HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Pinewood Queenstown

Hostel

48 Hamilton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 78%

Location 76%

Safety 76%

Staff 83%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.43USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Curfew
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 78%

Location 76%

Safety 76%

Staff 83%

Value 74%

Showing 21-11 of 11 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: we stayed here on two occasions. the first was excellent, clean rooms, amazingly clean kitchens and bathrooms. There were bikes to hire which was nice and the staff were really friendly. The beds had reading lights too which was nice and the kitchen was well equipped and so clean. There is a cafe on site that does pizzas etc, thats a nice options. Overall a great hostel, cheapest in Queenstown. Very cool staff.

Disliked: could do with lockers to keep valuables safe and I prefer single sex bathrooms but that's only my personal preference. They also charge for the hot tub which I think is a bit excessive. Unfortunately during our second stay here there was a really strong smell of pee coming from the carpet and I had to do a full laundry load because all my clothes stank. That was pretty annoying. But we checked out very early so I didn't get to tell the staff so really that's my problem, the staff are great so I know they will address this immediately when notified.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The room in general was great: small and cozy. The bed was very confertable. and the heater worked (which is a lot to say). The three bedroom "houses" also have the potential to be very inviting but the people we shared ours with were rather loud.

Disliked: There is no real common area (not to our knowladge anyway) and therefor it must be hard for single traveller to make good of their stay here. The kitchen was also not great.This place is also rather expensive for a backpackers and does not offer great value.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: great location, very friendly staff, super clean

Disliked: there were multiple buildings so there wasnt one shared common room. each building had their own

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Rooms, shared spaces (including outdoor ones).

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good property for couples, sharing a kitchen and living area between three rooms.

Disliked: Noisy at night

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, nice (but not always so clean) kitchen.

Disliked: Little walk from town uphill but not a big problem.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a large backpackers complex with a wide selection of services and nice features (ie: hot tub, tv room, reading room). The price is also great, and the location is just outside of town which makes it quieter than most.

Disliked: They charge for everything...computer use, wireless, the hot tub, laundry detergent, bike rental. Also, the bedding in the first room they put us in hadn't been changed and was just lying in a clump on the floor. We complained and got a much better room.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The price! Since we're backpacking on low budget, this was the cheapest and it was still a good place to stay. We got upgraded for free, that's always a plus.

Disliked: Pretty early check-out time, 10am. We like to sleep in!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Bella vista alla finestra, ambienti condivisi da pochi altri utenti.

Disliked: Distante dal centro, scale da fare per arrivare alla stanza, stanza piccola e poco accessoriata.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The hostel was a short walk from town on a quiet street. The staff were helpful. The shower was good and the communal areas were big.

Disliked: We didn't realise when we booked that the Wifi wasn't free which was a bit annoying as we've never paid for it before in a hostel. Although the Wifi was actually down for the whole time we were staying - also frustrating because the Internet on the communal computers cost $1 per 15mins. Wasn't sure if this was the norm for Queenstown though. The bathroom wasn't too bad but don't think it got cleaned during the 3 days we were there.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability