We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Howards Mountain Lodge

Hostel | 11-13 Caroll Street, National Park Village, New Zealand 3989

78.4% Overall Rating

21 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/03/2013)

"• The french guy who works there. He was very nice • The beds were good • Free phone • Big TV • Spa"

Read all Howards Mountain Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 11.67
  • Towel USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to National Park Village?

Contact us directly

See other properties in National Park Village

Ski Haus
19.45 USD

Hostel 86.1% 15 reviews
YHA National Park Backpackers and Climbing Wall
20.23 USD

Hostel 78.1% 32 reviews
Plateau Lodge
23.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Park Hotel, Ruapehu
29.57 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 78.2% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

21 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Howards Mountain Lodge'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
73.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Peter Straka

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great connection to Tongariro Alpine Crossing.

Disliked: If you need to rent rain jackets and pants, stay away from the gear at Howard's Lodge: It's not waterproof at all. Better get it from the place across the road from Plateau Lodge (short walk away).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gurdeep Singh

As a family with children

Family Holiday

05 July 2013 Gurdeep would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013

Liked: • The french guy who works there. He was very nice • The beds were good • Free phone • Big TV • Spa

Disliked: • Unsafe (no keys, the doors are always open) • No Sky-TV (The description offer you Sky-TV) • 9 Bed Dorm insted of 8 • Walls are really thin and parts of the wall are open (feels like a 18 Bed Dorm) • The doors to the dorms are in the kitchen (really noisy) • The toilets and showers are in a different building • The small toilet in our building never had any toiletpaper during my stay • Very unfriendly owner The owner forced me to take other shoes to do the Alpine Crossing or he wouldn't drive me with the shuttle bus I've allready payed for. He gave me some other shoes and afterwards with many blisters and bleeding feets he told me I've to pay for these shoes. I asked him for some bandages, but he said he doesn't have any. In my eyes is it just a rude way to make more money! Please do NOT go to this Hostel!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, we arrived after hours and the key and rooms were easily located. Had a car so getting around was not a problem, WiFi available. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, small but clean bathroom

Disliked: WiFi expensive for the amount, drier was ineffective - we had to dry our clothes twice to dry them, even with a small load.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

anton brass

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Most unfriendly service we met in 5 months travelling.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Troy Keith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Troy would recommend this property

Liked: The common room with cable tv, a pool table and a fireplace was awesome. Plus the hot tub!

Disliked: Troy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well looked after place and perhaps the cleanest I have ever stayed at. Staff were great especially with things to do in wet weather. Was really impressed by what how much great value for money I got here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Philip Freeman

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: nothing really bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Czepowicz

19 January 2010 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: very neat and has al lthe facilities you need while travelling

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guenter Stoetzner

26 December 2009 Guenter would recommend this property

Liked: All o.k.

Disliked: Guenter left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, convenient, very clean and well-maintained.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: spa pool and fantastic location - very good view of the mountains

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Henricks

07 October 2008 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: the lounges were great with comfy fires. service was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Imran Ashraf

26 August 2008 Imran would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice hostel. Large rooms and a great kitchen and living room!

Disliked: Imran left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard and caryl mead

09 March 2008 richard and caryl would recommend this property

Liked: Location and convenience.

Disliked: richard and caryl left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 February 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, friendly, good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Clem Tozer

05 February 2008 Clem would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen and Lounge facilities and the generl cleanliness of the property. Also staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Clem left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 January 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, owners very informative about the local area, comfy, warm, very enjoyable stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 November 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was like been at home. Very comfortable

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.