We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Queenstown, New Zealand

98.6%
99 reviews Book Now 
1

Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Hostel
Level 1, 36 Camp St, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

97 out of 99 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 99% Facilities - 99% Safety - 98%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 98%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 12 November 2014

This was the best hostel I have ever stayed in! A welcoming place, central location, free things to use and borrow, super clean...I have nothing to complain about!

Katherine Beck
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Katherine would recommend this property 29 August 2014

The second I checked in, Lisa the receptionist was so welcoming and friendly. She gave me a tour, showed me to my room and gave me loads of info on the local area. I went back later to ask about tours and she knew everything about them. So friendly and helpful. But not pushy to sell the tours from their hostel which makes me want to book through them even more! I have another 6 nights there and can't wait to get back. It feels like a really warm and cosy home with a close family. I am travelling alone and made friends quickly because we were all relaxing in the lounge area which is a perfect place to meet other people.

95.9%
52 reviews Book Now 
2

Haka Lodge Queenstown

Hostel
6 Henry St, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

51 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Haka Lodge Queenstown

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 99% Facilities - 92% Safety - 95%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 99% Value - 95%
Customer review
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 20 February 2015

I liked the privacy curtains, lights and power sockets for every bed. So very handy! Also liked the chilled out vibe of the place -rare in Queenstown! Decor was also lovely and the showers were nice and clean. Overall it was pretty outstanding and really good value.

Joseph Nieleszeruk
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Shopping
100.0%
Joseph would recommend this property 30 January 2015

Clean, very homey feel, nice staff, comfortable beds, free wifi nice bathrooms and kitchens

93.6%
70 reviews Book Now 
3

Absoloot Value Accommodation

Apartment
50 Beach Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

67 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Absoloot Value Accommodation

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 94% Facilities - 90% Safety - 93%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 93%
Katharine Smurthwaite
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
100.0%
Katharine would recommend this property 27 August 2014

Great location, fab room (private double). Amazing view of lake. Really good value!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 19 July 2014

AVA is centrally located, with amazing scenic views. It is about a minutes walk to Shotover St. Really good heating system and wifi, which is a plus during the cold weather. Friendly staff and housekeeping to clean your room everyday. Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again!

92.9%
196 reviews Book Now 
4

Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown

Hostel
Cnr of Lake Esplanade, and Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

189 out of 196 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 95% Facilities - 86% Safety - 93%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 93%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 16 February 2015

I loved that is was close to the center of things but not so close that I could't sleep at night.

Anis Ibrahim
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Anis would recommend this property 25 December 2014

The location is perfect- right on the lakefront and not too far from town but away from the centre, which I appreciated. It's also two minutes away from a convenience store where you can buy bread, milk, etc, although there's a wider choice at the Night 'n Day store in town.

91.7%
191 reviews Book Now 
5

Nomads Queenstown

Hostel
5 - 11 Church Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

171 out of 191 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nomads Queenstown

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 92% Facilities - 91% Safety - 94%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 88%
sarah hewitt
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
sarah would recommend this property 02 February 2015

Room was spacious and had a balcony, bathrooms were cleaned throughout the day. Staff friendly, good cooking facilities. Free dinner a nice option.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
65.7%
17 January 2015

Good location near the beach, travel desk that could help you book things, free bread with spreads for breakfast.

89.5%
135 reviews Book Now 
6

The Last Resort

Hostel
6 Memorial Street, PO Box 1237, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

125 out of 135 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Last Resort

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 83% Facilities - 90% Safety - 92%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 84%
adam wartman
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
adam would recommend this property 20 April 2014

Awesome place, super clean, comfortable and non-sqeaky beds, towel, breakfast and coffee included! Location couldn't get much better and the keyless system makes coming and going really easy. Highly recommended and one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 21 February 2014

Newly 6 digit codes locks at main door and each room, more a house than a hostel, very clean. Towel and extra blanket included. Free breakfast.

88.3%
92 reviews Book Now 
7

YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Hostel
88-90 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

82 out of 92 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 91% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 87%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 February 2015

Free wifi, although it was due to a problem with the password that it was free. Normally you probably need to pay for it..

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 01 May 2014

Its a nice spot for the Queenstownarea, near the City Centre and a good view on the Lake. Its a low price for the Area with very good and clean facilitys.

86.9%
17 reviews Book Now 
8

Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter

Hostel
4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

16 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 94% Facilities - 82% Safety - 82%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 87%
Sam Greening
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Sam would recommend this property 09 February 2015

Great property, good facilities, brilliant powerful showers which was amazing! Friendly staff and great location

Siret Matsina
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Siret would recommend this property 30 July 2014

I think it's the best hostel I've ever stayed! starting off with amazing staff. everything is clean, good facilities, good activities on offer and they will make the reservations for you. free soup!!! and hot spa!!!! location is good!

86.3%
69 reviews Book Now 
9

Hippo Lodge

Hostel
4 Anderson Heights, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

64 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hippo Lodge

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 93% Facilities - 83% Safety - 88%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 85%
Sinead Mattock
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Sinead would recommend this property 04 February 2014

Everything. We booked a budget double and were upgraded to a better one due to space. When we booked to return they gave us the better one at the same price, so another upgrade! The staff were really helpful, and took the time to explain the different activities and prices to us. Also has incredible views down over Queenstown,

emily mcgarry
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
emily would recommend this property 06 May 2013

We loved our stay at Hippo Lodge! It has a great atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. You get given a bit of free internet for every night you stay, which was cool, and the location was great (although you do have to walk up a bit of a steep hill to get to it!). We would definitely recommend this place, and would stay here again.

85.5%
80 reviews Book Now 
10

YHA Queenstown Central

Hostel
48A Shotover Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

76 out of 80 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Queenstown Central

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 85% Facilities - 84% Safety - 86%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 81%
Ruth Reynolds
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
97.1%
Ruth would recommend this property 10 January 2013

This was our first stay in a YHA and it was very good. We had a triple room for two of us so it had a double and single bed and a good size ensuite. There was a kettle in the room and a flat screen TV. It did get quite stuffy in the room with no air con but the windows opened a little. The kitchen and communal seating area was spotless. Lots of cooking equipment and crockery and good recycling facilities. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. One word of warning, take the door code with you as the door is locked at 10pm with no other way in!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 30 July 2012

Really good position, across the rd from bus transfers, middle of town. Rooms were a nice size, clean and tidy, heater & bathroom were nice. $1 for 15 mins internet was pretty reasonable. Kitchen & eating areas were quite nice, lots of board games and stuff too :)

Queenstown

17 Hostels from 18.89 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Queenstown hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Queenstown. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.