We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Queenstown, New Zealand

99.0%
111 reviews Book Now 
1

Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Hostel
Level 1, 36 Camp St, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

109 out of 111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Atmosphere - 99% Staff - 97% Facilities - 99% Safety - 99%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 98%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 21 August 2015

Everything: location, staff VERY helpful ( which is not that common) will try their best to arrange you. Very secure, no chances to get stolen stuff. Cleaness, bathroom and showers are awesome. Very nice athmosphere. The owner is a great guy. Loved it, best hostel by far

David O'Connor
Alone
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
David would recommend this property 05 August 2015

The property was well thought, the staff were extremely friendly and had a great culture going. Everything from including towels to having USB ports at every bed. The owner of the hostel is heavily invested in making sure that it is a success, and he is more than happy to chat in the dining room about everything from music to travel. As a solo traveller, I cannot recommend this place enough, easily the best hostel I have ever stayed in.

96.7%
60 reviews Book Now 
2

Haka Lodge Queenstown

Hostel
6 Henry St, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

59 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Haka Lodge Queenstown

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 100% Facilities - 93% Safety - 96%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 99% Value - 94%
Tomasz Ludwiczek
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Tomasz would recommend this property 25 June 2015

Best hostel i've stayed in. Well equipped, clean, comfortable beds. Even though it was fully booked during my stay it didn't feel over-crowded at all. Very friendly and helpfull staff.

Madleen Viol
Alone
Visiting friends or family
94.3%
Madleen would recommend this property 02 June 2015

Really quiet, very helpful staff, clean facilities, 2kitchens and different rooms to relax (lounge, quietzone,..)

92.7%
72 reviews Book Now 
3

Absoloot Value Accommodation

Apartment
50 Beach Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

69 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Absoloot Value Accommodation

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 94% Facilities - 88% Safety - 93%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 92%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 14 April 2015

I love that you let you decorate a tile to go on their wall! So rad, and such a cool feature in the stairway to get to look at everyone else's tiles. The staff were friendly and helpful too, and the location is the best - except for the nighttime noise unfortunately. Also love that they give you free towels, and the double bed bunks are awesome for the people who are lucky enough to score them.

Elena Gazina
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Elena would recommend this property 04 March 2015

The hostel looks recently renovated; we stayed in an en-suite private room, which was nicely painted, with a few colourful paintings on walls; we had a view on the lake; the bed was comfortable, and linen and towels immaculate; everything was very clean and all appliances in working condition.

92.5%
200 reviews Book Now 
4

Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown

Hostel
Cnr of Lake Esplanade, and Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

193 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 94% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 92%
jordan Wolff
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
97.1%
jordan would recommend this property 13 August 2015

Best backpackers in queenstown! More like a budget resort! Can't wait too be back next year!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 16 February 2015

I loved that is was close to the center of things but not so close that I could't sleep at night.

91.1%
199 reviews Book Now 
5

Nomads Queenstown

Hostel
5 - 11 Church Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

179 out of 199 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nomads Queenstown

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 91% Facilities - 89% Safety - 94%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 17 August 2015

It was really cozy and modern. Felt more like a hotel than a hostel in a good way! The staff were really friendly!

Megan Shepherd
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Megan would recommend this property 12 August 2015

Loved our stay here it was awesome. Definately be staying here again when I come back to Queenstown.

89.5%
26 reviews Book Now 
6

Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter

Hostel
4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

25 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 93% Facilities - 86% Safety - 84%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 92%
Alisia Jedrzejczak
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
88.6%
Alisia would recommend this property 13 August 2015

Good location close enough to everything, nice communal lounge area with other room in one building.

Ross Kinchen
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Ross would recommend this property 28 June 2015

The place makes you feal at home. Nice common area where you can meet other guest. Plenty of wifi throughout the place.

88.9%
95 reviews Book Now 
7

YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Hostel
88-90 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

85 out of 95 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 91% Facilities - 88% Safety - 89%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 87%
Daragh Coulter
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Daragh would recommend this property 13 August 2015

Staff were very helpful and willing to let me store luggage for three days AFTER I had checked out, for free.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 February 2015

Free wifi, although it was due to a problem with the password that it was free. Normally you probably need to pay for it..

88.3%
82 reviews Book Now 
8

YHA Queenstown Central

Hostel
48A Shotover Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

78 out of 82 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Queenstown Central

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 87% Facilities - 88% Safety - 89%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 84%
Ruth Reynolds
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
97.1%
Ruth would recommend this property 10 January 2013

This was our first stay in a YHA and it was very good. We had a triple room for two of us so it had a double and single bed and a good size ensuite. There was a kettle in the room and a flat screen TV. It did get quite stuffy in the room with no air con but the windows opened a little. The kitchen and communal seating area was spotless. Lots of cooking equipment and crockery and good recycling facilities. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. One word of warning, take the door code with you as the door is locked at 10pm with no other way in!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 30 July 2012

Really good position, across the rd from bus transfers, middle of town. Rooms were a nice size, clean and tidy, heater & bathroom were nice. $1 for 15 mins internet was pretty reasonable. Kitchen & eating areas were quite nice, lots of board games and stuff too :)

87.2%
136 reviews Book Now 
9

The Last Resort

Hostel
6 Memorial Street, PO Box 1237, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

125 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Last Resort

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 80% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 84%
adam wartman
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
adam would recommend this property 20 April 2014

Awesome place, super clean, comfortable and non-sqeaky beds, towel, breakfast and coffee included! Location couldn't get much better and the keyless system makes coming and going really easy. Highly recommended and one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 21 February 2014

Newly 6 digit codes locks at main door and each room, more a house than a hostel, very clean. Towel and extra blanket included. Free breakfast.

86.3%
69 reviews Book Now 
10

Hippo Lodge

Hostel
4 Anderson Heights, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

64 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hippo Lodge

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 93% Facilities - 83% Safety - 88%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 85%
Sinead Mattock
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Sinead would recommend this property 04 February 2014

Everything. We booked a budget double and were upgraded to a better one due to space. When we booked to return they gave us the better one at the same price, so another upgrade! The staff were really helpful, and took the time to explain the different activities and prices to us. Also has incredible views down over Queenstown,

emily mcgarry
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
emily would recommend this property 06 May 2013

We loved our stay at Hippo Lodge! It has a great atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. You get given a bit of free internet for every night you stay, which was cool, and the location was great (although you do have to walk up a bit of a steep hill to get to it!). We would definitely recommend this place, and would stay here again.

Queenstown

17 Hostels from 16.77 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Queenstown hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Queenstown. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.