HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paihia hostels

Reviews of Bay Adventurer - Apartments & Backpacker Resort

Apartment | 28 Kings Road, Paihia, New Zealand 0247

82.5% Overall Rating

46 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2014)

"Very good facilties. Its free to borrow tablets with internet on them, as well as kayaks, bikes, towels etc. Very good location. Rooms are basic, but clean, and toilet/shower facilities are very good."

Read all Bay Adventurer - Apartments & Backpacker Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • BBQ area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.78
  • Towel USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All cancellations and changes made before 12 noon 2 days prior to arrival are free of charge (7 days between 25th December and 10th January). Changes may be made later if availability permits only. Cancellations within 2 days of arrival (7 days between 25/12 - 10/01) will be charged 1 nights accommodation. No Shows will be charged the full booked amount. For group bookings please contact Bay Adventurer for individual policy.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paihia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paihia

Saltwater Lodge
21.79 USD

Hostel 88.8% 75 reviews
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
19.45 USD

Hostel 82.9% 72 reviews
BASE Bay of Islands
19.45 USD

Hostel 79.6% 22 reviews
Baystay
56.41 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

46 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bay Adventurer - Apartments & Backpacker Resort'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good facilties. Its free to borrow tablets with internet on them, as well as kayaks, bikes, towels etc. Very good location. Rooms are basic, but clean, and toilet/shower facilities are very good.

Disliked: Staff aren't very professional. One day the reception suddenly closed without warning for the afternoon. Not very useful if you have stored luggage there on your checkout day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, good kitchen

Disliked: No heaters in the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 April 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and there was plenty of facilities.

Disliked: the property is arranged over long rectangular building, with the rooms facing out to the outside area, where there are tables, where a lot eat...when i was there-loud music both nights, but at 11pm, they were reminded that all noise is to cease, which is what happened. just good to know if you're up very early!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014

Liked: Room size was good - larger Than average. It also had extra features like a couch and tv

Disliked: Bit rundown. Bathroom was a bit faulty. Kitchen was below par. Staff were invisible/ a bit unfriendly

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere at night, great location to town.

Disliked: We booked a room for 5 people to stay together and they did not have that reserved when we got there, they were so booked they had people staying in the computer room and had to split us up. A plus, they actually got all 5 of us beds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susanne Mayr

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: We simply had a great time there and we would definitely recommend staying at bay adventurer! Awesome place, great value for money!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Gribova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to all the sites, good sleep.

Disliked: Nothing particular.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close together. Friendly.

Disliked: The kitchen was cluttered and messy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere

Disliked: Further than 5 minutes walk away from the centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Davie

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The spa!

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

emily mcgarry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013

Liked: The location was good and they had a great video collection.

Disliked: There wasn't a good atmosphere, and the staff were not very friendly; especially the woman. There was never anyone at the reception desk and you had to ring a doorbell to get anyones attention; this wouldn't be a problem except that the woman would seem annoyed when you did this! Access to a pool and spa is cool, however they were never open whilst we were there and looked dirty anyway. There was no oven, and it's definitely not good value for money; this was the most expensive place we stayed in new zealand, and our least favourite by far.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Mills

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

23 October 2012 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect and the atmosphere was brilliant, plenty of friendly travellers around to chat to...

Disliked: Francesca left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

anja madhvani

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 anja would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms with lockers and comfortable beds with reading lights. kitchen was a bit grimy, could do with updating. great showers but you have to go outside to get to the bathroom, but the walkway is covered so it's not really an issue. pool area is nice and there is a hot tub. they also have a kayak at the beach that you can use for free which is nice.

Disliked: we enjoyed it here but were really annoyed when it came to checking out. the sign says office opens at 7.30am. we had a bus to catch at 8am which was a good ten minute walk from the hostel. the guy at the desk was 20 minutes late and seemed pretty hung over. We were in a rush to get our key deposit back and he took a long time and did not appologise for our wait. I found him to be rude and really unhelpful and this really lowered my opinion of the hostel. lucky for us our bus was late otherwise we would have missed it and had to book again, which would have cost us a fair bit. saying that, the lady that checked us in was lovely and really helpful. shame about the guy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lina Jansson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2012 Lina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was close to everything, and the staff was open and friendly. It felt like they didn't think that they're better then the travelers, which I know they can pretend to be at some points on other hostels/accommodations. The rooms were spacious and I even like the rule that it should be quite after 11 pm, if there's anyone that needs to sleep.

Disliked: That the room wasn't as clean as it could have been. (for example under the beds).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012

Liked: Loation was OK, but the apartment was more sparce than anticipated. For very small expenditure it could have been much better eg; (mor/better furniture)

Disliked: The apartment we had had a poor outlook (to laundry cupboard).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Blaz Samec

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Blaz would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money! also free bikes and a kayak for guests!!

Disliked: /

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is really good, especially hot pool and swimming pool are awesome!

Disliked: You have to go outside to get to toilets and shower which can be very cold in spring :S

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Adhiraj Saxena Saxena

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011

Liked: BBQ

Disliked: The Manager. She is rude. She and her nasty "i'll take your key deposit away" notes spoil the whole atmosphere.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2011

Liked: Close to the water where our activities were.

Disliked: It was so noisy, the people there acted like they were at a party all night. There was only one toliet and one shower in the private room section which is RIDICULOUS because it almost made us miss our tour because we were unable to shower because someone else was in it. The staff wasn't there after 8pm but did leave our key out. Super noisy.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and comfortable rooms, massive kitchen to cook in, nice pool area, well located, nothing to complain about at all!

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mario Dal Ponte

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2011 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: pool

Disliked: The internet access is quite expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pool, good kitchen, nice people

Disliked: a little bit loud at night

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 December 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: to noisy

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great kitchen

Disliked: commnunity room to small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Clarke

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 July 2010 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed the Bay Adventurer a few times before, and keep coming back because we know that it's exactly what we want and need - clean, friendly, sweet location - close to all the bars, but far enough away that it's quiet. Props to the staff, they've taken awesome care of us... we'll be back again I'm sure

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.


See all Paihia hostels