HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Hostel | Level 1, 36 Camp St, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

98.6% Overall Rating

96 out of 98 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

Katherine Beck thinks…

"The second I checked in, Lisa the receptionist was so welcoming and friendly. She gave me a tour, showed me to my room and gave me loads of info on the local area. I went back later to ask about…"

Read all Adventure Queenstown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Queenstown

YHA Queenstown Central
24.32 USD

Hostel 85.5% 80 reviews
The Last Resort
24.90 USD

Hostel 89.5% 135 reviews
Nomads Queenstown
18.67 USD

Hostel 94.4% 186 reviews
Haka Lodge Queenstown
22.56 USD

Hostel 95.4% 46 reviews
Absoloot Value Accommodation
21.01 USD

Apartment 93.7% 68 reviews
Base Queenstown
18.67 USD

Hostel 75.1% 143 reviews
Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter
20.23 USD

Hostel 85.2% 12 reviews
Hippo Lodge
23.34 USD

Hostel 86.3% 69 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.6%

Overall Rating

96 out of 98 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventure Queenstown Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
98.4%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 93 of 96 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Beck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The second I checked in, Lisa the receptionist was so welcoming and friendly. She gave me a tour, showed me to my room and gave me loads of info on the local area. I went back later to ask about tours and she knew everything about them. So friendly and helpful. But not pushy to sell the tours from their hostel which makes me want to book through them even more! I have another 6 nights there and can't wait to get back. It feels like a really warm and cosy home with a close family. I am travelling alone and made friends quickly because we were all relaxing in the lounge area which is a perfect place to meet other people.

Disliked: IF I had to choose anything I didn't like it would be that my room was especially small. The beds were close together meaning my bag wouldn't fit in the space under the bed. I had to keep my bag on the floor but none of my room mates minded so it wasn't much of a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They got everything right! Clean and tidy, secure, comfortable beds. Then on top of that, lots of personal touches from free wifi to personal nightlights and powerpoints to free international calls. Plus they cooked an awesome roast dinner for us!

Disliked: nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. So cosy and friendly. One of he best hostels I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing! Staff lovely, helpful tour at start and organised activities for me. Bathrooms modern and clean with excellent showers, kitchen very homely with plenty of kit, sociable eating area, bedrooms great- loads of plugs, comfy beds, good storage and free towel! Lovely lounge with comfy sofas & beanbags and great big tv plus big film selection for free. Reception lend out ipads, hair dryers, straighteners, gopro cameras, padlocks for lockers, you name it! Free wifi pretty decent although slowed down a couple of times. And unlimited which meant I could back all my photos up without worrying. Good luggage room with power points inside the lockers so you can charge your stuff while you're out. Evening activities great for meeting people. The hostel seems to foster a really sociable relaxed environment. I didn't want to leave!

Disliked: Nothing, all was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Been travelling over the last 2 and half years and this has to be the best hostel I have stayed at! Extremely helpful and friendly staff, everything you could need at the hostel and a great vibe and friendly feel to the place.

Disliked: Depending what side of the building you sleep you can hear club music being played. But nothing other than that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are cute and clean, the staff is really friendly and knowledgeable, location is right in the middle of Queenstown. Great hostel!

Disliked: The internet was free, which is pretty rare for hostels in New Zealand, but extremely slow... Don't think you will be able to watch Youtube videos or do anything much more than check your email!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Lager

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the hostel was amazing. There was just so much respect for the hostel and owners that made it feel really safe. The hostel felt like one big family and it had a very home-like feel to it. Each not there is a hostel event going on, like a roast, or movie night that brings all the people in the hostel together! The are outlets with USB beside each bed and a pouch for your things. The owners literally thought of everything in this place. I wouldn't think twice about recommending this place.

Disliked: NOTHING!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Connie Hoang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Connie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel staff is so kind and personable, homey feel to hostel, all facilities are clean (from rooms to lounge to kitchen to bathrooms), good value, unlimited and free wifi, fully-equipped kitchen with extras like rice cooker/panini maker, will lend towels/extra blankets/hair dryer/straightener/etc free or charge, large book exchange, desktop computers for use, Skype and Internet room, outdoor balconies, etc. = SO many positives here!!!

Disliked: Not an issue for me, but you can't stay more than 10 days for summer & shoulder seasons (14 days for winter).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoe Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: So much free stuff to borrow like iPads etc and the staff are really friendly

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice people, good atmosphere, good view... small hostel but has all the perks of a big chain one, like sockets, pockets and reading lights at the (relatively big) beds... safe and clean...

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen is huge

Disliked: dorm is crowded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe secure and clean. Central location

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. But if anything hostel rooms a bit outdated and toilet and bathroom are very small. This is very minor though. Great place to stay at and would recommend to others

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Holt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. I've been travelling for 13 months across Australia & New Zealand and a few countries in Asia and this was the best hostel I've stayed in. I've booked in again for my last week in New Zealand.

Disliked: Not a bad word to say about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anthony shirley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2014 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Had to leave :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Crooke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Services on offer from this hostel are unbelievable. 2 pillows on each bed. Great to stay in a hostel that was set up by a real backpacker. Have booked to stay there again

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre of town, cosy, the balconies are great, beds are awesome, staff are really helpful, all the facilitates are excellent, activities are excellent.

Disliked: The bedroom doors didn't lock automatically so normally the door was left open but it seemed a very safe hostel and I had no issues with this. The room could definitely have done with more vacuuming. Also on my first night they show you to your room which is amazing, but on your key is a number and on the door is a name. I couldn't find my room on my first night as I went out straight away and when I got back I'd got a bit confused where it was...would be really helpful if they wrote the name of your room on the little card they give you with the wifi details. Apart from these really small things had the best stay ever!!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Hildebrand

Alone

City break

05 March 2014 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've stayed in. Everything was free - towels, laundry, bikes, wifi and international calls!? The staff were friendly,knowledgable and efficient. Everything was immaculately clean and all possible facilities available.

Disliked: Nil.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They include everything in the first price - amazing place for a great price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Brooke

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi not trashy

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claudia Bretag

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: the activities offered, the staff, the facility was excellent and the atmosphere even more amazing!!!

Disliked: NOTHING

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ashleigh Blain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: Everything you could want in a hostel, friendly staff that give you a tour of the hostel,clean new shower rooms, each bed had two sockets each, a light and a pocket, the bed were very comfy didn't squeak like in other hostels. Highly recommend this hostel :)

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

glenda disselkoen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2013 glenda would recommend this property

Liked: Great views, even the bathrooms have a good view of the lake! The wrap around porch is the perfect place to hang out. Central location is nice and is super close to the lake, shops, restaurant and the Station Building where you can get picked up for the Nevis or Canyon Swing. I would stay longer if I could. Staff are very nice and helpful. Oh and I like how they have eggs available for 50 cents each too.

Disliked: glenda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great amenities and shower facilities, tv in shared dorm etc

Disliked: a little too crowded and popular! haha..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When first arrive you get shown around the hostel and get to know everyone as soon as you arrive. Location is spot on for buses and going out.

Disliked: If wifi is important to you, its quite slow!