, New Zealand

98.5%
96 reviews Book Now 
1

Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Hostel
Level 1, 36 Camp St, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

94 out of 96 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 99% Facilities - 99% Safety - 97%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 98%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 05 June 2014

Absolutely amazing! Staff lovely, helpful tour at start and organised activities for me. Bathrooms modern and clean with excellent showers, kitchen very homely with plenty of kit, sociable eating area, bedrooms great- loads of plugs, comfy beds, good storage and free towel! Lovely lounge with comfy sofas & beanbags and great big tv plus big film selection for free. Reception lend out ipads, hair dryers, straighteners, gopro cameras, padlocks for lockers, you name it! Free wifi pretty decent although slowed down a couple of times. And unlimited which meant I could back all my photos up without worrying. Good luggage room with power points inside the lockers so you can charge your stuff while you're out. Evening activities great for meeting people. The hostel seems to foster a really sociable relaxed environment. I didn't want to leave!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 June 2014

Been travelling over the last 2 and half years and this has to be the best hostel I have stayed at! Extremely helpful and friendly staff, everything you could need at the hostel and a great vibe and friendly feel to the place.

95.4%
46 reviews Book Now 
2

Haka Lodge Queenstown

Hostel
6 Henry St, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

45 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Haka Lodge Queenstown

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 97% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 96%
jenny horsley
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
jenny would recommend this property 30 June 2014

The rooms were spacious and beds were comfy with curtains around for privacy. The staff were all amazing, so helpful and very friendly. Great location for town centre.

Sebastian Ramirez
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Sebastian would recommend this property 27 May 2014

I was sold on the individual power plugs and curtains! Beds were comfortable, wifi was free, and the staff were very nice and helpful.

94.9%
184 reviews Book Now 
3

Nomads Queenstown

Hostel
5 - 11 Church Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

165 out of 184 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nomads Queenstown

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 96% Facilities - 96% Safety - 97%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 92%
Hannah King
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Hannah would recommend this property 17 July 2014

The facilities are excellent and the staff go out of their way to make sure you have a good stay! The movie room is great and there are always things happening. This is the first time I have travelled by myself and nomads was my first stop in Queenstown and I had the most amazing time and can't recommend it highly enough.

Natascha Berden
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Natascha would recommend this property 16 July 2014

The people at the reception were very friendly and helpful, the showers, toilets and rooms were clean, comfortable beds, and the atmosphere was fresh and nice.

93.7%
192 reviews Book Now 
4

Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown

Hostel
Cnr of Lake Esplanade, and Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

185 out of 192 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 87% Safety - 92%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 93%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 June 2014

Had the best view of the lake from our room! The location was also ideal, far enough from town to get some peace and quiet but close enough to have a good time in town when you wanted to. The staff were super lovely as well.

Dafydd Pritchard
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Dafydd would recommend this property 14 June 2014

A very relaxed atmosphere, very helpful staff, good beds and all in a fantastic location!

93.4%
65 reviews Book Now 
5

Absoloot Value Accommodation

Apartment
50 Beach Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

62 out of 65 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Absoloot Value Accommodation

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 93% Facilities - 89% Safety - 95%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 92%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 19 July 2014

AVA is centrally located, with amazing scenic views. It is about a minutes walk to Shotover St. Really good heating system and wifi, which is a plus during the cold weather. Friendly staff and housekeeping to clean your room everyday. Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again!

Thomas van Dijk
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Thomas would recommend this property 24 March 2014

It is a perfect place. It is a bit further away from the bars (which gives you the chance of a good night of sleep) and still is very centrally located. I loved staying here, also because I wasn't aware I would get free Wifi. I would recommend this place to anyone.

89.5%
135 reviews Book Now 
6

The Last Resort

Hostel
6 Memorial Street, PO Box 1237, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

125 out of 135 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Last Resort

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 83% Facilities - 90% Safety - 92%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 84%
adam wartman
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
adam would recommend this property 20 April 2014

Awesome place, super clean, comfortable and non-sqeaky beds, towel, breakfast and coffee included! Location couldn't get much better and the keyless system makes coming and going really easy. Highly recommended and one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 21 February 2014

Newly 6 digit codes locks at main door and each room, more a house than a hostel, very clean. Towel and extra blanket included. Free breakfast.

89.1%
88 reviews Book Now 
7

YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Hostel
88-90 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

78 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 89%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 88%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 01 May 2014

Its a nice spot for the Queenstownarea, near the City Centre and a good view on the Lake. Its a low price for the Area with very good and clean facilitys.

Ashley Caddick
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Ashley would recommend this property 24 April 2014

Has everything you need in a hoste. Best kitchen I have used in my time in New Zealand. Beds aren't a that creaky and noisy compared to some.

86.3%
69 reviews Book Now 
8

Hippo Lodge

Hostel
4 Anderson Heights, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

64 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hippo Lodge

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 93% Facilities - 83% Safety - 88%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 85%
Sinead Mattock
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Sinead would recommend this property 04 February 2014

Everything. We booked a budget double and were upgraded to a better one due to space. When we booked to return they gave us the better one at the same price, so another upgrade! The staff were really helpful, and took the time to explain the different activities and prices to us. Also has incredible views down over Queenstown,

emily mcgarry
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
emily would recommend this property 06 May 2013

We loved our stay at Hippo Lodge! It has a great atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. You get given a bit of free internet for every night you stay, which was cool, and the location was great (although you do have to walk up a bit of a steep hill to get to it!). We would definitely recommend this place, and would stay here again.

85.5%
80 reviews Book Now 
9

YHA Queenstown Central

Hostel
48A Shotover Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

76 out of 80 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Queenstown Central

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 85% Facilities - 84% Safety - 86%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 81%
Ruth Reynolds
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
97.1%
Ruth would recommend this property 10 January 2013

This was our first stay in a YHA and it was very good. We had a triple room for two of us so it had a double and single bed and a good size ensuite. There was a kettle in the room and a flat screen TV. It did get quite stuffy in the room with no air con but the windows opened a little. The kitchen and communal seating area was spotless. Lots of cooking equipment and crockery and good recycling facilities. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. One word of warning, take the door code with you as the door is locked at 10pm with no other way in!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 30 July 2012

Really good position, across the rd from bus transfers, middle of town. Rooms were a nice size, clean and tidy, heater & bathroom were nice. $1 for 15 mins internet was pretty reasonable. Kitchen & eating areas were quite nice, lots of board games and stuff too :)

83.8%
9 reviews Book Now 
10

Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter

Hostel
4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 91% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 82%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 May 2014

It had a really cosy country farmhouse feel with its open fire, free soup and baked delights. The staff, particularly the new manager, were helpful, informative and kind.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
62.9%
Customer would recommend this property 10 March 2014

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The hostel is in a good location, close to supermarkets, restaurants and the airport bus stop. They have a luggage storage room we used to keep our big suitcases while we traveled around.

Queenstown

18 Hostels from 21.36 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Queenstown hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Queenstown. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.