HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nelson hostels

Reviews of The Prince Albert Backpackers

Hostel | 113 Nile St, Nelson, New Zealand 7010

96.0% Overall Rating

47 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

"Staff were very helpful and prompt to attend to my request even though they were quite busy. Good friendly interaction with those staying."

Read all The Prince Albert Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.87
  • Towel USD 1.72

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nelson?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nelson

Fellworth House
36.02 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Accents on the Park
19.73 USD

Hostel 88.9% 17 reviews
Tasman Bay Backpackers
22.30 USD

Hostel 93.5% 121 reviews
YHA Nelson
19.73 USD

Hostel 86.9% 69 reviews
The Bug Backpackers
21.44 USD

Hostel 94.0% 11 reviews
The Custom house
22.30 USD

Hostel 88.1% 45 reviews
Beach Hostel
23.16 USD

Hostel 95.2% 9 reviews
Paradiso Backpackers Hostel
19.73 USD

Hostel 91.3% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

47 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Prince Albert Backpackers'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
99.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and prompt to attend to my request even though they were quite busy. Good friendly interaction with those staying.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Hildebrand

Alone

City break

04 March 2014 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities, staff and info on activities provided.

Disliked: Nil.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne Keppel

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2014 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: We loved it, want to go back :)

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alireza Milani

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

07 January 2014 Alireza would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very clean with an in-suit. We enjoyed staying there. They offered delicious waffles for breakfast too. The rate was reasonable.

Disliked: Kitchen and dinning room were too small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved it was in between a short walk from day walks along the river and up by the maitai damn but also close to night life in town. The $10 meal + dessert exceeded our expectations and we couldn't be happier with our stay.

Disliked: The only thing that we can say that needs room for improvement would be possibly providing fans for hot summer nights on the top floor rooms as well as complimentry soap for the showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More or less everything

Disliked: The equipment in the kitchen

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, food in pub amazing.

Disliked: Location to bus stop.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie McMaster

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hospitality, free wifi, free pick up from the bus stop, free breakfast, great tv room, good location, all rooms are ensuite, cheap food and drinks at pub!

Disliked: Kitchen could be bigger but cheap food makes up for it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good value for money, secure car parking free breakfast good to have towels suppplied , then place has been upmarketed since last we stayed

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: attractive old building. Very pleasant owner and staff.

Disliked: Backpackers' kitchen wasn't clean but that was from the guests' cooking with a dirty stove top, surfaces and dishes. The sign asked guests to clean up after themselves but it's inevitable that staff have to do some of the cleaning.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maria Francisca Osorio Troncoso

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2013 Maria Francisca would recommend this property

Liked: En-suite facilities.

Disliked: No heater in the room. Horrible mattresses.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are amazing. They are young, fun, and are well informed about the Nelson areas and things to do. I liked the free breakfast, the building, it is just a beautiful and cozy place.

Disliked: We had a problem with the wifi. It would work slowly and then stop after a few minutes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and all round good vibe. Super clean rooms that look to have been renovated recently. Good specials on at the bar, easy walk to Nelson town centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

katinka verhagen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 April 2013 katinka would recommend this property

Liked: super hostel. really recommendable! large room. large private bathroom. good working equipment. no hassle to get the water temperature right. clean. free unlimited wifi for the guests. (but with a request not to download movies and such, because the prince albert itself also needs the internet to check you in.) AND (a big plus in my opinion: ) they also provide 2 desk computers where you check your hotmail etc on. works much better than working on your mobile phone. a tv room. kitchen fairly well equipped. quality of the pottery could have been a bit better, but i've seen worse at other hostels. complimentary breakfast. (did not try this, because we had to leave real early) a cosy bar is located INSIDE the hostel. (for a nightcap before going to sleep...)

Disliked: there was a wooden sign just outside our window. and the wind really got its fun with it. it made a lot of noise. maybe they'de better oil that or make it less noisy. also, there was a advertisement banner outside that was placed too close to a lightpost. because of the same wind, it kept flapping and flapping and flapping against the post. they'de better put that further away of the lightpost. luckily the sound only bothered for a short while because we were exhausted of the trip and we fell asleep soon, nevertheless.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful, once they showed up.... They also offer alot of things to do. Their activities board by the check in counter looked extremely helpful and I wish we had been able to stay in town longer to do some of the recommended activities.

Disliked: We waited about 15 minutes before any one came to check us in. however they were very friendly once they showed up. Also, there were possibly bed bugs.... My arms and legs (as well as my boyfriends legs) are covered in little bites but we are not sure if it was from bed bugs or mosquitos from the beach earlier in the day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only hostel I visited provided breakfast during my three weeks in NZ..

Disliked: No thing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was excellent (waffles...yummy), staff was polite, lots of action during the week.

Disliked: Some of the mattresses are not that good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly helpful staff. Lovely spacious room and mega comfy bed. Cheap bar & lots of games.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owner. Great facility. Modern bathroom. Free waffles for breakfast and free bikes.

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Bates

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2013 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were fantastic nothing was too much trouble we had a fantastic time we actually stayed 10 nights and enjoyed everyone

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and full of character

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels. Love the breakfast, free wifi and free bikes.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and spacious, lots of room outdoors,great showers,great breakfast, free internet, free bikes, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Place and good people. Nice atmosphere Bikes are 2 hours for free per day. Big TV with a good choisc of movies on a hard drive. Free and good breakfast with waffles.

Disliked: The reception was never occupied because they were always in the bar. The receptionist was often overwhelmed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clealiness, quiet, free breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Nelson hostels