We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Paihia hostels

Reviews of Bay Adventurer - Apartments & Backpacker Resort

Apartment | 28 Kings Road, Paihia, New Zealand 0247

79.0% Overall Rating

54 out of 69 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/01/2015)

Joao Almeida thinks…

"The location is good as it is near the beach, but bad because it is too close to other hostels and bars. It is set in a very party environment, which we werent looking for and couldnt avoid."

Read all Bay Adventurer - Apartments & Backpacker Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Late check-out
  • BBQ area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.13
  • Towel USD 1.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All cancellations and changes made before 12 noon 2 days prior to arrival are free of charge (7 days between 25th December and 10th January). Changes may be made later if availability permits only. Cancellations within 2 days of arrival (7 days between 25/12 - 10/01) will be charged 1 nights accommodation. No Shows will be charged the full booked amount. For group bookings please contact Bay Adventurer for individual policy.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Paihia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Paihia

Saltwater Lodge
19.97 USD

Hostel 89.7% 79 reviews
The Rock Overnight Cruise
157.61 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
15.69 USD

Hostel 83.3% 77 reviews
BASE Bay of Islands
20.68 USD

Hostel 80.8% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

54 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bay Adventurer - Apartments & Backpacker Resort'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
80.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 60 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent

Disliked: The lock in our dorm did not work

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Martin Hunter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2015

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Booking through hostelbookers apparently never went through. We had booked a private room and had to take a dorm for one night, which we were told would be private. The room itself was very dirty, full of sand in the beds and grime on the bathroom floor as well as having no toilet paper. Their method of moving the other guest was to leave a key for another dorm taped onto a note on the door of our new (private) dorm room. This other guest loudly came back to the original room at 12:30am, making a bunch of noise having sex until 2 then woke us up again at 4 rustling around before leaving 45 minutes later. We went to the office at the end of the day (as we had a tour booked for the day) and asked for our money back, all of which was given except the deposit made here. The staff showed no interest in our safety concerns re: the key being left outside on a piece of paper. As they had intended for us to move to a private room the following night, the old room was made up through the day for the next guests. When we went back to the room to get our stuff, the beds had been remade with the same dirty, sandy sheets and blankets and the bathroom remained uncleaned.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2015

Liked: Friendly and good location.

Disliked: Scruffy and generally could do with refreshing. With not a lot of effort - a paintjob, a few new sheets and small touches, like plants inside it could be very nice but in fact looks a bit unkempt at the moment. No bathmat, no kettle.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lemmer Anna

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: There were a lot of people drinking all day long, leaving the kitchen disgustingly dirty and the toilets puked all over. And it seemed like nobody of the staff really cared. They told us everything would be fine after New Year's Eve, but it wasn't. To stop the noise, everyone got kicked out at 11 p.m. in a rude way and we weren't even allowed to smoke a single cigarette in peace after 11 p.m.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 January 2015

Liked: nothing in particular

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Joao Almeida

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2015

Liked: The location is good as it is near the beach, but bad because it is too close to other hostels and bars. It is set in a very party environment, which we werent looking for and couldnt avoid.

Disliked: This is a good place to stay only if you are working there.Lots of guests would work there for accomodation, creating therefore their own group.Also the manager would organize activities for the staff group as well- bbq, parties. None for the guests. At 23h was strict lockout but up to then you could get no sleep due to the heavy drinking/partying outside. In the next morning it wasnt nice to wake up to the smell of tobbaco and alcohol in the common areas .The bathroom (girls) was always dirty whenever i went there,even directly after cleaning - not very high standards from hangover staff. Basically, if you want to party and be in a festival mood this is the place. If other than that, dont come here.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, especially the atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good facilties. Its free to borrow tablets with internet on them, as well as kayaks, bikes, towels etc. Very good location. Rooms are basic, but clean, and toilet/shower facilities are very good.

Disliked: Staff aren't very professional. One day the reception suddenly closed without warning for the afternoon. Not very useful if you have stored luggage there on your checkout day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, good kitchen

Disliked: No heaters in the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 April 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and there was plenty of facilities.

Disliked: the property is arranged over long rectangular building, with the rooms facing out to the outside area, where there are tables, where a lot eat...when i was there-loud music both nights, but at 11pm, they were reminded that all noise is to cease, which is what happened. just good to know if you're up very early!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014

Liked: Room size was good - larger Than average. It also had extra features like a couch and tv

Disliked: Bit rundown. Bathroom was a bit faulty. Kitchen was below par. Staff were invisible/ a bit unfriendly

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere at night, great location to town.

Disliked: We booked a room for 5 people to stay together and they did not have that reserved when we got there, they were so booked they had people staying in the computer room and had to split us up. A plus, they actually got all 5 of us beds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susanne Mayr

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: We simply had a great time there and we would definitely recommend staying at bay adventurer! Awesome place, great value for money!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Gribova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to all the sites, good sleep.

Disliked: Nothing particular.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close together. Friendly.

Disliked: The kitchen was cluttered and messy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere

Disliked: Further than 5 minutes walk away from the centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Davie

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The spa!

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

emily mcgarry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013

Liked: The location was good and they had a great video collection.

Disliked: There wasn't a good atmosphere, and the staff were not very friendly; especially the woman. There was never anyone at the reception desk and you had to ring a doorbell to get anyones attention; this wouldn't be a problem except that the woman would seem annoyed when you did this! Access to a pool and spa is cool, however they were never open whilst we were there and looked dirty anyway. There was no oven, and it's definitely not good value for money; this was the most expensive place we stayed in new zealand, and our least favourite by far.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Mills

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

23 October 2012 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect and the atmosphere was brilliant, plenty of friendly travellers around to chat to...

Disliked: Francesca left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

anja madhvani

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 anja would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms with lockers and comfortable beds with reading lights. kitchen was a bit grimy, could do with updating. great showers but you have to go outside to get to the bathroom, but the walkway is covered so it's not really an issue. pool area is nice and there is a hot tub. they also have a kayak at the beach that you can use for free which is nice.

Disliked: we enjoyed it here but were really annoyed when it came to checking out. the sign says office opens at 7.30am. we had a bus to catch at 8am which was a good ten minute walk from the hostel. the guy at the desk was 20 minutes late and seemed pretty hung over. We were in a rush to get our key deposit back and he took a long time and did not appologise for our wait. I found him to be rude and really unhelpful and this really lowered my opinion of the hostel. lucky for us our bus was late otherwise we would have missed it and had to book again, which would have cost us a fair bit. saying that, the lady that checked us in was lovely and really helpful. shame about the guy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lina Jansson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2012 Lina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was close to everything, and the staff was open and friendly. It felt like they didn't think that they're better then the travelers, which I know they can pretend to be at some points on other hostels/accommodations. The rooms were spacious and I even like the rule that it should be quite after 11 pm, if there's anyone that needs to sleep.

Disliked: That the room wasn't as clean as it could have been. (for example under the beds).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012

Liked: Loation was OK, but the apartment was more sparce than anticipated. For very small expenditure it could have been much better eg; (mor/better furniture)

Disliked: The apartment we had had a poor outlook (to laundry cupboard).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Blaz Samec

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Blaz would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money! also free bikes and a kayak for guests!!

Disliked: /

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is really good, especially hot pool and swimming pool are awesome!

Disliked: You have to go outside to get to toilets and shower which can be very cold in spring :S


See all Paihia hostels