We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Queenstown, New Zealand

98.6%
99 reviews Book Now 
1

Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Hostel
Level 1, 36 Camp St, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

97 out of 99 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 99% Facilities - 99% Safety - 98%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 98%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 12 November 2014

This was the best hostel I have ever stayed in! A welcoming place, central location, free things to use and borrow, super clean...I have nothing to complain about!

Katherine Beck
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Katherine would recommend this property 29 August 2014

The second I checked in, Lisa the receptionist was so welcoming and friendly. She gave me a tour, showed me to my room and gave me loads of info on the local area. I went back later to ask about tours and she knew everything about them. So friendly and helpful. But not pushy to sell the tours from their hostel which makes me want to book through them even more! I have another 6 nights there and can't wait to get back. It feels like a really warm and cosy home with a close family. I am travelling alone and made friends quickly because we were all relaxing in the lounge area which is a perfect place to meet other people.

95.4%
46 reviews Book Now 
2

Haka Lodge Queenstown

Hostel
6 Henry St, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

45 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Haka Lodge Queenstown

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 97% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 96%
jenny horsley
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
jenny would recommend this property 30 June 2014

The rooms were spacious and beds were comfy with curtains around for privacy. The staff were all amazing, so helpful and very friendly. Great location for town centre.

Sebastian Ramirez
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Sebastian would recommend this property 27 May 2014

I was sold on the individual power plugs and curtains! Beds were comfortable, wifi was free, and the staff were very nice and helpful.

94.1%
187 reviews Book Now 
3

Nomads Queenstown

Hostel
5 - 11 Church Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

168 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nomads Queenstown

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 96% Facilities - 93% Safety - 97%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Ben Wilson
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Ben would recommend this property 20 August 2014

I met some amazing people at the hostel, and the facilities were always kept clean.

Hannah King
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Hannah would recommend this property 17 July 2014

The facilities are excellent and the staff go out of their way to make sure you have a good stay! The movie room is great and there are always things happening. This is the first time I have travelled by myself and nomads was my first stop in Queenstown and I had the most amazing time and can't recommend it highly enough.

93.7%
68 reviews Book Now 
4

Absoloot Value Accommodation

Apartment
50 Beach Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

65 out of 68 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Absoloot Value Accommodation

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 94% Facilities - 90% Safety - 94%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 93%
Katharine Smurthwaite
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
100.0%
Katharine would recommend this property 27 August 2014

Great location, fab room (private double). Amazing view of lake. Really good value!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 19 July 2014

AVA is centrally located, with amazing scenic views. It is about a minutes walk to Shotover St. Really good heating system and wifi, which is a plus during the cold weather. Friendly staff and housekeeping to clean your room everyday. Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again!

93.3%
193 reviews Book Now 
5

Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown

Hostel
Cnr of Lake Esplanade, and Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

186 out of 193 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 95% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 93%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 June 2014

Had the best view of the lake from our room! The location was also ideal, far enough from town to get some peace and quiet but close enough to have a good time in town when you wanted to. The staff were super lovely as well.

Dafydd Pritchard
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Dafydd would recommend this property 14 June 2014

A very relaxed atmosphere, very helpful staff, good beds and all in a fantastic location!

89.5%
135 reviews Book Now 
6

The Last Resort

Hostel
6 Memorial Street, PO Box 1237, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

125 out of 135 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Last Resort

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 83% Facilities - 90% Safety - 92%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 84%
adam wartman
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
adam would recommend this property 20 April 2014

Awesome place, super clean, comfortable and non-sqeaky beds, towel, breakfast and coffee included! Location couldn't get much better and the keyless system makes coming and going really easy. Highly recommended and one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 21 February 2014

Newly 6 digit codes locks at main door and each room, more a house than a hostel, very clean. Towel and extra blanket included. Free breakfast.

88.9%
90 reviews Book Now 
7

YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Hostel
88-90 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

80 out of 90 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 89%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 88%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 01 May 2014

Its a nice spot for the Queenstownarea, near the City Centre and a good view on the Lake. Its a low price for the Area with very good and clean facilitys.

Ashley Caddick
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Ashley would recommend this property 24 April 2014

Has everything you need in a hoste. Best kitchen I have used in my time in New Zealand. Beds aren't a that creaky and noisy compared to some.

86.3%
69 reviews Book Now 
8

Hippo Lodge

Hostel
4 Anderson Heights, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

64 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hippo Lodge

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 93% Facilities - 83% Safety - 88%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 85%
Sinead Mattock
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Sinead would recommend this property 04 February 2014

Everything. We booked a budget double and were upgraded to a better one due to space. When we booked to return they gave us the better one at the same price, so another upgrade! The staff were really helpful, and took the time to explain the different activities and prices to us. Also has incredible views down over Queenstown,

emily mcgarry
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
emily would recommend this property 06 May 2013

We loved our stay at Hippo Lodge! It has a great atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. You get given a bit of free internet for every night you stay, which was cool, and the location was great (although you do have to walk up a bit of a steep hill to get to it!). We would definitely recommend this place, and would stay here again.

85.5%
80 reviews Book Now 
9

YHA Queenstown Central

Hostel
48A Shotover Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

76 out of 80 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Queenstown Central

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 85% Facilities - 84% Safety - 86%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 81%
Ruth Reynolds
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
97.1%
Ruth would recommend this property 10 January 2013

This was our first stay in a YHA and it was very good. We had a triple room for two of us so it had a double and single bed and a good size ensuite. There was a kettle in the room and a flat screen TV. It did get quite stuffy in the room with no air con but the windows opened a little. The kitchen and communal seating area was spotless. Lots of cooking equipment and crockery and good recycling facilities. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. One word of warning, take the door code with you as the door is locked at 10pm with no other way in!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 30 July 2012

Really good position, across the rd from bus transfers, middle of town. Rooms were a nice size, clean and tidy, heater & bathroom were nice. $1 for 15 mins internet was pretty reasonable. Kitchen & eating areas were quite nice, lots of board games and stuff too :)

85.2%
12 reviews Book Now 
10

Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter

Hostel
4 Isle Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

11 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 91% Facilities - 81% Safety - 80%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 85%
Siret Matsina
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Siret would recommend this property 30 July 2014

I think it's the best hostel I've ever stayed! starting off with amazing staff. everything is clean, good facilities, good activities on offer and they will make the reservations for you. free soup!!! and hot spa!!!! location is good!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 May 2014

It had a really cosy country farmhouse feel with its open fire, free soup and baked delights. The staff, particularly the new manager, were helpful, informative and kind.

Queenstown

18 Hostels from 18.67 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Queenstown hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Queenstown. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.