We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of YHA National Park Backpackers and Climbing Wall

Hostel | Finlay Street, P.O.Box 89, National Park Village, New Zealand 3948

81.0% Overall Rating

31 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2015)

Elias Sebastian Casal thinks…

"- Hostel muy acogedor, construido estilo cabania de madera. La parte que mas me gusto es la cocina y comedor, con grandes ventanas desde uno puede ver las colinas. - El personal del hostel me…"

Read all YHA National Park Backpackers and Climbing Wall reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to National Park Village?

Contact us directly

See other properties in National Park Village

Howards Mountain Lodge
21.93 USD

Hostel 78.4% 27 reviews
The Park Hotel, Ruapehu
28.73 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 78.2% 13 reviews
Plateau Lodge
22.68 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ski Haus
19.66 USD

Hostel 85.4% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

31 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA National Park Backpackers and Climbing Wall'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
76.0%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 31 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Elias Sebastian Casal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 March 2015 Elias Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: - Hostel muy acogedor, construido estilo cabania de madera. La parte que mas me gusto es la cocina y comedor, con grandes ventanas desde uno puede ver las colinas. - El personal del hostel me informo muy bien acerca del Alpine Crossing, incluso me alquilaron y prestaron algunas ropas y guantes necesarias. Tambien proveen el transporte hasta el crossing. (Tengan en cuenta que muchas veces se cancela por varios dias debido al mal clima). -La habitacion en la que me hospede era de diez personas, se encontraba en buen estado y limpia. Los banios tambien eran buenos. -Hay un pub/restaurant junto al hostel donde comi unos fish and chips que estaban bien, sobre todo tenia lindo ambiente.

Disliked: -Hay que pagar por un servicio de wifi pesimo!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roslyn Johns

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2015 Roslyn would recommend this property

Liked: A friendly, and very helpful staff and a clean kitchen. I was able to store my luggage while I hiked the Tongariro Circuit and I appreciated this service.

Disliked: WiFi wasn't free.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 February 2015

Liked: Nothing to write home about just a very average place.

Disliked: $30 charge to shuttle to the tongariro crossing. A very high price and I could swear a few months ago when I booked on hostel bookers it said that the shuttle was free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CARLY YORK

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2015 CARLY would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel! My partner and I booked a double room as it was good value and found the hostel to be clean tidy and well equipped. The staff were welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable about thru Tongariro walk and our booking for the shuttle out to the start of the walk was well organised and went without a hitch! The hostel was generally quiet and had a great atmosphere. Thank you!

Disliked: CARLY left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2014

Liked: good location, large kitchen

Disliked: very basic rooms, poor water pressure in shower, heater was not very useful

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shannon Kelly

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2014 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: Was a good stay and had good heating facilities, the staff were happy to offer information and help.

Disliked: The room was fairly small and only had a bed and a small table, no shelves/storage space. It would be nice to have sugar/coffee/tea available in the kitchen too.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy and open. Good access to sights and helpful friendly staff :)

Disliked: None.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close enough to tongariro parc, clean, big kitchen

Disliked: Staff not so helpfull

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful, the kitchen had everything we needed including loads of fridge space, my 4 year old daughter stayed in my bed for only $5 a night, and it was nice and quiet after 10.30 pm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shirley Browne

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2013 Shirley would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building. Clean and tidy. Good location.

Disliked: Didn't realise where the food shop was located at the petrol service station and would like to have been advised

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gail Drennan

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2013 Gail would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Not applicable

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great social areas.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2012

Liked: great views of the mountains and volcano from the kitchen window.Shuttle bus to start of Tongariro Crossing daily ($30)

Disliked: Very badly designed. all bedrooms upstairs, all bathrooms downstairs, only 2 sinks in the bathrooms - meaning long queue to brush teeth/wash hands. open kitchen at foot of stairs meaning all cooking smells go straight upstairs into bedrooms. very miserable and unappealing TV room, so everyone hangs out in kitchen. staff did not knock before entering bedrooms. kitchen big, but very messy and cluttered with mismatching crockery and no knives. also was no free herbs, salt and pepper, and tea and coffee, unlike most YHAs. This hostel would have to change a lot of things before I would recommend it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm, late reception, excellent location

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter kingsley

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2012 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Well located and very easy going establishment. They have good knowledge of the surrounding area.

Disliked: peter left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was able to switch rooms without any hassel, staff friendly and helpful. toilets and showers clean and rooms to a good standard.

Disliked: no lift

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012

Liked: There was plenty of cooking and eating space.

Disliked: Our double room opened out onto the outside of the hostel, there was no inside door, like there was on the room next door. You had to followed the decked path around the side, around the front and through the front door to get into the building - you then still had a bit of a walk to the nearest toilet or bathroom. The walk is covered overhead but when it is raining and cold it doesn't help and you'll get wet and freeze. This won't be a problem for any of the other rooms, but watch out if you are booking a double and make sure it isn't this one. There was not enough toilets or bathroom space in general for the number of people staying there. There is no free food at all - for a hostel this size, it seems crazy there would be no salt and pepper at least.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big and clean kitchen and the beds were comfy

Disliked: Staff weren't that friendly and the fridges didn't work properly.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location for Tongariro. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Cold room, To few sink in toilet facilities

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessica Sheppard

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, central location, chalet feel hostel

Disliked: The room was accessed via the climbing wall which was a bit strange. Bad (very bad) shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

REbecca Shovlin

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011 REbecca would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, comfy bed.

Disliked: Bit noisy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy rooms, nice atmosphere

Disliked: They offer transport to Alpine Crossing which is good (altough a bit expensive) but they should take the responsibility to cancel the trip if weather conditions are bad. I did it in bad weather and it isn't really worth it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Handy location for a stopover at the National Park & good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: There didn't seem to be enough showers / toilets for the amount of people staying there.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good base for the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Try the climbing wall if you have any power left after the crossing, I couldn't :-(

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Service was fine once at backpackers though we requested pick up from bus stop and this wasn't done. This hostel has a ski lodge feel to it. We stayed in an ensuite double and this was cosy and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.