We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Nelson, New Zealand

95.4%
51 reviews Book Now 
1

The Prince Albert Backpackers

Hostel
113 Nile St, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

51 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Prince Albert Backpackers

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 97% Facilities - 96% Safety - 96%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 99%
Charles Powell
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Charles would recommend this property 26 June 2014

Clean rooms and private bathrooms. Bar was fun. Good location. Free parking and wifi. Spacious rooms. Friendly staff. Delicious dinners and good beer specials.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 June 2014

I traveled around the south Island for 10 days and Prince Albert was one on the best hostel I stayed. Nice friendly staff and owners. Great $10 meals which include main and dessert. Nice big TV room with heaps of choice of movies and DVD's. Great price for the dorm room which had it's own bathroom.

95.2%
9 reviews Book Now 
2

Beach Hostel

Hostel
25 Muritai Street, Tahuna, Nelson, New Zealand 7011

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Beach Hostel

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 97% Facilities - 95% Safety - 97%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 95%
Jörg Stoll
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Jörg would recommend this property 18 March 2014

Very nice Hostel. Very clean and with all the amenities you`d need. 5 min bike ride from city centre. 30 secs from the beach. :)

Rachel Syms
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway
97.1%
Rachel would recommend this property 21 February 2014

The whole house had a very airy, light felling about it as well as being cosy and homelike! Awesome decking with a BBQ and the kitchen was spotless!

94.0%
12 reviews Book Now 
3

The Bug Backpackers

Hostel
226 Vanguard Street, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

12 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Bug Backpackers

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 98% Facilities - 95% Safety - 96%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 98%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 27 April 2014

Friendly staff, awesome people staying at the hostel, lots of board games to play, very large and nice kitchen, free pick up and drop off from the city, GREAT place to stay

Trang Pham-nguyen
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Trang would recommend this property 05 March 2014

The hostel would pick you up from the bus station and drop you off into the city, whichwas so kind of them. Also, fresh bread from their breadmaker in the morning was yummy. The ppace has a happy vibr and decor to it and due to its size, its was easy for me to meet people. We had fun withthe board games as well. And finally a place with free wifi!

93.6%
123 reviews Book Now 
4

Tasman Bay Backpackers

Hostel
10 Weka Street, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

119 out of 123 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tasman Bay Backpackers

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 97% Facilities - 95% Safety - 93%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 93%
Ewan Houston
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Ewan would recommend this property 13 May 2014

Lovely friendly staff, very helpful. Really funky wee place, cosy and homely! loved it very unique :)

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 26 February 2014

Perfect location to explore the area, the staff is very friendly and they totally understand the needs of the travellers. The facilities are very good and the decoration and organization is amazing.

91.0%
6 reviews Book Now 
5

Mount Richmond Resort

Hotel
7090 State Highway 6, Rai Valley RD2, Marlborough, Nelson, New Zealand 7192

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mount Richmond Resort

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 90% Facilities - 93% Safety - 96%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 96%
Customer review
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 22 January 2010

The property was much better than described on the hostel bookers website. although further from nelson than anticipated (35min) the pleasant peaceful surrounds and facilities more than compensated.

Norman Wareing
97.1%
Norman would recommend this property 07 May 2008

it was very good value, the chalet was clean and comfortable, and it also had ensuite facilities.

89.7%
65 reviews Book Now 
6

Paradiso Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
42 Weka Street, Nelson, New Zealand 7015

57 out of 65 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Paradiso Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 93% Facilities - 94% Safety - 91%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 93%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
60.0%
31 July 2014

It was close to city center, the hot tub and the pool. It seemed like it was a good place to meet backpackers, but not really a place for other people...

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 12 September 2013

The hostel is located in an old, sort of traditional wooden house and has a lot of character. I stayed in the 10 bed dorm, and it had wooden bunks, a sofa, a table, so I felt it was really cozy and nice. Rooms and corridors are freshly painted, so it is an old house, but has a very well-kept and nice feel about it. Kitchen is also really nice with wooden furniture, and view of the garden. Also has all the equipement you need for cooking, also salt and pepper for free, which I always find a nice touch. Free soup in the evenning was tasty enough, bread with it is good and there was plenty for everyone. Did not try out spa or swimming pool, so can say nothing about it. Wifi was good, and also worked in my room. In general, I thought the hostel was really good, especially considering that it is one of the cheaper ones in Nelson. Very good value for money!

88.4%
19 reviews Book Now 
7

Accents on the Park

Hostel
335 Trafagar Street, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

18 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Accents on the Park

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 89% Facilities - 90% Safety - 81%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 14 September 2014

The rooms were nice. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were clean. The bathrooms are really, really nice; more like a hotel than dorm bathrooms. There's free bread every day in the kitchen, which saved me a lot of money. You can get an hour of free wifi every day and the cost after that is cheap compared to how much data you get. I was on all the time and barely made a dent in my max allowed data. I stayed in both the mixed and single gender dorms, and I'd recommend the mixed one; you meet more people. The staff was always nice and helfpul. There's a restaurant in the basement of the property and the food is supposed to be good but I never went there personally.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 07 May 2014

It was decent value in a good location with nice communal rooms and access to TV, WiFi and DVDs. It seemed to be well run. There was fresh bread every morning too which was a nice touch.

88.1%
45 reviews Book Now 
8

The Custom house

Hostel
252 Haven Road, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

41 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Custom house

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 96%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 77% Value - 91%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday
48.6%
18 December 2013

The age and history, the spacious halls, potential for being attractive. The owner was friendly and helpful.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 21 March 2013

The hostel owner was extremely helpful. It was very good value for money and right by the sea.

87.8%
71 reviews Book Now 
9

YHA Nelson

Hostel
59 Rutherford St, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

66 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Nelson

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 81%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 26 December 2013

In close proximity to the town centre, it was clean. Hooks and hangers in rooms :) something that's always missing in hostels ... Well done

Beth Potter
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
57.1%
02 March 2013

LOTS of showers and toilets scattered around the hostel which was nice as we never had to wait, very clean.

Nelson

10 Hostels from 17.15 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Nelson hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Nelson. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.