HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of YHA Queenstown Lakefront Queenstown

Hostel

88-90 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 89%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Important Information

If you are making a booking for 10 people or more, please contact the hostel directly. Group bookings such as these should not be made through this website as reservations of this size cannot be guaranteed by the hostel. Even if you receive confirmation from this site we may be unable to host your group and so we reserve the right to decline bookings of 10 people or more.

YHA Cancellations Policy
• To cancel any bookings a NZ$5.00 cancellation fee applies per transaction.
• For cancellations made before 6pm the day before arrival - full refund.
• For cancellations made after 6pm the day before arrival - no refund for the first night.
• Cancellations on bookings made on the day of arrival will receive no refund for the first night, normal cancellation policy applies for subsequent nights.
• If you do not advise the Hostel the non-arrival clause applies.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 89%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Its position in regard to the lake front and the town - excellent!

Disliked: We had a twin room - would have liked a shelf or a little table to put a few things on ...

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff were very helpful and willing to let me store luggage for three days AFTER I had checked out, for free.

Disliked: My room smelt like feet really bad when I first checked in, after a couple hours of leaving the window open it was fine.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent facilities. Clean and tidy, friendly staff.

Disliked: Front desk didn't open on time which meant I had to carry a rented blanket with me all day (on a bus tour) and return it that night, which was an inconvenience.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Lovely location, views of the lake from your bedroom window. Nice atmosphere

Disliked: Everything was lovely

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free wifi, although it was due to a problem with the password that it was free. Normally you probably need to pay for it..

Disliked: Small rooms

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location! The room was good and all the facilities :) very awesome trip

Disliked: No dislikes, just the door was difficult to shut and lock

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cleanliness of the place and friendly staff.

Disliked: No free wifi and twin room was very small.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Its a nice spot for the Queenstownarea, near the City Centre and a good view on the Lake.Its a low price for the Area with very good and clean facilitys.

Disliked: I prefer smaller hostels with more charakter, the YHA is a big, very commercial. For this kind of Hostel it's a good one, but I don't realy like this kind of Hostel thats the only thing I dislike a bit about the Hostel ;)

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Has everything you need in a hoste. Best kitchen I have used in my time in New Zealand. Beds aren't a that creaky and noisy compared to some.

Disliked: Only two plug sockets in an 8 bed dorm! Your options are but an extension cable or charge your item in the corridor where anyone could take them.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Great place to stay..great views and facilities!! It's not a noisy place!!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability