We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA Queenstown Central

Hostel | 48A Shotover Street, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

85.5% Overall Rating

76 out of 80 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/01/2013)

Ruth Reynolds thinks…

"This was our first stay in a YHA and it was very good. We had a triple room for two of us so it had a double and single bed and a good size ensuite. There was a kettle in the room and a flat screen…"

Read all YHA Queenstown Central reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

YHA Cancellations Policy • To cancel any bookings a NZ$5.00 cancellation fee applies per transaction. • For cancellations made before 6pm the day before arrival - full refund. • For cancellations made after 6pm the day before arrival - no refund for the first night. • Cancellations on bookings made on the day of arrival will receive no refund for the first night, normal cancellation policy applies for subsequent nights. • If you do not advise the Hostel the non-arrival clause applies.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Queenstown

Base Queenstown
16.34 USD

Hostel 75.1% 143 reviews
Absoloot Value Accommodation
21.01 USD

Apartment 93.7% 68 reviews
Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter
21.01 USD

Hostel 85.2% 12 reviews
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
21.79 USD

Hostel 98.6% 99 reviews
Nomads Queenstown
18.67 USD

Hostel 94.1% 187 reviews
The Last Resort
24.90 USD

Hostel 89.5% 135 reviews
Haka Lodge Queenstown
22.56 USD

Hostel 95.4% 46 reviews
Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown
24.90 USD

Hostel 93.3% 193 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

76 out of 80 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Queenstown Central'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 60 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central.

Disliked: Noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aileen Power

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2014 Aileen would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect central location. Awesome team, thanks guys

Disliked: Aileen left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: 1 toilet roll for 3 people. No carpark.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Crichton

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: It had everything I needed for my short stay in Queenstown

Disliked: Nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ruth Reynolds

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 January 2013 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: This was our first stay in a YHA and it was very good. We had a triple room for two of us so it had a double and single bed and a good size ensuite. There was a kettle in the room and a flat screen TV. It did get quite stuffy in the room with no air con but the windows opened a little. The kitchen and communal seating area was spotless. Lots of cooking equipment and crockery and good recycling facilities. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. One word of warning, take the door code with you as the door is locked at 10pm with no other way in!

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location excellent

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good position, across the rd from bus transfers, middle of town. Rooms were a nice size, clean and tidy, heater & bathroom were nice. $1 for 15 mins internet was pretty reasonable. Kitchen & eating areas were quite nice, lots of board games and stuff too :)

Disliked: ONLY 1 PHONE!!! It is a PAIN when you NEED to make a call and someone has been using it for 30 mins, and the staff wouldn't call to confirm times for transfers or anything that they havn't booked (other YHA hostel staff have been more than helpful in this regard, just not here). Kitchen was a little small and lacking some essentials like things to clean with. Was a nice hostel, however the people there at the time and the staff meant it didn't have a very nice, friendly feel...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Brian Greenyer

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: The nearness to the centre and the view from the lounge/kitchen.

Disliked: Lounge and kitchen closed at 23.00 hrs and this was bad as there is nowhere else to sit. Hostels are about meeting people and not getting tucked in to bed at 23.00hrs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

cesar lopez

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

13 February 2012 cesar would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendly, and location, Queenstown is an small town and this hostel is in the center in front of bars and places for eat.

Disliked: Some times could be little noise at nights, but not much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, great location, brilliant staff, excellent kitchen facilitiies with great view from common area

Disliked: Internet connection was rubbish

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mette Batsberg Nielsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Mette Batsberg would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great helping with booking tours and the location is perfect!

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location has to be the best aspect of this Hostel as you can walk pretty much anywhere of interest, if you are going for nightlife all the bars and clubs are right around the corner. We stayed in private Dble room and found it to be very clean and not too noisy. All trips can be booked through reception if you require. Have stayed here twice and will always will do in the future when staying in queens town.

Disliked: The hostel is not cheap for a Youth Hostel but this is Queenstown so its to be expected and I still think it is one of the cheapest, apart from that there is nothing i dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located central in queenstown it is a great place to stay and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LIH JIUAN CHIN

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 LIH JIUAN would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Right in city centre. Surrounding is so happening

Disliked: Small room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is so close to absolutely everywhere, literally opposite the best bars, restaurants and information centres. It was clean, I liked the TVs in the room, the internet was fairly priced, the kitchen was wonderfully big and the staff were wonderfully helpful and fun!

Disliked: You can hear a lot of street noise until about 4am which is annoying if you have an early morning, the kitchen closes too early - I needed a lemsip before bed but because it was after 10 I just jad to live with it! There also isn't a huge amount of character, the interior, although clean and tidy is pretty standard and boring. A little expensive for a hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and nice location plus good price

Disliked: none

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: The vibe wasn't the best

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kitchen and tv area was a very good place to chat with other travellers

Disliked: the kitchen and tv area should be open later

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen and common space was good.It is also right in the centre of town, which was great.They changed our towels daily If we wanted

Disliked: The view from our window was of the side of a building... But you just get that I guess.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Matthew Wagstaff

28 December 2009 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was clean and well equiped and the view from the kitchen window was amazing!!

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A big place, rooms were clean and well presented. We stayed for 6 nights and had our room cleaned each day. Staff weren't that exctied to be there, but were still helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

29 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location ... only the knocks by the room service/house keeping every single morning got on my nerves a bit (stayed in a private room); they should really have "do not disturb"-signs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Great Staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Colette Finch

20 July 2009 Colette would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here in peak ski season so the only rooms available were private double en suites. They were fantastic though! It had a kettle with tea and coffee in the room. It also had its own TV. There was also an extra single bed in there. It was so comfy! There was a draft coming in from the windows which made the room a bit chilly but we just put a bit of gaffa tape over the windows which made a massive difference. Great location. Right in the center of town. Would definitely recommend staying here if you don't mind paying a bit more

Disliked: Colette left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent and clean just like a motel and it is the BEST location ever. There was all sorts of people staying there, backpackers, families, friends etc you can walk everywhere as you cant get accom closer. We stayed in a double with ensuite well worth the money! Good price on hostelbookers too!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.