HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Custom House Nelson Hostel

252 Haven Road, Nelson, New Zealand

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 89%

Location 81%

Safety 97%

Staff 92%

Value 91%

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nelson?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 89%

Location 81%

Safety 97%

Staff 92%

Value 91%

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The age and history, the spacious halls, potential for being attractive. The owner was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We arrived in the evening and when we showered (been tramping for 3 days) there was very little hot water. Overall the place seemed rather chaotic and the kitchen and other areas a mess. I think for the price the conditions should be more agreeable. The owner was friendly and helpful. He couldn't find $5.00 change for me, I had to leave early in the morning, but he may have given it to my son. For the total price and booking fee I think I could have done a lot better.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Work / volunteering

Liked: The hostel owner was extremely helpful. It was very good value for money and right by the sea.

Disliked: No urn.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I found the staff very helpful and the place had a nice, friendly atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff members. Both staff and lodgers were very welcoming creating a great atmoshere. They even picked the girls ans I up from the centre of town so we didn't have to walk in the heat with our heavy bags!

Disliked: The fish and chip shop next door closes far too early.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I would strongly recommend this hostel to anyone that is staying in Nelson.The fascilities are fantastic and there is plenty of room to relax in the lounge with a great selection of films or the dinning room with a pool table for some fun with other travellers. The rooms are clean and comfy and it is situated in a great location right near the beach. The staff and manager are relaxed and friendly. The atmosphere in the hostel is great fun and feels like home.Will definitely come back again.Thanks Vicki and Shiva

Disliked: Nothing, it has everything you need and more including free wifi.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Free internet and laundry

Disliked: The room was really messy and people were smoking inside it. The location was little bit far from the town centre. Really messy kitchen. People yelling in the common room. The staff smoking around the hostel.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice property with a very helpful owner/manager, Free 100MB internet voucher, Free laundry facilities

Disliked: Almost all the people who stayed there seemed to be long-termers (at least according to how they behaved and the mess they had)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fantastic hostel in an old biker pub- very quirky. The free internet and Laundry were great! Also facilities on offer brilliant- games console, pool table and massive telly plus free tea and coffee. The manager is so friendly and really helpful.

Disliked: The kitchen is quite small and so gets messy quickly.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere was really great. Nice staff and people staying there. I will be back! Loved it. They even drove me to the Bus station!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Super friendly and helpfull staff!! They're the best! They had over 200 titles of movies to watch and large common rooms, really easy to make friends. Free tea and coffee, free wifi and internet, free laundry and we could also borrow bikes for free. The staff always did their best to help in every case. Friendliest place we've stayed in!

Disliked: The kitchen is small and a bit dirty...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability