We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Nomads Queenstown

Hostel | 5 - 11 Church Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

91.2% Overall Rating

174 out of 194 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/02/2015)

sarah hewitt thinks…

"Room was spacious and had a balcony, bathrooms were cleaned throughout the day. Staff friendly, good cooking facilities. Free dinner a nice option."

Read all Nomads Queenstown reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Queenstown

Adventure Queenstown Hostel
20.40 USD

Hostel 99.0% 109 reviews
Absoloot Value Accommodation
19.09 USD

Apartment 92.7% 72 reviews
Coronation Lodge
56.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
YHA Queenstown Central
22.21 USD

Hostel 86.2% 81 reviews
Haka Lodge Queenstown
20.40 USD

Hostel 96.7% 60 reviews
Base Queenstown
17.11 USD

Hostel 72.9% 155 reviews
The Last Resort
21.06 USD

Hostel 89.5% 135 reviews
Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter
17.77 USD

Hostel 88.2% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

174 out of 194 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nomads Queenstown'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 185 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Luke Botham

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2015 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious and nice cinema room with beanbags.

Disliked: We stayed here for 4 nights with kiwi experience and then 1 night we booked on hostelbookers. Our friends were in the bunk bed next to us and had stayed for 4 nights and when they checked out and the cleaners came in to change the beds etc. I was disgusted to see they don't change the duvet sheet which is very unhygienic and not what you expect for the price you pay. How many people sleep with the same duvet cover before they change it? Between 10am-12 midday we had 5 nomad helpers come in at different times to do the job 1 person could of done without so many interruptions. 1 person changed the bin, 1 person hoovered the visible floor space, 1 person changed the beds, 1 person cleaned the shower and 1 person to put a advert on the 'clean' beds. Surely 1 person could do all those jobs as the maximum time each person spent in the room was about 1 minute except the guy doing the beds.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

24 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great open fires and lots of comfy sofas

Disliked: The dryers are pretty bad so will cost you $8 just to dry as there is no dry room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common area, the room was basic but fresh and clean

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sarah hewitt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 February 2015 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Room was spacious and had a balcony, bathrooms were cleaned throughout the day. Staff friendly, good cooking facilities. Free dinner a nice option.

Disliked: Lack of storage space for food, fridge etc

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2015

Liked: Good location near the beach, travel desk that could help you book things, free bread with spreads for breakfast.

Disliked: If I were to stay in Queenstown again, I would try a different hostel. It was near all the bars which made it noisy at night, the plumbing was not very good so that when I used the sink in the bathroom it just filled with standing water, they advertise free dinner, but there is a massive line and it is first come first serve so I never actually had any. Plus no free wifi :( They also have a cinema, but the front desk controls the DVD player and remote. Because of that, I could never get past the menu page when I tried to watch a movie. YHA looked good so I would probably stay there next time.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our six bed dorm had a nice outside deck which had a beautiful view to the street leading to the beach. The rooms were kept really clean and the housekeeping came by like 4 times per day. The location was perfect, right next to the beach and walking distance from everything in central Queenstown.

Disliked: Kitchen was often not working fully. Internet isn't free (like in all the base and nomads hostels). The closest supermarket was fairly far away.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Penny Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2014 Penny would recommend this property

Liked: The free things such as dinner and breakfast. Good location

Disliked: Paying for expensive wi fi

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

saki hayashi

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2014 saki would recommend this property

Liked: good fun

Disliked: dodgy tv

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: I met some amazing people at the hostel, and the facilities were always kept clean.

Disliked: The wifi was the biggest issue here, intimitantly cutting out, but the hostel workers were willing to help get in touch with Global Chat (wifi company) I much prefer previous hostel wifi setup's where it's not handled externally.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah King

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

17 July 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities are excellent and the staff go out of their way to make sure you have a good stay! The movie room is great and there are always things happening. This is the first time I have travelled by myself and nomads was my first stop in Queenstown and I had the most amazing time and can't recommend it highly enough.

Disliked: Playing pool should be free

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natascha Berden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Natascha would recommend this property

Liked: The people at the reception were very friendly and helpful, the showers, toilets and rooms were clean, comfortable beds, and the atmosphere was fresh and nice.

Disliked: It was loud during the night, because of the people partying on the streets. But i think one shouldnt expect anything else from Queenstown. The only thing i really did dislike was the fact, that it was cold in my room.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Imogene Mcdonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Imogene would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms, cozy lounge area, really helpful staff, nice roommates.

Disliked: There was no obvious heating in the winter, the rooms were quite chilly

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Verry nice place, stayed in a lot of Nomads around the world and this one is definitely on of the best! Large living room, sauna, cinema, and lots of staff for helping you at any time!!! Commun area doesnt close during the night (just the kitchen) and we can find a big fireplace !! The free meal every nights is top, best time for making new friends!!!! And for finish, there is a lots of deals for cheap food and drinks in the city!

Disliked: One of the only hostel without free wifi, and I think for being one of the most expensive hostel in Queenstown, the wifi could be including. No long term room, because its a busy hostel, but don't understand the reason for refuse customers to stay for a long time if we pay every week!? I think if its a diffent customer or the same one in the room, don't change the bill. I would love to stay there more time there!

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Adam Dunn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2014 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good facilities

Disliked: No lockers in the room (4 dorm). Vomit on the floor of the bathroom

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

sarah stott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

02 July 2014 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & warm inside!!!

Disliked: Too expensive!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Carey

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good facilities including TV and sky sport in the room.

Disliked: Cleaning wasn't always up to scratch in the room. No bar (or drinking allowed in theory).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Vatner

Alone

City break

24 June 2014 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Loved my stay here, as a solo traveller there was plenty of activities put on inside and outside of the hostel. Staff were super friendly and helpful especially Rosie who was absolutely brilliant .

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Got an upgrade to the deluxe room!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! It is in such a central location, the staff are great, the rooms are clean and tidy and I just had the best time ever.

Disliked: Loved everything about it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachariah Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Zachariah would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very professional and clean, nice facilities and a very nice location close to everything. Staff is very nice and helpful, sparks conversation and makes you feel welcome.

Disliked: A bit too professional maybe, not a lot of openness or familiarity. Kitchen is quite small and for the free "meal" you almost have to queue 30 minutes in advance. Kiwi Experience travellers stay here, so if you're not going out, you're not getting any sleep either.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, sauna, wahine wing

Disliked: Noisy rude people - last two times we stayed there was a noise curfew (10.30ish?) which was excellent but this time it seemed staff did nothing to shut the party down

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the free meals were amazing!

Disliked: no window in the room step ladder to top bunk bed was uncomfortable (very sore on feet) everybody washing there dishes separately after the big meals wastes a lot of water

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Lawrie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Favourite hostel ever

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2014

Liked: The place was always clean, the rooms are an ok size, the staff (all backpackers themself) are super happy, they have a ton of activities (its Queenstown after all) and hand out flyers for free or reduced drinks at night.

Disliked: Theres a TON of people in this Hostel, the kitchen and the bathrooms are far too small and you always end up waiting to do anything and everything. On top of that, did one of the staff break a pipe when he was drunk so we got kicked out at 5am by the fire alarm and some of the rooms got flooded. Their stuff was ruined. The place reaked of mold (so did my room 106) for days until I finally left.

The property's response is...