We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lakeside Backpackers

Hostel | 18 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

61.6% Overall Rating

4 out of 9 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/01/2014)

Sachi Fernando thinks…

"The view, They weren't wrong about the view and location. Probably one of the best views in Queenstown that you don't have to pay a arm & a leg for"

Read all Lakeside Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Queenstown

Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown
22.73 USD

Hostel 93.3% 193 reviews
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
22.73 USD

Hostel 88.9% 90 reviews
Base Queenstown
18.67 USD

Hostel 75.1% 143 reviews
Absoloot Value Accommodation
21.92 USD

Apartment 93.7% 68 reviews
YHA Queenstown Central
25.37 USD

Hostel 85.5% 80 reviews
Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter
21.11 USD

Hostel 85.2% 12 reviews
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
21.92 USD

Hostel 98.6% 98 reviews
Nomads Queenstown
19.48 USD

Hostel 94.6% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.6%

Overall Rating

4 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lakeside Backpackers'

Atmosphere
48.9%
Location
86.7%
Facilities
46.7%
Cleanliness
53.3%
Staff
64.4%
Value
64.4%
Safety
66.7%
Refine your results Showing 9 of 9 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glaiza Maniable

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 August 2014 Glaiza would recommend this property

Liked: close to the isite and other establishments

Disliked: Glaiza left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2014

Liked: Safe.

Disliked: Too messy.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014

Liked: It's at the side of the lake

Disliked: Everything else

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sachi Fernando

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014

Liked: The view, They weren't wrong about the view and location. Probably one of the best views in Queenstown that you don't have to pay a arm & a leg for

Disliked: The kitchen, bathroom & common area was completely filthy. The fridge in my section of backpackers was not working, forcing me to use fridge in main kitchen which was a health hazard. The whole kitchen was a health hazard. I brought this to the attention of management and they listened to me. However it shouldn't have been like that. They either need to get professional cleaning staff or give the backpackers tools to clean up after themselves

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Miin Ming Wong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2014 Miin Ming would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to town and the lake is just in front. The room is decent given the price paid, the cheapest single room in town. The shared bath room during my stay was clean and tidy.

Disliked: Lack of signage which can be a bit hard to find the room when first checked in but then the hostel ain't that big.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Awful mattress, I slept on the floor Not very clean Sheets doesn't seem clean You can hear noise from upstairs Private single room is very small and smelly Everything was smelly Shower was licking water and no one fixed when I asked Brown tap water In the kitchen, the fridge and the toaster was not working

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location single bed!

Disliked: Not very clean/old building cold!! not enough utensils in the kitchen dis-organised hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

FARINA Mickael

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 FARINA would recommend this property

Liked: the vue and the back garden

Disliked: FARINA left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christian Sampedro

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013

Liked: Location! Great! In front of the lake beaches. Meters from the center. Cheapest hostel in Queenstown

Disliked: It seems to be a place left behind. Without care. Nothing nice, bathrooms very ugly, we told the man in charge that there was no light in the bathroom and he answered: "There's no light or there's light and you say that is not enough?" Extra charge for internet, no breakfast. 2 floors by stairs, old smelly coachs in living.