We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Base Queenstown

Hostel | 47-49 Shotover Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

74.7% Overall Rating

102 out of 151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/03/2015)

William Over thinks…

"the en-suite we had for the 6 bed dorm which was large with plenty of space especially considering other hostel dorms we had been in"

Read all Base Queenstown reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.50
  • Breakfast USD 3.74
  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Queenstown

YHA Queenstown Central
23.94 USD

Hostel 85.5% 80 reviews
Absoloot Value Accommodation
21.70 USD

Apartment 93.0% 71 reviews
Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter
20.20 USD

Hostel 86.9% 17 reviews
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
20.95 USD

Hostel 98.5% 102 reviews
Nomads Queenstown
19.45 USD

Hostel 91.7% 191 reviews
The Last Resort
23.94 USD

Hostel 89.5% 135 reviews
Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown
23.94 USD

Hostel 92.0% 197 reviews
Haka Lodge Queenstown
21.70 USD

Hostel 95.8% 54 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.7%

Overall Rating

102 out of 151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base Queenstown'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
72.0%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 124 of 129 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bed. 2 of us in 8 person room.

Disliked: Not so quiet if you want to relax. Its a party place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Fischer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2013 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: You could not have a better location or a better staff.

Disliked: There was table soccer (football) in the lobby instead of table tennis.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

mary creighton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013

Liked: Good location. The staff were fairly helpful too.

Disliked: It's incredibly noisy, so if you're not interested in partying, do not stay here. The rooms were very basic and incredibly dingey, and ours stank like a locker room. It seemed as though thwy were cutting corners at every opportunity: the bunks were the uncomfiest I've ever experienced at a backpackers, the room had just three plug sockets for eight people, there end the showers hardly got warm and andlasted circa 30 seconds. I wouldn't stay here again unless I was pretty desperate.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

11 May 2013

Liked: The staff were nice.

Disliked: Very noisy because of the location. Often quite dirty and one night I had to visit about 5 different bathrooms before I found one with toilet paper.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

katinka verhagen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 April 2013

Liked: central location. (but YHA was just on the opposite site of the street. with a view over the lake according to their brochures. i'd rather had made my booking there, had i known everything about this hostel in advance.)

Disliked: it was just extremely GROSE SMELLING. the lift. the corridors. the room. the fridge. everything smelled BAD. a room with no window to open and get fresh air. it seems to me that this is even dangerous! i strongly recommend everybody to STAY AWAY from this STINKHOLE !! on the hostelbookers site they say that each guest gets a free drink of 5 dollar vallue. we stayed here 3 nights and only the last night we got the vouchers. we should have gotten them at check in, is my opinion. the lobby was very crowded and looked very disorganised oh, and they had no free internet for guest either. . WORST HOSTEL EVER !!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Michelle Riley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013

Liked: It's location, very close to the center.

Disliked: Most things, it's just awful, Base have a very good name in Australia, but the standard of the Base hostels in NZ has seriously slipped and this is one of the worst ones in NZ, I stayed at most. If you want a cheap night book on Naked hotels and get a bed for $15 and then you can't complain, but when you're paying double that for this standard it's more than disappointing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Liam Rathbone

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location. They allow to you to drink your own alcohol in the kitchen till 9pm which is better than other BASE hostels.

Disliked: Not a particularly friendly hostel, no free WIFI.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast! friendly and extremely helpful staff

Disliked: beds were a little old, squeaky and sensitive to motion

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect and the staff helped us a lot and answered to all our quastions

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 February 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: The kitchen was very dirty!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Roymond Olsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013 Roymond would recommend this property

Liked: Close to town center, friendly staff, relatively clean and because I booked on Hostelbookers I got a fairly good breakfast for free

Disliked: Badly equipped kitchen and room was directly above the bar.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 February 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: bad service, beds werent clean, no responsibity taken by staff.understaffed for a busy time period

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013

Liked: Not alot

Disliked: Most things

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stacey Henson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2013

Liked: The staff were great

Disliked: It had a bit of a dingy feel to it

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central and good atmosphere

Disliked: not a lot at all

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the free breakfast that was offered when you book trough hostelbookers. The beds were comfortable enough.

Disliked: The toilets were often dirty.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ben Ng

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

18 December 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people!

Disliked: no toliet paper in few of the bathrooms lol

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient and good value.

Disliked: The showers were limiting.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2012

Liked: Location, easy to meet people

Disliked: Grumpy staff, alcohol limitations.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tim Inderhees

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 December 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: ..

Disliked: they didnt know about the 5$ freedrink i should get

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: too much noise from guests

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012

Liked: good ambience and nice staff

Disliked: expensive, no free wifi, kitchen timetable and noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STACEY WILKINSON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 STACEY would recommend this property

Liked: The location is spot on, the bar next door has something going on every night, the hostel workers are really sociable and drink with the travellers most nights, the movie room/common room areas are excellent places to hang out and meet others...all in all, awesome!

Disliked: Some people got free breakfast, others didn't. The variation between prices of dorms...some were paying $17.50, others $27 for the same bed. Book online as it's much more expensive to just turn up!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

carlena Probert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012 carlena would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, large kitchen and lounge areas. Good value if you are only looking for somewhere to sleep and store your stuff.

Disliked: Our dorm was tiny, there were few plugs and it smelled like feet! The bathrooms were also tiny and there was a timer on the shower of 15 seconds, you have to keep on pressing the button, little annoying, the timer should be for a lot longer. Most definitely a party hostel, there were people running around all night shouting.