We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Nelson, New Zealand

95.6%
11 reviews Book Now 
1

Beach Hostel

Hostel
25 Muritai Street, Tahuna, Nelson, New Zealand 7011

11 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Beach Hostel

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 98% Facilities - 96% Safety - 98%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 96%
Susan Gorman
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Susan would recommend this property 18 February 2015

After a stay in Wellington, we were ready for a calmer place to stay. Beach Hostel was great for this! It's close to Tahunanui Beach and has a lovely garden all around it. Our room was a double with sink and bathrooms across the hall. It was comfy and roomy, clean, too. The Wifi worked well, the kitchen was large and functional, well equipped. The location is in a nearby suburb of Nelson so we rode the bus into the CBD. Several nice cafes and pubs were nearby as well as a wine and liquor store. Food shopping and other conveniences were very limited without a car, however, so next time, we may try a hostel that's closer to the CBD.

Jörg Stoll
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Jörg would recommend this property 18 March 2014

Very nice Hostel. Very clean and with all the amenities you`d need. 5 min bike ride from city centre. 30 secs from the beach. :)

93.9%
20 reviews Book Now 
2

The Bug Backpackers

Hostel
226 Vanguard Street, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

20 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Bug Backpackers

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 99% Facilities - 96% Safety - 95%
Location - 78% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 98%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 12 March 2015

Such easy going staff, picked up right from bus. Cleanest hostel I've stayed at and nice little touches like the free bread. Easy to get to beach on free bikes

Daniela Schneider
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Daniela would recommend this property 06 March 2015

FREE PICK UP AND DROP OFF nice stuff the cakes, bread. The nice kitchen pretty cute

93.1%
57 reviews Book Now 
3

The Prince Albert Backpackers

Hostel
113 Nile St, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

56 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Prince Albert Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 94% Facilities - 92% Safety - 94%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 97%
Denise Yon
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Denise would recommend this property 10 February 2015

Lovely clean room. Great meal deal and brilliant breakfast. Good atmosphere. Very friendly.

Charles Powell
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Charles would recommend this property 26 June 2014

Clean rooms and private bathrooms. Bar was fun. Good location. Free parking and wifi. Spacious rooms. Friendly staff. Delicious dinners and good beer specials.

92.9%
133 reviews Book Now 
4

Tasman Bay Backpackers

Hostel
10 Weka Street, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

129 out of 133 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tasman Bay Backpackers

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 96% Facilities - 94% Safety - 89%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 92%
Konrad Sensenig
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Konrad would recommend this property 22 August 2015

Peaceful, "green", close to most everything, community energy, personable host, free unlimited wifi, encourages socialization with "no devices hour", realistic policies, free breakfast and epic homemade snack after dinner time. Feels like staying with friends, rather than paid accommodation. This is different from most hostels because it attracts a more mature crowd of travelers, even though they're the usual age. Instead of drunken kids seeking an ego feed, you will meet genuine people of substance who are capable of actual human connection:)

Donna Slater
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Donna would recommend this property 14 August 2015

The real wood fire place makes it so homely, the beds are super comfy, the free cake and breakfast is an amazing freebie

91.8%
7 reviews Book Now 
5

Mount Richmond Resort

4 star Hotel
7090 State Highway 6, Rai Valley RD2, Marlborough, Nelson, New Zealand 7192

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mount Richmond Resort

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 91% Facilities - 94% Safety - 97%
Location - 74% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 97%
Customer review
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 22 January 2010

The property was much better than described on the hostel bookers website. although further from nelson than anticipated (35min) the pleasant peaceful surrounds and facilities more than compensated.

Norman Wareing
97.1%
Norman would recommend this property 07 May 2008

it was very good value, the chalet was clean and comfortable, and it also had ensuite facilities.

90.9%
71 reviews Book Now 
6

Paradiso Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
42 Weka Street, Nelson, New Zealand 7015

62 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Paradiso Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 94% Facilities - 96% Safety - 94%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 94%
faye bailey
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
faye would recommend this property 02 November 2014

This hostel is incredible, I fell in love with it as soon as I arrived and had to stay longer. As a solo traveller it is a great place to meet people as they have laid everything out to create a sociable atmosphere. Paradiso recognises the little things which travellers appreciate and is by far the best place I've stayed in in New Zealand or Oz.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
60.0%
31 July 2014

It was close to city center, the hot tub and the pool. It seemed like it was a good place to meet backpackers, but not really a place for other people...

88.1%
45 reviews Book Now 
7

The Custom house

Hostel
252 Haven Road, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

41 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Custom house

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 96%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 77% Value - 91%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday
48.6%
18 December 2013

The age and history, the spacious halls, potential for being attractive. The owner was friendly and helpful.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 21 March 2013

The hostel owner was extremely helpful. It was very good value for money and right by the sea.

87.8%
71 reviews Book Now 
8

YHA Nelson

Hostel
59 Rutherford St, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

66 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YHA Nelson

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 81%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 26 December 2013

In close proximity to the town centre, it was clean. Hooks and hangers in rooms :) something that's always missing in hostels ... Well done

Beth Potter
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
57.1%
02 March 2013

LOTS of showers and toilets scattered around the hostel which was nice as we never had to wait, very clean.

Nelson

9 Hostels from 15.52 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Nelson hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Nelson. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.