We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hippo Lodge

Hostel | 4 Anderson Heights, Queenstown, New Zealand 9300

86.3% Overall Rating

64 out of 69 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/02/2014)

Sinead Mattock thinks…

"Everything. We booked a budget double and were upgraded to a better one due to space. When we booked to return they gave us the better one at the same price, so another upgrade! The staff were…"

Read all Hippo Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Queenstown?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Queenstown

Haka Lodge Queenstown
22.57 USD

Hostel 95.4% 46 reviews
Sir Cedric's Bungi Backpackers
19.46 USD

Hostel 78.4% 7 reviews
The Last Resort
24.91 USD

Hostel 89.5% 135 reviews
Melbourne Lodge B & B
54.10 USD

Guesthouse 72.0% 21 reviews
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
21.02 USD

Hostel 98.6% 98 reviews
Nomads Queenstown
18.68 USD

Hostel 94.4% 186 reviews
Coronation Lodge
58.38 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sir Cedric's Southern Laughter
20.24 USD

Hostel 85.2% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

64 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hippo Lodge'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 47 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sinead Mattock

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2014 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. We booked a budget double and were upgraded to a better one due to space. When we booked to return they gave us the better one at the same price, so another upgrade! The staff were really helpful, and took the time to explain the different activities and prices to us. Also has incredible views down over Queenstown,

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

emily mcgarry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 emily would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay at Hippo Lodge! It has a great atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. You get given a bit of free internet for every night you stay, which was cool, and the location was great (although you do have to walk up a bit of a steep hill to get to it!). We would definitely recommend this place, and would stay here again.

Disliked: emily left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Erika Linero

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013

Liked: Nice view of the city and the lake harbour

Disliked: Our room was next to the lounge and camping area, if you want to get up early, or rest at night this is not the place, so many young people making noise until 2am. Also there were just one bathroom (1 toillet, 1 shower) for at least 5 rooms. Kitchen was messy and no one was taking care of it, so if someone have a party the night before, you had to have your breakfast in a messy place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hippo lodge was located close to the centre of town, about 4 minutes, and the staff were very helpful. The rooms were well-heated and the kitchen and bathrooms clean and well-equipped. The showers were also very nice (and warm!).

Disliked: I did not like how there were no staff past 11PM, however we did travel during the shoulder season.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ravi Prakash

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

15 December 2011 Ravi would recommend this property

Liked: The general vibe of the place was excellent, great view overlooking queenstown and the staff were very helpful and friendly

Disliked: room that we stayed in (private twin) was slightly more cramped than other places we've stayed.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rannoch Yule

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2011 Rannoch would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were nice, kitchen was well stocked, bathrooms clean, and plenty of room in the dorms. 5 min trek up the hill but then you get the views of the lake.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price,location and view was awesome

Disliked: Wasn't much to complain abot but felt the bed linen needed updating.There was hair all over fitted sheet so I washed them and it was still there!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011

Liked: nice view

Disliked: Basement room so smelt moldy and the noise of people upstasirs made it difficult to sleep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Only downside is having to lug all your belongings up the very steep hill leading to it. Still the view from the hostel of the town and lake is kind of worth it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruben Sanchez Moragues

15 March 2010 Ruben would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, wonderful place and views

Disliked: Ruben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Coleborn

01 January 2010 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Convenient and good value

Disliked: Nick left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kerstin Weber

29 June 2009 Kerstin would recommend this property

Liked: nice and small, homy atmosphere and fitness includsed, because you have to hike up a really steep hill to reach it:-)

Disliked: Kerstin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Seddon

26 February 2009 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Yes, the hill is a bit steep, but it's not that long and once you do it a few times it's fine. The hostel itself is a real home away from home. After staying a few days I was sad to leave and wish we'd stayed longer. The views are better than any you get from the hostels downtown too.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and discounts on local activities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Richards

27 January 2009 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great view, great staff, great set up. Very relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Mahboub

20 January 2009 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and the best view in Queenstown!

Disliked: Holly left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Gordon Conradie

28 December 2008 Gordon would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: Gordon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Cleary

18 November 2008 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: View, friendliness and character

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Louise Thomson

11 November 2008 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very spacious, you can book any activity through the hostel and receive a $2 discount on everthing you book.

Disliked: Louise left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nigel Conte

15 October 2008 Nigel would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has great views across the lake and mountains and is only a short walk to centre of town!

Disliked: Nigel left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 August 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff made this hostel going out of their way to help you enjoy Queenstown. There was also a great view of the town, however this ment that you were futher away form the town center.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joe Cole

13 June 2008 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: We had an awesome view from both our room and the kitchen/living area. very friendly staff and brilliant hostel. only negative was the STEEP hill from town to the hostel!

Disliked: Joe left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Clark

27 May 2008 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rebecca Scoons

05 May 2008 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful, nice relaxing lounge/kitchen areas which are in each block so don't get over-crowded.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sally-Ann Haw

30 April 2008 Sally-Ann would recommend this property

Liked: The view over Queenstown is probably worth the climb up that hill :o/ Great place to meet fellow travellers

Disliked: Sally-Ann left no negative feedback.