We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Base Queenstown

Hostel | 47-49 Shotover Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

75.1% Overall Rating

97 out of 143 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2014)

Judi McDonald thinks…

"Liked that we could check out at midday for an extra $10. Enjoyed the atmosphere of mostly young people & the bar next door."

Read all Base Queenstown reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.56
  • Breakfast USD 3.89
  • Towel USD 2.33

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Queenstown

YHA Queenstown Central
26.84 USD

Hostel 85.5% 80 reviews
Absoloot Value Accommodation
22.56 USD

Apartment 93.7% 68 reviews
Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter
21.01 USD

Hostel 85.2% 12 reviews
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
23.34 USD

Hostel 98.6% 99 reviews
Nomads Queenstown
20.23 USD

Hostel 94.1% 187 reviews
The Last Resort
24.90 USD

Hostel 89.5% 135 reviews
Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown
24.90 USD

Hostel 93.3% 194 reviews
Haka Lodge Queenstown
24.12 USD

Hostel 96.0% 48 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.1%

Overall Rating

97 out of 143 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Queenstown'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
71.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 117 of 121 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judi McDonald

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2014 Judi would recommend this property

Liked: Liked that we could check out at midday for an extra $10. Enjoyed the atmosphere of mostly young people & the bar next door.

Disliked: There was a gab under our door, could here people I'm the hallway talking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were a good size and it was a good friendly environment

Disliked: That there is no parking facility

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachel Rowell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: Very small dorm room

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

timothy reese

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dirty, small, didn't feel super safe

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lucía Castro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 May 2014 Lucía would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a good location

Disliked: They should have free wifi and my room was a bit dirty and smelly but the the rest of the hostel was clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

lilly andersson

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014

Liked: Its clean and the room size is great. Great location.

Disliked: Bad service. Hard to book more nights.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

24 April 2014

Liked: Nothing really, other getting a discount because the room was not as stated on the website ie: no private bathroom

Disliked: Very noisy, lots of young travellers if I had known this I would have gone elsewhere, not all backbackers or budget travellers want this type of accomodation. Maybe website or advertisting should reflect this accomodation is aimed at your overseas travellers. Room was not as advertised but they were good enough to give us a discount, I don't know whos fault this is that the website is wrong but it needs to be updated as is very misleading

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014

Liked: Good location. Cheap drinks in bar.

Disliked: Pretty big so it's hard to settle. Kitchen was pretty gross. Shower was bad - only on tap so couldn't change the temperature and it was often too hot to even get under it. Noisy at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liina Oja

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 March 2014 Liina would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Small lounge

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vito Macolino

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Vito would recommend this property

Liked: everything really, it's a great hostel.

Disliked: it is not cheap! but you do get most of what you need.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Van Davy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014

Liked: Bed = good; room=good, check-n and out = good, facilities=OK.

Disliked: Noisy. Booming "music" until 2:00 in the morning. No parking = unsafe for motorbike and attendant paniers full of gear.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014

Liked: Good location in town centre

Disliked: Worst hostel I ever stayed at!! Dirt und broken facilities everywhere! Tiny, bad smelling and dirty kitchen, disgusting to cook there! Toilettes and showers tiny and mouldy, dark and dirty as there are no windows. I stayed in a 8 bed mixed dorm which was way to small, no place to store luggage. Beds horribly uncomfortable and noisy. Every move in bed made great noise so everybody in room woke up ! Loco bar on ground level plays loud music all night that you can hear through out the whole hostel! There are many much nicer hostels around which are worth the money!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2014

Liked: right in town on main street

Disliked: the showers in the female sanctuary were scalding hot and no way to adjust the temperature, when reception were told they didn't seem all that bothered by it or to care. it was too hot very dangerous

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 February 2014

Liked: good location

Disliked: crappy version of Nomads, stay at Nomads in Queenstown!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Isabella Svensson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2014 Isabella would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and lovely staff! Good beds and bathrooms.

Disliked: Bad wi-fi, and the kitchen wasen't complete

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Tilsted

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great bar, very good location

Disliked: Bass from the bar area was a bit loud when trying to sleep :-D

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and warm.

Disliked: The kitchen was the worst i've seen. Most of the cooking pots and pans were missing handles. There was also a terrible smell in the kitchen it was just generally very grubby in there! I avoided it as much as i could.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikaela Graaf

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Mikaela would recommend this property

Liked: heating was awesome! people were great and free breakfasts and cheap drinks went a long way !

Disliked: The bathroom taps kept running and wouldnt turn off properly, apart from that nothing !

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bed. 2 of us in 8 person room.

Disliked: Not so quiet if you want to relax. Its a party place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Fischer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2013 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: You could not have a better location or a better staff.

Disliked: There was table soccer (football) in the lobby instead of table tennis.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

mary creighton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013

Liked: Good location. The staff were fairly helpful too.

Disliked: It's incredibly noisy, so if you're not interested in partying, do not stay here. The rooms were very basic and incredibly dingey, and ours stank like a locker room. It seemed as though thwy were cutting corners at every opportunity: the bunks were the uncomfiest I've ever experienced at a backpackers, the room had just three plug sockets for eight people, there end the showers hardly got warm and andlasted circa 30 seconds. I wouldn't stay here again unless I was pretty desperate.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

11 May 2013

Liked: The staff were nice.

Disliked: Very noisy because of the location. Often quite dirty and one night I had to visit about 5 different bathrooms before I found one with toilet paper.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

katinka verhagen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 April 2013

Liked: central location. (but YHA was just on the opposite site of the street. with a view over the lake according to their brochures. i'd rather had made my booking there, had i known everything about this hostel in advance.)

Disliked: it was just extremely GROSE SMELLING. the lift. the corridors. the room. the fridge. everything smelled BAD. a room with no window to open and get fresh air. it seems to me that this is even dangerous! i strongly recommend everybody to STAY AWAY from this STINKHOLE !! on the hostelbookers site they say that each guest gets a free drink of 5 dollar vallue. we stayed here 3 nights and only the last night we got the vouchers. we should have gotten them at check in, is my opinion. the lobby was very crowded and looked very disorganised oh, and they had no free internet for guest either. . WORST HOSTEL EVER !!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Michelle Riley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013

Liked: It's location, very close to the center.

Disliked: Most things, it's just awful, Base have a very good name in Australia, but the standard of the Base hostels in NZ has seriously slipped and this is one of the worst ones in NZ, I stayed at most. If you want a cheap night book on Naked hotels and get a bed for $15 and then you can't complain, but when you're paying double that for this standard it's more than disappointing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Liam Rathbone

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location. They allow to you to drink your own alcohol in the kitchen till 9pm which is better than other BASE hostels.

Disliked: Not a particularly friendly hostel, no free WIFI.