HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bay Adventurer Apartments and Backpackers Resort Paihia Hostel

28 Kings Rd, Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 74%

Staff 80%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.16USD
  • Towel 1.43USD

Important Information

All cancellations and changes made before 12 noon 2 days prior to arrival are free of charge (7 days between 25th December and 10th January).
Changes may be made later if availability permits only.
Cancellations within 2 days of arrival (7 days between 25/12 - 10/01) will be charged 1 nights accommodation.
No Shows will be charged the full booked amount.
For group bookings please contact Bay Adventurer for individual policy.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paihia?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 76%

Location 90%

Safety 74%

Staff 80%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is excellent

Disliked: The lock in our dorm did not work

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Booking through hostelbookers apparently never went through. We had booked a private room and had to take a dorm for one night, which we were told would be private. The room itself was very dirty, full of sand in the beds and grime on the bathroom floor as well as having no toilet paper. Their method of moving the other guest was to leave a key for another dorm taped onto a note on the door of our new (private) dorm room. This other guest loudly came back to the original room at 12:30am, making a bunch of noise having sex until 2 then woke us up again at 4 rustling around before leaving 45 minutes later. We went to the office at the end of the day (as we had a tour booked for the day) and asked for our money back, all of which was given except the deposit made here. The staff showed no interest in our safety concerns re: the key being left outside on a piece of paper. As they had intended for us to move to a private room the following night, the old room was made up through the day for the next guests. When we went back to the room to get our stuff, the beds had been remade with the same dirty, sandy sheets and blankets and the bathroom remained uncleaned.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly and good location.

Disliked: Scruffy and generally could do with refreshing.With not a lot of effort - a paintjob, a few new sheets and small touches, like plants inside it could be very nice but in fact looks a bit unkempt at the moment. No bathmat, no kettle.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything, especially the atmosphere!

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is good as it is near the beach, but bad because it is too close to other hostels and bars.It is set in a very party environment, which we werent looking for and couldnt avoid.

Disliked: This is a good place to stay only if you are working there.Lots of guests would work there for accomodation, creating therefore their own group.Also the manager would organize activities for the staff group as well- bbq, parties.None for the guests.At 23h was strict lockout but up to then you could get no sleep due to the heavy drinking/partying outside. In the next morning it wasnt nice to wake up to the smell of tobbaco and alcohol in the common areas .The bathroom (girls) was always dirty whenever i went there,even directly after cleaning - not very high standards from hangover staff.Basically, if you want to party and be in a festival mood this is the place. If other than that, dont come here.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: nothing in particular

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: There were a lot of people drinking all day long, leaving the kitchen disgustingly dirty and the toilets puked all over. And it seemed like nobody of the staff really cared. They told us everything would be fine after New Year's Eve, but it wasn't. To stop the noise, everyone got kicked out at 11 p.m. in a rude way and we weren't even allowed to smoke a single cigarette in peace after 11 p.m.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good facilties. Its free to borrow tablets with internet on them, as well as kayaks, bikes, towels etc. Very good location. Rooms are basic, but clean, and toilet/shower facilities are very good.

Disliked: Staff aren't very professional. One day the reception suddenly closed without warning for the afternoon. Not very useful if you have stored luggage there on your checkout day.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, good kitchen

Disliked: No heaters in the rooms

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability