We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Hostel | Level 1, 36 Camp St, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

99.0% Overall Rating

107 out of 109 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2015)

James Robinson thinks…

"Everything was perfect about this hostel, really sociable staff and friendly atmosphere, comfortable dorms, clean bathrooms with nice ensuite shower, loads of free stuff (everything is says on the…"

Read all Adventure Queenstown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Queenstown

YHA Queenstown Central
22.21 USD

Hostel 86.2% 81 reviews
The Last Resort
21.06 USD

Hostel 89.5% 135 reviews
Nomads Queenstown
17.11 USD

Hostel 91.2% 194 reviews
Haka Lodge Queenstown
20.40 USD

Hostel 96.7% 60 reviews
Absoloot Value Accommodation
19.09 USD

Apartment 92.7% 72 reviews
Base Queenstown
14.48 USD

Hostel 72.9% 155 reviews
Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter
17.77 USD

Hostel 88.2% 25 reviews
Hippo Lodge
19.75 USD

Hostel 86.3% 69 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
99.0%

Overall Rating

107 out of 109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Adventure Queenstown Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
98.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 107 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Robinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2015 James would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect about this hostel, really sociable staff and friendly atmosphere, comfortable dorms, clean bathrooms with nice ensuite shower, loads of free stuff (everything is says on the description is true!), plugs by each of the beds, great location. Really can't fault Adventure Queenstown at all!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed in! Just wish I could have been there longer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie Foerster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2015 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Outstanding Hostel! I am travelling for month now and I never was in a place like that. First of all, when I arrived the girl at reception asked me, if I am Stefanie. They have their bookings sorted and waited allready for me. Gave me a feeling that I was important. Sometimes the small things making the difference. After checking me in, they showed me around. The bunkbeds are nice and comfortable, wooden beds, which means they can't sqeek. Two pillowcases, two plugs next to every bed. Washrooms (unisex) nice and clean. I liked the comic strips at the walls ;) The Kitchen is really comfy (they provide a lot of spices), so are the common areas. FREE STUFF: Wifi! Really, unlimited and fast. This is as more important as the libary in Queenstown doesn't have free Wifi. Free Bikes, free GoPros, free IPads, free Hairdryers... free smiles as well and they offer an activity every evening to make it easy get in contact with other travellers

Disliked: They do your laundry for you. Sounds nice? If you are a guy: yes, it's nice if you are a girl: you have to give them your dirty clothes...Everything ;) Think about it. I felt a little bit unkomfortabel with that. But get it back nice and clean the other day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel, friendly staff, excellent location

Disliked: Leaving

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Spiegelberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2015 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: The location, staff and atmosphere all were incredible!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Warwick Devery

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2015 Warwick would recommend this property

Liked: AQ was the best hostel I stayed at whilst backpacking across New Zealand. The atmosphere was amazing! All the best things about hostels were present at AQ from powerpoints next to your bed, name tags on the beds, bunk beds that are solid and do not squeak, towels being provided, plenty of hooks for your towels and wet clothers, fantastic bathroom facilities that are clean, a secure locker room that is under surveillance and wonderful hosts!! They give you the excellent impartial advice on the best activities to do in Queenstown as well as the ones that are best value for money. I cannot recommend this hostel enough!!!

Disliked: Bring your earplugs as some of the walls are not sound proof.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere was great, we didn't want to leave! cool big cosy living room, delicious home cooked dinners, friendly owner, staff genuinely happy to work there, lots of activities, movie night etc. good location and quiet at night, comfy beds, clean bathrooms. There wasn't a thing we didn't like, we've been to many hostels and this was the best one we've ever stayed at!

Disliked: nothing, it was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Millard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2015 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Where to start... This is by far, the best hostel I have EVER stated in - when you arrive, you get a personal introduction which makes you feel like you're coming to stay at family friends, not a hostel. They then tell you all the free stuff they have for you - towels, oil in the kitchen (it's sometimes the little things which make a big difference when you're travelling!), international calls, go pros, frisbees, WiFi...anything you want, they have or can help with. The staff have put a lot of care and attention into this place, and it really shows. They are so lovely and friendly here too - they know everyone by name. I'd go back to Queenstown just to stay here!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Jablkowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2015 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom were very clean. Best hot shower and water pressure. No problems borrowing hair dryer and straighter which felt like luxury after traveling for a while. They also provide a towel and two outlets and two usb at every bed....and two pillows! They really thought of everything a traveler could need. Well done!!

Disliked: nothing.....and that says a lot!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loads of free stuff included like wifi, towel, bikes, go pros, use of computers and ipads aswell as international calls. Small nice touches like plug socket and light in each bunk, toilets and showers always clean, modern facilities and a really nice tv room with loads of bean bags and sofas!! Best hostel I've ever stayed in!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel I have ever stayed in! A welcoming place, central location, free things to use and borrow, super clean...I have nothing to complain about!

Disliked: nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Beck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The second I checked in, Lisa the receptionist was so welcoming and friendly. She gave me a tour, showed me to my room and gave me loads of info on the local area. I went back later to ask about tours and she knew everything about them. So friendly and helpful. But not pushy to sell the tours from their hostel which makes me want to book through them even more! I have another 6 nights there and can't wait to get back. It feels like a really warm and cosy home with a close family. I am travelling alone and made friends quickly because we were all relaxing in the lounge area which is a perfect place to meet other people.

Disliked: IF I had to choose anything I didn't like it would be that my room was especially small. The beds were close together meaning my bag wouldn't fit in the space under the bed. I had to keep my bag on the floor but none of my room mates minded so it wasn't much of a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They got everything right! Clean and tidy, secure, comfortable beds. Then on top of that, lots of personal touches from free wifi to personal nightlights and powerpoints to free international calls. Plus they cooked an awesome roast dinner for us!

Disliked: nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. So cosy and friendly. One of he best hostels I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing! Staff lovely, helpful tour at start and organised activities for me. Bathrooms modern and clean with excellent showers, kitchen very homely with plenty of kit, sociable eating area, bedrooms great- loads of plugs, comfy beds, good storage and free towel! Lovely lounge with comfy sofas & beanbags and great big tv plus big film selection for free. Reception lend out ipads, hair dryers, straighteners, gopro cameras, padlocks for lockers, you name it! Free wifi pretty decent although slowed down a couple of times. And unlimited which meant I could back all my photos up without worrying. Good luggage room with power points inside the lockers so you can charge your stuff while you're out. Evening activities great for meeting people. The hostel seems to foster a really sociable relaxed environment. I didn't want to leave!

Disliked: Nothing, all was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Been travelling over the last 2 and half years and this has to be the best hostel I have stayed at! Extremely helpful and friendly staff, everything you could need at the hostel and a great vibe and friendly feel to the place.

Disliked: Depending what side of the building you sleep you can hear club music being played. But nothing other than that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are cute and clean, the staff is really friendly and knowledgeable, location is right in the middle of Queenstown. Great hostel!

Disliked: The internet was free, which is pretty rare for hostels in New Zealand, but extremely slow... Don't think you will be able to watch Youtube videos or do anything much more than check your email!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Lager

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the hostel was amazing. There was just so much respect for the hostel and owners that made it feel really safe. The hostel felt like one big family and it had a very home-like feel to it. Each not there is a hostel event going on, like a roast, or movie night that brings all the people in the hostel together! The are outlets with USB beside each bed and a pouch for your things. The owners literally thought of everything in this place. I wouldn't think twice about recommending this place.

Disliked: NOTHING!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Connie Hoang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Connie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel staff is so kind and personable, homey feel to hostel, all facilities are clean (from rooms to lounge to kitchen to bathrooms), good value, unlimited and free wifi, fully-equipped kitchen with extras like rice cooker/panini maker, will lend towels/extra blankets/hair dryer/straightener/etc free or charge, large book exchange, desktop computers for use, Skype and Internet room, outdoor balconies, etc. = SO many positives here!!!

Disliked: Not an issue for me, but you can't stay more than 10 days for summer & shoulder seasons (14 days for winter).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoe Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: So much free stuff to borrow like iPads etc and the staff are really friendly

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice people, good atmosphere, good view... small hostel but has all the perks of a big chain one, like sockets, pockets and reading lights at the (relatively big) beds... safe and clean...

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen is huge

Disliked: dorm is crowded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe secure and clean. Central location

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. But if anything hostel rooms a bit outdated and toilet and bathroom are very small. This is very minor though. Great place to stay at and would recommend to others

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Holt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. I've been travelling for 13 months across Australia & New Zealand and a few countries in Asia and this was the best hostel I've stayed in. I've booked in again for my last week in New Zealand.

Disliked: Not a bad word to say about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anthony shirley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2014 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Had to leave :(