We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Pinewood Lodge

Hostel | 48 Hamilton Road, Boydtown Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

79.0% Overall Rating

110 out of 125 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

"different feel to other hostels, felt more like you were flat sharing with a small number of people, but with plenty of neighbours nearby!"

Read all Pinewood Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Queenstown

The Last Resort
25.98 USD

Hostel 89.5% 135 reviews
Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter
21.11 USD

Hostel 85.2% 12 reviews
Sir Cedric's Bungi Backpackers
20.30 USD

Hostel 78.4% 7 reviews
Base Queenstown
18.67 USD

Hostel 75.1% 143 reviews
YHA Queenstown Central
25.37 USD

Hostel 85.5% 80 reviews
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
21.92 USD

Hostel 98.6% 98 reviews
Haka Lodge Queenstown
23.54 USD

Hostel 95.4% 46 reviews
Absoloot Value Accommodation
21.92 USD

Apartment 93.7% 68 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

110 out of 125 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pinewood Lodge'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 97 of 101 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: different feel to other hostels, felt more like you were flat sharing with a small number of people, but with plenty of neighbours nearby!

Disliked: laundry facilities not very reliable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy

Disliked: No mirrors in bedroom. Which means waiting for the shared bathroom and/or using up bathroom time to do makeup/hair which could be done in bedrooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julie Scrimgeour

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities.

Disliked: 10 min walk to the main town.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast table outside on the porch in the sun!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alex Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: The Spa, comfortable beds

Disliked: No power points in the rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ka Ying Lam

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2013 Ka Ying would recommend this property

Liked: We lived in a double room and share kitchen and bathroom with another room only. It is the shared bathroom is not with a number of people.

Disliked: The location is a bit far from the city center and walk to there with lauggage is not very easy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Hill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Best Hostel in Queenstown, simples. You get your own shared apartement essentially, for a very reasonable rate, great location and awesome facilities.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kodie Stephens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Kodie would recommend this property

Liked: close to downtown queenstown, very clean, friendly staff

Disliked: Kodie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anne Lee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very considerate, put all 5 of us into a room.

Disliked: the soundproof isn't good in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Samantha Jenkins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly homely feel bit quieter than some of the other hostels in town if you fancy a night off from drinking!

Disliked: Very cold!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double private room and the room was really nice and big with lots of closet space and a mirror. Nice big kitchen with several sinks and fridges for storing your food. Also offered a pretty view in a quiet part of town. The staff were all really friendly and helpful!!

Disliked: Unfortunately staying in a double-room we were in the building with the kitchen which made it quite noisy in the mornings. Also the showers ran out of hot water pretty early which was frustrating.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yvonne Sommerfeldt Stava

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Yvonne Sommerfeldt would recommend this property

Liked: This place is a short walking distance from the town centre. It had a heater in the room which is a big bonus when staying in a hostel in Queenstown! For a short stay this place is quite all right.

Disliked: The fridge was too cold and froze (i.e. ruined) our food. The bed was way too soft and uncomfortable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pizza

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012

Liked: The staff very good and informative

Disliked: For me personally it was a bit too young for me, but is ok for a couple of nights

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleaned daily

Disliked: 1 member of staff was extremely rude

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of space for the money and not crowded

Disliked: no central social area

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good space, easy walk into town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

anja madhvani

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2012 anja would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed here on two occasions. the first was excellent, clean rooms, amazingly clean kitchens and bathrooms. There were bikes to hire which was nice and the staff were really friendly. The beds had reading lights too which was nice and the kitchen was well equipped and so clean. There is a cafe on site that does pizzas etc, thats a nice options. Overall a great hostel, cheapest in Queenstown. Very cool staff.

Disliked: could do with lockers to keep valuables safe and I prefer single sex bathrooms but that's only my personal preference. They also charge for the hot tub which I think is a bit excessive. Unfortunately during our second stay here there was a really strong smell of pee coming from the carpet and I had to do a full laundry load because all my clothes stank. That was pretty annoying. But we checked out very early so I didn't get to tell the staff so really that's my problem, the staff are great so I know they will address this immediately when notified.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Arnar Gudjon Skulason

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Arnar Gudjon would recommend this property

Liked: The room in general was great: small and cozy. The bed was very confertable. and the heater worked (which is a lot to say). The three bedroom "houses" also have the potential to be very inviting but the people we shared ours with were rather loud.

Disliked: There is no real common area (not to our knowladge anyway) and therefor it must be hard for single traveller to make good of their stay here. The kitchen was also not great. This place is also rather expensive for a backpackers and does not offer great value.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, very friendly staff, super clean

Disliked: there were multiple buildings so there wasnt one shared common room. each building had their own

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good property for couples, sharing a kitchen and living area between three rooms.

Disliked: Noisy at night

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms, shared spaces (including outdoor ones).

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice (but not always so clean) kitchen.

Disliked: Little walk from town uphill but not a big problem.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alexander Dawkins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: It is a large backpackers complex with a wide selection of services and nice features (ie: hot tub, tv room, reading room). The price is also great, and the location is just outside of town which makes it quieter than most.

Disliked: They charge for everything...computer use, wireless, the hot tub, laundry detergent, bike rental. Also, the bedding in the first room they put us in hadn't been changed and was just lying in a clump on the floor. We complained and got a much better room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price! Since we're backpacking on low budget, this was the cheapest and it was still a good place to stay. We got upgraded for free, that's always a plus.

Disliked: Pretty early check-out time, 10am. We like to sleep in!