HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Last Resort

Hostel | 6 Memorial Street, PO Box 1237, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

89.5% Overall Rating

125 out of 135 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/04/2014)

adam wartman thinks…

"Awesome place, super clean, comfortable and non-sqeaky beds, towel, breakfast and coffee included! Location couldn't get much better and the keyless system makes coming and going really easy. Highly…"

Read all The Last Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Office Hours: From 10:00 to 19:00. Arrivals must be between the hours of 12:00 until 19:00 unless with prior arrangement. Please note, as with most hostels, there is a 48-cancellation policy. Cancellation within 24 hours attracts a charge equal to that of the first night of stay for the booking. All subsequent days booked are cancelled with no charge.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Queenstown

Adventure Queenstown Hostel
25.50 USD

Hostel 98.5% 96 reviews
Haka Lodge Queenstown
24.65 USD

Hostel 95.4% 46 reviews
Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter
22.10 USD

Hostel 85.1% 10 reviews
YHA Queenstown Central
27.62 USD

Hostel 85.5% 80 reviews
Base Queenstown
22.95 USD

Hostel 73.8% 141 reviews
Hippo Lodge
24.65 USD

Hostel 86.3% 69 reviews
Sir Cedric's Bungi Backpackers
21.25 USD

Hostel 78.6% 6 reviews
Absoloot Value Accommodation
24.65 USD

Apartment 93.4% 65 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

125 out of 135 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Last Resort'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 101 of 102 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam wartman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014 adam would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place, super clean, comfortable and non-sqeaky beds, towel, breakfast and coffee included! Location couldn't get much better and the keyless system makes coming and going really easy. Highly recommended and one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at.

Disliked: adam left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Newly 6 digit codes locks at main door and each room, more a house than a hostel, very clean. Towel and extra blanket included. Free breakfast.

Disliked: Staff has a lot on their hands since its only 1 person at a time, seembed to be very stressed out. Very professional though. Rooms werde okay, just my bunk bed was the squeakiest bed ever, wouldnt want to move a lot during the night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homely place in a good location. Clean and secure, with some free wi fi and breakfast.

Disliked: Overall would not want to find anything to dislike as enjoyed my stay there, if anything would say that reception availability would be better if open even just a little longer (either in morning or evening).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice set-up. Dog is a nice extra!

Disliked: Noise of people walking about upstairs etc.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

LUCA ISAIA FANTONI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2011 LUCA ISAIA would recommend this property

Liked: More like a house than a hostel, very friendly people and receptionist, free internet, fantastic television with heaps of new movies, .. good good place!

Disliked: no lockers, but you don't really need those. NO crazy people there, Everybody left their laptop on the shared area table, and it was still there when they did come back. Maybe would be better work on the shower at the 1st floor!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011

Liked: The location was very handy - and it looked nice from the outside, with its little footbridge over a stream.

Disliked: Poor staff hours (other than check in, I don't think I was at the hostel at all when reception was open - and that was with me keeping far from super-late or super-early hours), the advertised wi-fi was not available (having no print outs of the log-in info, the manager promised to get the info to me later that day - but never did so before I left), and noisy and annoying fellow guests (not the hostel's fault, of course, but even so, it diminished the experience).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Hatchard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: There's lots of things to like... The hotel style bed linen is a really wonderful touch. The security is top-notch. Free tea and coffee, free internet and the location is also brilliant; right in the centre of everything.

Disliked: I got my dates a bit confused and couldn't make the first night of my stay. On the website it states that 'like most other hostels we have a 48 hour cancellation policy.' This is rubbish! All hostels I've stayed in have a 24 hour cancellation policy so I wasn't too happy about having to pay for my first night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was by far the best hostel I have stayed at during my travels. Little touches that make a difference inlcuding a mini crunchie on your pillow, personalised welcome note, good shower, very tidy all of the time, brilliant choice of dvd and tv area, free internet, amazing location. Couldn't ask for more, and the Staff are brilliant beyond belief.

Disliked: leaving

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jani Lindberg

Alone

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

29 September 2010 Jani would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great staff (thanks Matt!), met great new friends and just all around had an awesome time at this hostel and in Queenstown! Highly recommend!

Disliked: Nothing really...it was great!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nigel Murray

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

07 September 2010 Nigel would recommend this property

Liked: Free Internet, Free Breaky, Quiet and Great Location

Disliked: No Butter for Toast,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Walford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: This was an absoultly AMAZING hostel. The best i have stayed in queenstown by far. Really nice people, good location, really good friendly atmosphere which means you get talking to everyone who is staying there. PLUS 2 pilliows!!!!! Loads of DVD's, free hot chocolte and internet. I literally could not speak more highly of a hostel.

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2010

Liked: Free internet and breakfast

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms, kitchen stuff left everywhere. Dfficult entry to property and bedroom. Tiny dorm room - really cramed in. Staff only on desk a few hours a day. Arrived and had to wait 2 1/2 hours for staff to come off lunch break at 5pm to check in

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ashley Cook

20 June 2010 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly characterful place, reached by a tiny bridge! Felt much more like a home than a hostel - and the properly made up beds meant I had the best nights sleep in ages!

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nic Allen

18 April 2010 Nic would recommend this property

Liked: Best atmosphere of any hostel in NZ!

Disliked: Nic left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Polly Williams

05 April 2010 Polly would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and always willing to check out activities and call ahead to find out ticket prices, opening times etc for you. The hostel itself is very cosy with only 18 beds, a small lounge with massive comfy sofas, big flat-screen tv with lots of free dvds to watch, a large wooden kitchen table and good sized kitchen-feels very homely. The only negative points I have are that there are only 2 showers and toilets for 18 people which means you can have to wait a while for a shower. But I think they are in the middle of renovations so there maybe more in the future. The rooms have key pad locks which are quite noisy and as I'm a light sleeper I woke up everytime someone came in the room from the door noise. Also I booked through hostelbookers and paid a deposit and when I arrived I was charged more than I thought. The lady on reception explained that it was because I wasn't a member. However when I checked my paperwork later I realised that I paid the deposit again. So check the amount you pay when you check in to avoid this happening. However, these are very small points. Overall the hostel was very comfy and friendly.

Disliked: Polly left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rocio Monge

27 January 2010 Rocio would recommend this property

Liked: The second night there it just felt like home.

Disliked: Rocio left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place, maybe just one more toilet would be a good idea.Super staff, a big family, perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karol Gajda

24 November 2009 Karol would recommend this property

Liked: Out of the 20 or so hostels I've rated I'm pretty sure The Last Resort is the only one that has received a 100% from me. It's the cleanest, nicest, friendliest hostel you will find. I don't know if I can put it any better than that. :) Free computers, free wifi, awesome movie collection, free breakfast, great facilities, great people, and an awesome dog Cocco!

Disliked: Karol left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people. Free internet including wi-fi! Free breakfast! Unlike other hostels in NZ, they don't nickel and dime you for everything. Great set-up and TV room. Great place...must come back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great small hostel which feels like your staying at a friend's house. There is no bar but everyone was friendly while I was there, talked to each other, and went out at night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hoa Ngoc Vy Tran

26 July 2009 Hoa Ngoc Vy would recommend this property

Liked: I signed the guest book at the hostel; however we were meant to leave today to go to Mount Cook, we had booked and paid for accomodation at Mount Cook, but we loved this place so much that we are staying here longer and no longer going to Mount cook.

Disliked: Hoa Ngoc Vy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shane Peirce

20 July 2009 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: This has got to be one of the best hostels I have stayed at around the world. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the TV room always filled with friendly people which helps give the place such a friendly character. It is a great location, only 1 block away from the main part of Queenstown. The 7 day limit also ensures a constant turn over of people, meaning you can easily meet many travelers.

Disliked: Shane left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Day Sophie

14 July 2009 Day would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the homely atmosphere and the free breakfast in the morning before skiing is unbeatable. I was sick for some of my stay and the movie lounge with hundreds of Dvds made sickness much more bearable :). We all had a great time here.

Disliked: Day left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Internet!Free breakfast!Free hot chocolate, tea, and coffee!Awesome beds!Staff was not extremely helpful and seemed to overtake the facility.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff were amazing!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.