HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Queenstown, New Zealand

97.8%
85 reviews Book Now 
1

Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Hostel
Level 1, 36 Camp St, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

83 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 99% Facilities - 98% Safety - 95%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 98%
Tim Crooke
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Tim would recommend this property 03 April 2014

Services on offer from this hostel are unbelievable. 2 pillows on each bed. Great to stay in a hostel that was set up by a real backpacker. Have booked to stay there again

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 22 March 2014

Right in the centre of town, cosy, the balconies are great, beds are awesome, staff are really helpful, all the facilitates are excellent, activities are excellent.

96.0%
38 reviews Book Now 
2

Haka Lodge Queenstown

Hostel
6 Henry St, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

38 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Haka Lodge Queenstown

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 97% Facilities - 94% Safety - 97%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 96%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 10 April 2014

Very clean any airy. Bed sheets so comfortable. Modern lounge/ kitchen. Staff were so friendly.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 22 March 2014

The man on duty was super friendly and helpful - felt at home right away! The lounge is clean and comfortable (some other hostels have shockingly old and dirty couches).

94.3%
61 reviews Book Now 
3

Absoloot Value Accommodation

Apartment
50 Beach Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

58 out of 61 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Absoloot Value Accommodation

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 94% Facilities - 90% Safety - 95%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 94%
Thomas van Dijk
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Thomas would recommend this property 24 March 2014

It is a perfect place. It is a bit further away from the bars (which gives you the chance of a good night of sleep) and still is very centrally located. I loved staying here, also because I wasn't aware I would get free Wifi. I would recommend this place to anyone.

fleur kloppenberg
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
97.1%
fleur would recommend this property 22 January 2014

Perfect location in city centre. Magnificent view from our windows. Luxury room.

93.3%
170 reviews Book Now 
4

Nomads Queenstown

Hostel
5 - 11 Church Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

151 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nomads Queenstown

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 96% Facilities - 92% Safety - 92%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
17 February 2014

The place was always clean, the rooms are an ok size, the staff (all backpackers themself) are super happy, they have a ton of activities (its Queenstown after all) and hand out flyers for free or reduced drinks at night.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 17 November 2013

Great location. Lovely room with balcony (was in a private double), great power shower too!

92.8%
189 reviews Book Now 
5

Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown

Hostel
Cnr of Lake Esplanade, and Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

182 out of 189 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 84% Safety - 91%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 92%
Katrina Lawton
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife
91.4%
Katrina would recommend this property 15 February 2014

It was honestly described on the website. the rooms were comfortable and clean.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 02 October 2013

The stunning views! It is all glass so you open the curtains directly on to the lake and mountains! Also super clean and very helpful friendly staff!

89.6%
86 reviews Book Now 
6

YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Hostel
88-90 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

76 out of 86 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 90% Safety - 89%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
71.4%
27 February 2014

internet is very expensive, the place seems to have so many rules, vibe was okay. having to pay for wifi, day by day, at a backpackers sucks. most of the staff seemed bored an uninterested and were'nt so friendly. didn't even get a by when I left and said goodbye myself?!

Emma Wade
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Emma would recommend this property 12 September 2013

The room was warm, the bathrooms were very clean, the views were fantastic, the kitchens were well equipped, the staff were helpful, the location is great for travellers who don't want to be in the noisy centre. I liked being able to buy essential food items from the reception staff and the little seating areas were really cosy!

87.7%
134 reviews Book Now 
7

The Last Resort

Hostel
6 Memorial Street, PO Box 1237, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

124 out of 134 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Last Resort

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 80% Facilities - 88% Safety - 91%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 83%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 21 February 2014

Newly 6 digit codes locks at main door and each room, more a house than a hostel, very clean. Towel and extra blanket included. Free breakfast.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 20 January 2013

Homely place in a good location. Clean and secure, with some free wi fi and breakfast.

86.3%
69 reviews Book Now 
8

Hippo Lodge

Hostel
4 Anderson Heights, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

64 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hippo Lodge

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 93% Facilities - 83% Safety - 88%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 85%
Sinead Mattock
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Sinead would recommend this property 04 February 2014

Everything. We booked a budget double and were upgraded to a better one due to space. When we booked to return they gave us the better one at the same price, so another upgrade! The staff were really helpful, and took the time to explain the different activities and prices to us. Also has incredible views down over Queenstown,

emily mcgarry
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
emily would recommend this property 06 May 2013

We loved our stay at Hippo Lodge! It has a great atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. You get given a bit of free internet for every night you stay, which was cool, and the location was great (although you do have to walk up a bit of a steep hill to get to it!). We would definitely recommend this place, and would stay here again.

85.8%
79 reviews Book Now 
9

YHA Queenstown Central

Hostel
48A Shotover Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

75 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Queenstown Central

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 87% Facilities - 84% Safety - 87%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 80%
Ruth Reynolds
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
97.1%
Ruth would recommend this property 10 January 2013

This was our first stay in a YHA and it was very good. We had a triple room for two of us so it had a double and single bed and a good size ensuite. There was a kettle in the room and a flat screen TV. It did get quite stuffy in the room with no air con but the windows opened a little. The kitchen and communal seating area was spotless. Lots of cooking equipment and crockery and good recycling facilities. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. One word of warning, take the door code with you as the door is locked at 10pm with no other way in!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 30 July 2012

Really good position, across the rd from bus transfers, middle of town. Rooms were a nice size, clean and tidy, heater & bathroom were nice. $1 for 15 mins internet was pretty reasonable. Kitchen & eating areas were quite nice, lots of board games and stuff too :)

78.6%
6 reviews Book Now 
10

Sir Cedric's Bungi Backpackers

Hostel
15 Stanley Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

5 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sir Cedric's Bungi Backpackers

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 90% Facilities - 73% Safety - 70%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 70% Value - 76%
Corrin Walters
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Corrin would recommend this property 18 March 2014

A great hostel that has everything you need as a backpacker and right near the town centre. Free soup in the evenings.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 31 January 2014

Very Relaxed, and not as chaotic as most of the other hostel/ backpackers in Queenstown. Friendly staff too.

Queenstown

17 Hostels from 21.44 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Queenstown hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Queenstown. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.