We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Haka Lodge Queenstown

Hostel | 6 Henry St, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

96.7% Overall Rating

59 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2015)

Tomasz Ludwiczek thinks…

"Best hostel i've stayed in. Well equipped, clean, comfortable beds. Even though it was fully booked during my stay it didn't feel over-crowded at all. Very friendly and helpfull staff."

Read all Haka Lodge Queenstown reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Queenstown

Hippo Lodge
20.12 USD

Hostel 86.3% 69 reviews
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
20.79 USD

Hostel 99.0% 109 reviews
The Last Resort
21.46 USD

Hostel 89.5% 135 reviews
Nomads Queenstown
17.43 USD

Hostel 92.0% 193 reviews
Melbourne Lodge B & B
46.94 USD

Guesthouse 72.0% 21 reviews
Coronation Lodge
62.70 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
17.43 USD

Hostel 78.3% 12 reviews
YHA Queenstown Central
22.63 USD

Hostel 86.2% 81 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

59 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Haka Lodge Queenstown'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 60 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homey feel. Private feeling bunks. Private bathrooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomasz Ludwiczek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2015 Tomasz would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i've stayed in. Well equipped, clean, comfortable beds. Even though it was fully booked during my stay it didn't feel over-crowded at all. Very friendly and helpfull staff.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Madleen Viol

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 June 2015 Madleen would recommend this property

Liked: Really quiet, very helpful staff, clean facilities, 2kitchens and different rooms to relax (lounge, quietzone,..)

Disliked: No ensuite rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

19 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, cozy and clean :) Friendly staff as well!

Disliked: Hard to book on the day. So book ahead ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, helpful and fun. We had a private room with a tv and we could borrow dvds which is a bit of a luxury in a hostel that is affordable. The hostel was spotless too.

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Josh Morris

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2015 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: The room and beds were amazing. By far, this was the best hostel I've stayed in. The staff were super friendly and helpful. I wish I could've stayed longer.

Disliked: It fills up. I attempted to extend my stay, but there was no room. Amazing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Freya Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2015 Freya would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Dorms very well thought out with curtains on the bunks, big lockers under the bed, individual bunk lights, a dimmer switch on the main room light and comfy beds. Bathrooms, kitchens and communal areas were clean and comfortable. The free wifi worked well. I would definitely recommend this hostel!

Disliked: It booked up too quickly and we had to move to another hostel :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the privacy curtains, lights and power sockets for every bed. So very handy! Also liked the chilled out vibe of the place -rare in Queenstown! Decor was also lovely and the showers were nice and clean. Overall it was pretty outstanding and really good value.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Nieleszeruk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2015 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very homey feel, nice staff, comfortable beds, free wifi nice bathrooms and kitchens

Disliked: No bathrooms where the dorm rooms are

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our favorite hostel in NZ. Overall good experience. Very nice dorm rooms (lots of privacy), very clean and nice bathrooms.

Disliked: that we had to leave :( ! would liked to have stayed here longer

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Linsey Honaker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2015 Linsey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and the location was fantastic!

Disliked: The lodge itself is pretty labyrinthine and for some rooms, you may have to go through the main check in in order to get to and from the showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jenny horsley

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 June 2014 jenny would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and beds were comfy with curtains around for privacy. The staff were all amazing, so helpful and very friendly. Great location for town centre.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike at all one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel. Staff are awesome. Clean and tidy rooms and common Areas.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sebastian Ramirez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: I was sold on the individual power plugs and curtains! Beds were comfortable, wifi was free, and the staff were very nice and helpful.

Disliked: While the wifi was free, it was very unreliable. I ended up using my phone's data most of the time. Bunk beds were wooden, which made them very loud when anybody tossed and turned.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very homey, comfortable, and near the town proper.

Disliked: None.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was very central to queenstown CBD and very friendly helpful staff and was nice and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 April 2014

Liked: Friendly staff!!!

Disliked: The toilet n bathroom r at the other side of the bldg...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Our room was placed directly under the lounge and the other guests were up all night making noise even after going up there to see what was going on. Had a terrible sleep due to this and the fact we were right next to the batjrooms and people were banging around and making npise til 3am. We were up for an early flight and didnt have access to any staff during the night to speak to the

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean any airy. Bed sheets so comfortable. Modern lounge/ kitchen. Staff were so friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The man on duty was super friendly and helpful - felt at home right away! The lounge is clean and comfortable (some other hostels have shockingly old and dirty couches).

Disliked: The kitchen is small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Caulfield

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: everything!! great, helpful staff. awesome kitchen and lounge. very comfy beds for a hostel! good location. best hostel we stayed in our whole trip.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place, with a spacious kitchen and lovely bathrooms, comfy bedrooms, good wifi and free laundry powder!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, pleasant surroundings - some of the newest, freshest decor we came across in NZ hostels. The location couldn't be better. Good facilities and pleasant staff. We stayed in a double room, but the dorms appeared especially good (sturdy bunks with good privacy curtains.)

Disliked: I don't think I'd have found it easy to meet people here if travelling solo

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Beverstock

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

26 February 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had just opened before our stay so we were some of the first guests. Staff were very friendly and eager to help us out. Big lockers for storage of bags.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.