We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Pinewood Lodge

Hostel | 48 Hamilton Road, Boydtown Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

79.0% Overall Rating

110 out of 125 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

"different feel to other hostels, felt more like you were flat sharing with a small number of people, but with plenty of neighbours nearby!"

Read all Pinewood Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Queenstown

The Last Resort
24.90 USD

Hostel 89.5% 135 reviews
Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter
20.23 USD

Hostel 85.2% 12 reviews
Sir Cedric's Bungi Backpackers
17.12 USD

Hostel 78.4% 7 reviews
Base Queenstown
16.34 USD

Hostel 75.1% 143 reviews
YHA Queenstown Central
24.32 USD

Hostel 85.5% 80 reviews
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
21.01 USD

Hostel 98.6% 98 reviews
Haka Lodge Queenstown
22.56 USD

Hostel 95.4% 46 reviews
Absoloot Value Accommodation
21.01 USD

Apartment 93.7% 68 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

110 out of 125 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pinewood Lodge'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 97 of 101 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a safe warm place to have to go back to after an awsome night in Q.Twn!!!

Disliked: 10am check outs suck!lol!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location - just out of town, friendly guests and staff, clean room, good kitchen facilities, value

Disliked: No free internet use

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emma O'Brien

05 May 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matthew Monty

15 April 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Was cheaper than other hostels in the area.. but not really worth the saving of a few dollars. Needs a better heater in the tv room its cold and u cant really use that room because of that. Showers and toilets are pretty messy but everything works and quite a lot of space. Common rooms and kitchens are quite large and good. Biggest problem was they allowed a 60+ year old man into the hostel. You dont get a good feeling of security in this hostel. He snored loudly too :S Location is a real nuisance on cold nights.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ralf Wingen

01 April 2010 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked the cabin system, it's basicly a lot of small hostels in one. Points to improve: - pool table is broken (balls missing, pool cues broken)- kitchen a bit small for 12 people and also not enough glassesFor the rest: great fun!

Disliked: Ralf left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alessandra Oliveira

22 March 2010 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: The room

Disliked: Alessandra left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Darren Greenfield

19 March 2010 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Great value and within easy walking distance of Queenstown centre. Communal areas were a little dated and not too clean, but what do you expect for the cost?

Disliked: Darren left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 March 2010

Liked: The hostel itself is fine. We stayed in a unit with 4 privat rooms with our own kitchen and living room. Only 1 shower with toilet for 8 people, which is a little bit less when everything is fully booked. Especially because you can't go to the toilet if someone is taking a shower. Location of the hostel is about a 10 minute walk to the city centre, close to the gondola which has an amazing view. The worst thing about the hostel: it is COLD. We were freezing because of the worse isolation in our unit. There was no working heather in our living room, only one small heather in our bedroom. So yeah, it was really cold.After all it's a fine hostel for a few nights if you don't like the busy hostels in the city like Base and Nomads.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

03 March 2010

Liked: We stayed here for two nights.Reception is quite far from our room so difficult ask them any questions.And they are not very friendly.Room,kitchen and bathrooms were not clean.I would not stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayd in a private double. Room, kitchen and bathroom were nice and clean. We really enjoyed staying there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice quite locatie. Beautiful double room. Clean and large kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location amongst the alpine forests.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing special, a an average hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 November 2009

Liked: It's kind of difficult to park in this place, otherwise everything else is fine.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Min Xu

10 October 2009 Min would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very huge village, so great.

Disliked: Min left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We visited outside of peak season, so it was very quiet - but we had a lovely time. The staff were fantastic, very polite and helpful, and we loved the spa!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

07 October 2009

Liked: The only positive thing to mention is the short way to the city center of Queenstown.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 September 2009

Liked: Was very dissapointed in this place. Although we did get upgraded at check in which was lovely I didnt enjoy my stay at all. No one to meet as I think it was very quiet and the staff were very rude and not accomodating for our needs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Hennessy

01 August 2009 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: 10 minutes walk to centre of town and friendly staff

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay in the ensuite double room. Kitchen well equipped. Very enjoyable stay. We will stay there again should we return to Queestown. Highly recommend for people on a budget.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A little out of the way but good facilities, we got a free upgrade to a self-contained unit which was a bonus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Leach

15 July 2009 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: good beds bit cold though

Disliked: Catherine left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 July 2009

Liked: Cold, cold. cold. Might be ok in the summer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

06 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: none

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.