We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Nelson, New Zealand

95.6%
11 reviews Book Now 
1

Beach Hostel

Hostel
25 Muritai Street, Tahuna, Nelson, New Zealand 7011

11 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Beach Hostel

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 98% Facilities - 96% Safety - 98%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 96%
Susan Gorman
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Susan would recommend this property 18 February 2015

After a stay in Wellington, we were ready for a calmer place to stay. Beach Hostel was great for this! It's close to Tahunanui Beach and has a lovely garden all around it. Our room was a double with sink and bathrooms across the hall. It was comfy and roomy, clean, too. The Wifi worked well, the kitchen was large and functional, well equipped. The location is in a nearby suburb of Nelson so we rode the bus into the CBD. Several nice cafes and pubs were nearby as well as a wine and liquor store. Food shopping and other conveniences were very limited without a car, however, so next time, we may try a hostel that's closer to the CBD.

Jörg Stoll
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Jörg would recommend this property 18 March 2014

Very nice Hostel. Very clean and with all the amenities you`d need. 5 min bike ride from city centre. 30 secs from the beach. :)

94.8%
17 reviews Book Now 
2

The Bug Backpackers

Hostel
226 Vanguard Street, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

17 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Bug Backpackers

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 98% Facilities - 96% Safety - 97%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 98%
Sam greening
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Sam would recommend this property 06 February 2015

Loved everything about this hostel, super friendly staff, great facilities, free wifi, free tea and coffee, good free wifi, clean rooms and great beds. Free bike hire was a bonus and free pick up from the naked bus stop too. Definitely recommend this place!!

Pippa wood
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Pippa would recommend this property 31 January 2015

The couple running are lovely and the beds are comfortable and rooms large ? enjoyed my stay

94.5%
55 reviews Book Now 
3

The Prince Albert Backpackers

Hostel
113 Nile St, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

55 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Prince Albert Backpackers

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 95% Facilities - 93% Safety - 95%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 98%
Denise Yon
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Denise would recommend this property 10 February 2015

Lovely clean room. Great meal deal and brilliant breakfast. Good atmosphere. Very friendly.

Charles Powell
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Charles would recommend this property 26 June 2014

Clean rooms and private bathrooms. Bar was fun. Good location. Free parking and wifi. Spacious rooms. Friendly staff. Delicious dinners and good beer specials.

93.0%
127 reviews Book Now 
4

Tasman Bay Backpackers

Hostel
10 Weka Street, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

123 out of 127 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tasman Bay Backpackers

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 97% Facilities - 95% Safety - 91%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 92%
Beth Snowden
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Beth would recommend this property 07 February 2015

Really good that they ask people to not use wifi between 8/9 at night. Arriving with everyone glued to their phones and laptops made it hard to interact. However the chocolate pudding and wifi cut off made it a sociable environment.

Malte Greulich
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Malte would recommend this property 10 December 2014

The free chocolate pudding in the evening is awesome! Also the Hostel is very clean and provides everything that you need. The free wifi is also very good. The rooms have enough space and the beds are better than in most other hostels. The staff is very helpful and you can leave your luggage their if you want to go to the Abel Tasman. You can even rent a lot of camping staff for small fees there.

91.8%
7 reviews Book Now 
5

Mount Richmond Resort

4 star Hotel
7090 State Highway 6, Rai Valley RD2, Marlborough, Nelson, New Zealand 7192

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mount Richmond Resort

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 91% Facilities - 94% Safety - 97%
Location - 74% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 97%
Customer review
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 22 January 2010

The property was much better than described on the hostel bookers website. although further from nelson than anticipated (35min) the pleasant peaceful surrounds and facilities more than compensated.

Norman Wareing
97.1%
Norman would recommend this property 07 May 2008

it was very good value, the chalet was clean and comfortable, and it also had ensuite facilities.

91.2%
69 reviews Book Now 
6

Paradiso Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
42 Weka Street, Nelson, New Zealand 7015

60 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Paradiso Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 95% Facilities - 96% Safety - 95%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 94%
faye bailey
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
faye would recommend this property 02 November 2014

This hostel is incredible, I fell in love with it as soon as I arrived and had to stay longer. As a solo traveller it is a great place to meet people as they have laid everything out to create a sociable atmosphere. Paradiso recognises the little things which travellers appreciate and is by far the best place I've stayed in in New Zealand or Oz.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
60.0%
31 July 2014

It was close to city center, the hot tub and the pool. It seemed like it was a good place to meet backpackers, but not really a place for other people...

88.7%
20 reviews Book Now 
7

Accents on the Park

Hostel
335 Trafagar Street, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

19 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Accents on the Park

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 89% Facilities - 91% Safety - 82%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 88%
Selina Sauter
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Selina would recommend this property 20 January 2015

I have pretty high demands on a hostel / hotel and they were absolutely fulfilled, since the hostel has standards that are comparable to a hotel. It was very clean, the staff was very friendly and the beds were comfortable.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 September 2014

The rooms were nice. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were clean. The bathrooms are really, really nice; more like a hotel than dorm bathrooms. There's free bread every day in the kitchen, which saved me a lot of money. You can get an hour of free wifi every day and the cost after that is cheap compared to how much data you get. I was on all the time and barely made a dent in my max allowed data. I stayed in both the mixed and single gender dorms, and I'd recommend the mixed one; you meet more people. The staff was always nice and helfpul. There's a restaurant in the basement of the property and the food is supposed to be good but I never went there personally.

88.1%
45 reviews Book Now 
8

The Custom house

Hostel
252 Haven Road, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

41 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Custom house

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 96%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 77% Value - 91%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday
48.6%
18 December 2013

The age and history, the spacious halls, potential for being attractive. The owner was friendly and helpful.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 21 March 2013

The hostel owner was extremely helpful. It was very good value for money and right by the sea.

87.8%
71 reviews Book Now 
9

YHA Nelson

Hostel
59 Rutherford St, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

66 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Nelson

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 81%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 26 December 2013

In close proximity to the town centre, it was clean. Hooks and hangers in rooms :) something that's always missing in hostels ... Well done

Beth Potter
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
57.1%
02 March 2013

LOTS of showers and toilets scattered around the hostel which was nice as we never had to wait, very clean.

Nelson

10 Hostels from 18.81 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Nelson hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Nelson. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.