HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base Queenstown Queenstown Hostel

49 Shotover Street, PO Box 1658, Queenstown, New Zealand

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 70%

Location 90%

Safety 75%

Staff 76%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.69USD
  • Luggage Room 1.47USD
  • Towel 2.21USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 70%

Location 90%

Safety 75%

Staff 76%

Value 74%

Showing 31-39 of 39 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: good location

Disliked: crappy version of Nomads, stay at Nomads in Queenstown!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very good location and lovely staff! Good beds and bathrooms.

Disliked: Bad wi-fi, and the kitchen wasen't complete

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly staff, great bar, very good location

Disliked: Bass from the bar area was a bit loud when trying to sleep :-D

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The room was clean and warm.

Disliked: The kitchen was the worst i've seen. Most of the cooking pots and pans were missing handles. There was also a terrible smell in the kitchen it was just generally very grubby in there! I avoided it as much as i could.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: heating was awesome! people were great and free breakfasts and cheap drinks went a long way !

Disliked: The bathroom taps kept running and wouldnt turn off properly, apart from that nothing !

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: You could not have a better location or a better staff.

Disliked: There was table soccer (football) in the lobby instead of table tennis.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good bed. 2 of us in 8 person room.

Disliked: Not so quiet if you want to relax. Its a party place.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location. The staff were fairly helpful too.

Disliked: It's incredibly noisy, so if you're not interested in partying, do not stay here. The rooms were very basic and incredibly dingey, and ours stank like a locker room. It seemed as though thwy were cutting corners at every opportunity: the bunks were the uncomfiest I've ever experienced at a backpackers, the room had just three plug sockets for eight people, there end the showers hardly got warm and andlasted circa 30 seconds. I wouldn't stay here again unless I was pretty desperate.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway

Liked: The staff were nice.

Disliked: Very noisy because of the location. Often quite dirty and one night I had to visit about 5 different bathrooms before I found one with toilet paper.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: central location. (but YHA was just on the opposite site of the street. with a view over the lake according to their brochures. i'd rather had made my booking there, had i known everything about this hostel in advance.)

Disliked: it was just extremely GROSE SMELLING. the lift. the corridors. the room. the fridge. everything smelled BAD. a room with no window to open and get fresh air. it seems to me that this is even dangerous!i strongly recommend everybody to STAY AWAY from this STINKHOLE !!on the hostelbookers site they say that each guest gets a free drink of 5 dollar vallue. we stayed here 3 nights and only the last night we got the vouchers.we should have gotten them at check in, is my opinion. the lobby was very crowded and looked very disorganisedoh, and they had no free internet for guest either.. WORST HOSTEL EVER !!

Check Availability