We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Pinewood Lodge

Hostel | 48 Hamilton Road, Boydtown Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

78.7% Overall Rating

114 out of 130 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2015)

Elias Sebastian Casal thinks…

"-Ubicacion genial: a diez minutos caminando desde la ciudad y ubicado sobre las colinas al final de una calle, lo cual lo hace hermoso -Diferente de otros hostels para mejor!, ya que tiene diferentes…"

Read all Pinewood Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Queenstown

The Last Resort
21.13 USD

Hostel 89.5% 135 reviews
Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter
17.83 USD

Hostel 88.2% 25 reviews
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
17.17 USD

Hostel 78.3% 12 reviews
Base Queenstown
14.53 USD

Hostel 72.9% 155 reviews
YHA Queenstown Central
22.28 USD

Hostel 86.2% 81 reviews
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
20.47 USD

Hostel 99.0% 109 reviews
Haka Lodge Queenstown
20.47 USD

Hostel 96.7% 60 reviews
Absoloot Value Accommodation
19.15 USD

Apartment 92.7% 72 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

114 out of 130 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pinewood Lodge'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 101 of 106 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elias Sebastian Casal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2015 Elias Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: -Ubicacion genial: a diez minutos caminando desde la ciudad y ubicado sobre las colinas al final de una calle, lo cual lo hace hermoso -Diferente de otros hostels para mejor!, ya que tiene diferentes unidades (tipo departamentos) ubicados en el complejo, donde en mi caso compartia el cuarto con dos personas mas, y en nuestro "departamento" habia dos cuartos mas -Las instalaciones estan muy bien, hay dos banios por departamento y cada uno tiene una cocina para compartir con tus housemates. -En recepcion son muy amables y hasta se ocuparon de llamar a la aerolinea por mi. -La verdad disfrute mucho hospedandome alli, y solo pague 2 dolares mas que en un hostel normal, realmente vale la pena!

Disliked: El wifi es gratis pero no funciona desde los departamentos

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Charles Hunt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2015 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: I always say the people make the hostel, this was very true at pinewood. Free trampoline, free internet (only really works outside reception). There was also a TV in our living area but the TV remote was missing so we could only watch one channel.

Disliked: 2 plug sockets hidden behind a bed in a room of 6 people! No soap de spencer in the bathroom. Cleaners don't bother wiping down the table or use any cleaning products other than water from what I've witnissed. However with all these little things the place grows on you and you start calling it home

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anne Wyllie

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2015 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, walking distance to everything you need. Wonderful staff on the counter. Apartment could have been a little bit cleaner. Our room was tidy and well presented however. Overpriced of course, but this is on par with the rest of Queenstown.

Disliked: Anne left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pinewood Lodge is close to town. There is so much to do there and the people that were staying at the lodge were great.

Disliked: There could have been more plugs in the dorm room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: different feel to other hostels, felt more like you were flat sharing with a small number of people, but with plenty of neighbours nearby!

Disliked: laundry facilities not very reliable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy

Disliked: No mirrors in bedroom. Which means waiting for the shared bathroom and/or using up bathroom time to do makeup/hair which could be done in bedrooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julie Scrimgeour

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities.

Disliked: 10 min walk to the main town.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast table outside on the porch in the sun!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alex Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: The Spa, comfortable beds

Disliked: No power points in the rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ka Ying Lam

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2013 Ka Ying would recommend this property

Liked: We lived in a double room and share kitchen and bathroom with another room only. It is the shared bathroom is not with a number of people.

Disliked: The location is a bit far from the city center and walk to there with lauggage is not very easy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Hill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Best Hostel in Queenstown, simples. You get your own shared apartement essentially, for a very reasonable rate, great location and awesome facilities.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kodie Stephens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Kodie would recommend this property

Liked: close to downtown queenstown, very clean, friendly staff

Disliked: Kodie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anne Lee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very considerate, put all 5 of us into a room.

Disliked: the soundproof isn't good in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Samantha Jenkins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly homely feel bit quieter than some of the other hostels in town if you fancy a night off from drinking!

Disliked: Very cold!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double private room and the room was really nice and big with lots of closet space and a mirror. Nice big kitchen with several sinks and fridges for storing your food. Also offered a pretty view in a quiet part of town. The staff were all really friendly and helpful!!

Disliked: Unfortunately staying in a double-room we were in the building with the kitchen which made it quite noisy in the mornings. Also the showers ran out of hot water pretty early which was frustrating.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yvonne Sommerfeldt Stava

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Yvonne Sommerfeldt would recommend this property

Liked: This place is a short walking distance from the town centre. It had a heater in the room which is a big bonus when staying in a hostel in Queenstown! For a short stay this place is quite all right.

Disliked: The fridge was too cold and froze (i.e. ruined) our food. The bed was way too soft and uncomfortable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pizza

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012

Liked: The staff very good and informative

Disliked: For me personally it was a bit too young for me, but is ok for a couple of nights

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleaned daily

Disliked: 1 member of staff was extremely rude

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of space for the money and not crowded

Disliked: no central social area

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good space, easy walk into town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

anja madhvani

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2012 anja would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed here on two occasions. the first was excellent, clean rooms, amazingly clean kitchens and bathrooms. There were bikes to hire which was nice and the staff were really friendly. The beds had reading lights too which was nice and the kitchen was well equipped and so clean. There is a cafe on site that does pizzas etc, thats a nice options. Overall a great hostel, cheapest in Queenstown. Very cool staff.

Disliked: could do with lockers to keep valuables safe and I prefer single sex bathrooms but that's only my personal preference. They also charge for the hot tub which I think is a bit excessive. Unfortunately during our second stay here there was a really strong smell of pee coming from the carpet and I had to do a full laundry load because all my clothes stank. That was pretty annoying. But we checked out very early so I didn't get to tell the staff so really that's my problem, the staff are great so I know they will address this immediately when notified.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Arnar Gudjon Skulason

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Arnar Gudjon would recommend this property

Liked: The room in general was great: small and cozy. The bed was very confertable. and the heater worked (which is a lot to say). The three bedroom "houses" also have the potential to be very inviting but the people we shared ours with were rather loud.

Disliked: There is no real common area (not to our knowladge anyway) and therefor it must be hard for single traveller to make good of their stay here. The kitchen was also not great. This place is also rather expensive for a backpackers and does not offer great value.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, very friendly staff, super clean

Disliked: there were multiple buildings so there wasnt one shared common room. each building had their own

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good property for couples, sharing a kitchen and living area between three rooms.

Disliked: Noisy at night