We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Haka Lodge Queenstown

Hostel | 6 Henry St, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

95.4% Overall Rating

45 out of 46 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2014)

jenny horsley thinks…

"The rooms were spacious and beds were comfy with curtains around for privacy. The staff were all amazing, so helpful and very friendly. Great location for town centre."

Read all Haka Lodge Queenstown reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Queenstown

Hippo Lodge
23.34 USD

Hostel 86.3% 69 reviews
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
21.01 USD

Hostel 98.6% 98 reviews
The Last Resort
24.90 USD

Hostel 89.5% 135 reviews
Nomads Queenstown
18.67 USD

Hostel 94.4% 186 reviews
Melbourne Lodge B & B
54.08 USD

Guesthouse 72.0% 21 reviews
Coronation Lodge
58.36 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sir Cedric's Bungi Backpackers
17.12 USD

Hostel 78.4% 7 reviews
YHA Queenstown Central
24.32 USD

Hostel 85.5% 80 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.4%

Overall Rating

45 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Haka Lodge Queenstown'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jenny horsley

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 June 2014 jenny would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and beds were comfy with curtains around for privacy. The staff were all amazing, so helpful and very friendly. Great location for town centre.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike at all one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel. Staff are awesome. Clean and tidy rooms and common Areas.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sebastian Ramirez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: I was sold on the individual power plugs and curtains! Beds were comfortable, wifi was free, and the staff were very nice and helpful.

Disliked: While the wifi was free, it was very unreliable. I ended up using my phone's data most of the time. Bunk beds were wooden, which made them very loud when anybody tossed and turned.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very homey, comfortable, and near the town proper.

Disliked: None.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was very central to queenstown CBD and very friendly helpful staff and was nice and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 April 2014

Liked: Friendly staff!!!

Disliked: The toilet n bathroom r at the other side of the bldg...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Our room was placed directly under the lounge and the other guests were up all night making noise even after going up there to see what was going on. Had a terrible sleep due to this and the fact we were right next to the batjrooms and people were banging around and making npise til 3am. We were up for an early flight and didnt have access to any staff during the night to speak to the

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean any airy. Bed sheets so comfortable. Modern lounge/ kitchen. Staff were so friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The man on duty was super friendly and helpful - felt at home right away! The lounge is clean and comfortable (some other hostels have shockingly old and dirty couches).

Disliked: The kitchen is small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Caulfield

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: everything!! great, helpful staff. awesome kitchen and lounge. very comfy beds for a hostel! good location. best hostel we stayed in our whole trip.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place, with a spacious kitchen and lovely bathrooms, comfy bedrooms, good wifi and free laundry powder!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, pleasant surroundings - some of the newest, freshest decor we came across in NZ hostels. The location couldn't be better. Good facilities and pleasant staff. We stayed in a double room, but the dorms appeared especially good (sturdy bunks with good privacy curtains.)

Disliked: I don't think I'd have found it easy to meet people here if travelling solo

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Beverstock

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

26 February 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had just opened before our stay so we were some of the first guests. Staff were very friendly and eager to help us out. Big lockers for storage of bags.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chloe Caley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy and warm, very modern hostel (more like a home than many others I've stayed in). Loved the free vegetables from the garden, as well as the two housecats!

Disliked: Only issues were that there aren't enough bathrooms, frequently had to wait for one to become free. Also noise in the house travels a long way, so we were kept up one night by people constantly going up and down the stairs and closing doors. Might just have been where our room was positioned though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michaela Bastian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2014 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Outstanding location! I really loved this hostel. The beds in the room had curtains, which gave you more privacy, in each room there were lockers where you could easily lock away all your stuff. Lovingly decorated common area with awesome sofa, big selection of DVDs and books, well equipped kitchen, well equipped bathrooms. Central location. Free Wifi!!! Extremely nice staff - they also got a cute dog, Monty. :-)

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Cullen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 January 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING! This is one of the best hostels we have stayed in 8 months of travelling. The "contract" is a great idea to ensure you get a good nights sleep. It is seconds walk into the centre of town, it has free wifi, great bunk beds with privacy curtains, individual lights and plug sockets and the whole place is spotlessly clean. Can not recommend highly enough.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, clean, the dorms are amazing, it' a home away from home. Best hostel In New Zealand.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bunk beds have curtains for privacy and lockable underbed drawers for all your stuff. Free wifi too which is not too common in NZ.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Hutchinson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel - realy friendly, bunks are large and comfy and feel private as they all have a curtain and large locker underneath. Staff were really nice and always went above and beyond...even a little dog wandering around to make me feel at home :)

Disliked: Would have liked a computer so I could keep in touch with family- I think there was WiFi but I don't take valuables such as laptops when I travel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Gee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

18 December 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are extremely pleasant and hardworking. They really endeavour to make sure you are a happy hostel guest.

Disliked: One of the washing machines left stains on a couple t-shirts. Luckily they weren't my favourites.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was so nice! Free unlimited internet, great beds, with curtain for privacy. The best hostel i have stayed in so far!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Reiter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: grea stay!

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Richards

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: really lovely beds and bathrooms

Disliked: nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rahul Mishra

Alone

City break

08 October 2013 Rahul would recommend this property

Liked: Less crowdy.

Disliked: Housekeeping was not provided for the people who stay like making of bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Funky space. Really good location in Queenstown. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: No Internet

The property's response is...