We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Picton hostels

Reviews of Sequoia Lodge Backpackers

Hostel | 3A Nelson Square, Picton, New Zealand 7220

89.6% Overall Rating

88 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/03/2014)

"Friendly staff, free pick ups from the ferry, and drop offs. Delicious free chocolate pudding in the evening, and free wifi, as well as oil, herbs and spices for cooking ."

Read all Sequoia Lodge Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Picton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Picton

The Villa Backpackers Lodge
22.07 USD

Hostel 94.5% 13 reviews
Fat Cod Backpackers
18.80 USD

Hostel 75.3% 78 reviews
YHA Anakiwa Lodge
24.53 USD

Hostel 97.5% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

88 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sequoia Lodge Backpackers'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 82 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location to the town center and ferry terminal

Disliked: No locks on the doors.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, free pick ups from the ferry, and drop offs. Delicious free chocolate pudding in the evening, and free wifi, as well as oil, herbs and spices for cooking .

Disliked: Only 2 toilets and showers between the dorms, so pretty crowded!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Hulme

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: All good. Excellent hostel.

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great atmosphere and good beds.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi is awesome. Very cosy.

Disliked: They had no locks on doors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Polly Smeaton

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2013 Polly would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel we stayed at in New Zealand! Our twin room was like a B&B room! Super clean and spacious. Great atmosphere at the hostel which is designed to get people socialising, not a party hostel but very friendly. A short walk to the centre of town it's well-located for parking etc.

Disliked: Polly left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Don & Esone Richards

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

29 October 2013 Don & Esone would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret Paulsen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place to stay, excellent value for money and not too far from the centre of Picton (10-15 minute walk). Breakfast included and 8pm dessert (chocolate pudding and icecream) every night plus a wonderful hot tub to relax in. The best value for money accommodation we've ever stayed in. Owner very friendly and approachable. A great place to meet people from all over the world.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, big enough room. Cleanest hostel I have stayed in, lovely kitchen facilities, with plenty of pots and pans, and storage space.

Disliked: No complaints

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michaela Gibbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Possibly the best hostel we've stayed at!! Excellent rooms, showers, kitchen and overall atmosphere. Plenty of car parking space. And FREE chocolate cake every night....!!! YES!!

Disliked: Michaela left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely room - really cosy and nice, and set away from the main house, so really secluded and quiet. The guy on reception when we arrived was really helpful and friendly, and although we arrived a couple of hours early, was able to check us in no porblem. He also directed us to a petrol station, and came to get us when our wine tour bus arrived! The chocolate pudding in the evening was tasty, and a nice touch. As is free tea and coffee and free wifi! The location is fine - easy walk to the centre and port, though the hostel puts on a free shuttle to the port, which is great. Overall a lovely hostel...can highly recommend it!

Disliked: Nothing!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

peter sheppard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2013 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff and good service,

Disliked: Little far out of main town

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: + very friendly owner, always trying to keep the kitchen clean, very helpful + hot tub + free pudding every evening

Disliked: - toilets and showers a bit dirty / damaged - some of the people staying were a bit strange (i guess long-term residents)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not what we were expecting from a backpackers. It was clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose van Diggelen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the (free!) chocolate pudding and icecream!!

Disliked: Jose left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas El-Hariry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING! FREE wifi, FREE chocolate pudding (every night!?) FREE shuttle to Ferry port. FREE Private Hot tub. Very friendly and helpful staff (we were shown to our room!?) Big kitchen with plenty of utensils. Cosy tv room with plenty of DVDs and SKY tv. Hammocks, giant chess and lounge area.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Dunn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

07 November 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, secure, friendly

Disliked: Lacks a bit of atmosphere the two times i have been there

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin Kendrick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, hot tub, good rooms, very nice kitchen oh and the amazing pudding in the evenings, mmmm

Disliked: ...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi is very good , the pudding chocolate cake every night is awesome. you can get free bike to go to Town and to the main walk next to the Marina. Very nice.

Disliked: there is no key to access to your room, which means everybody can come in. You have to trust the other backpacker

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

heather wellam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 heather would recommend this property

Liked: The seqouia lodge had a great sociable atmosphere and I met some great people on my stay there. The staff were friendly and helpful - and the free chocolate pudding was a nice touch when we arrived after a long drive!

Disliked: Our bedroom didn't have a lock on it. There was only one plug socket in the room (bit of a problem when everyone has cameras/phones etc that need charging!)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham Hopper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed here for the night but seemed a clean and comfortable place with helpful staff. After hours check in was very easy

Disliked: Graham left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Reinhard Holzinger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012

Liked: very friendly staff & free shuttle service to and from the train station and ferry terminal

Disliked: it was very windy in the hostel (it was sometimes really cold)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Merinda Backway

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Merinda would recommend this property

Liked: Free choc pudding!! A quite, calm atmposhere and helpful staff, good sized kitchen.

Disliked: If your looking for a party it wont be here

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pudding and ice cream, great tv room, plenty of wifi time every day 4 free, really friendly staff, very clean, herbs andspices to cook with, this was one of the best hostels i've stayed in in New Zealand.

Disliked: The dorm roon next to the bathroom was a bit unfortunate, asyou hear the pipes, and the location is a wee bit from the ferry terminal (but they make up for that with a free shuttle)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Brian Greenyer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was good.

Disliked: The bed was very high and uncomfortable. The room was very basic. We found this hostel to be one of our less favourite ones. We were in an ensuite.


See all Picton hostels