HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Pacific Coast Backpackers Lodge Mount Maunganui Hostel

432 Maunganui Road, 3116, Mount Maunganui, New Zealand

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 79%

Location 79%

Safety 87%

Staff 91%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen 1.45USD
  • Towel 1.45USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mount Maunganui?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 79%

Location 79%

Safety 87%

Staff 91%

Value 81%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: -very friendly atmosphere and the staff is so helpful. -There are different herbs and other to use in the kitchen -TV room with a great choice of movies -Surfboards rental for free-very clean bathroom

Disliked: Nothing everything was very fine :)

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was pretty good and it's also the bus stop, which is convenient. The kitchen and lounges are pretty big as well. Every staff member I dealt with was really nice and helpful.

Disliked: It's a working hostel, so the long - term people are a bit cliquey and have the run of the kitchen and bathrooms after 5pm. The kitchen is pretty much packed to the gills with their food, leaving very little storage space for people only staying a night or two.


The property's response is

Hi
Thanks for your review.You stayed during our busiest month, & in the middle of Kiwifruit Season. Whilst we do not like to call ourselves a Working hostel, yes we do have workers. But we do offer nightly accommodation which is separate to long termers for a comfortable stay. We also have separate fridges and storage space too.
It's a good vibe & atmosphere here, with plenty of space! Always look on the bright side - you were able to meet plenty of new people!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet!

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big kitchen

Disliked: They says free wifi, actually only free 1 hour a day!!!The showers are in upstairs.


The property's response is

Hi there,
Thanks for your review. We offer a small amount of WIFI as we live in a beautiful city on the beach (with lots of places offering free wifi too) but we want you to go out and experience the best of the Bay.
Regarding bathrooms, we have 5 in total, the main ones are upstairs, and we do have others downstairs. Just ask us the best ones to use in regards to the location of your room,
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet!
Brooke

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there
Fantastic to hear from you and thanks for taking the time to make a review, we appreciate your business and hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels!
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very helpful with recommending things to do and see. I stayed in the twin single room and it was very clean. There was a sink in the room which helped since there was only one shower and toilet shared between four rooms.

Disliked: Parking was a bit tight, not many spaces. We only had one shower and toilet to share between four rooms. You get one hour of wifi to use for free, after that you have to pay and it did not work in our room. The kitchen was a bit messy, but there were lots of people there at the time. The location is fine if you have a car, but if you are walking it takes a long time to get to the mount.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great Staff!!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: There was a happy friendly atmosphere there it was good people respectful of one another, no youths drinking alcohol all over the place. Warm and a good location

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Had a dorm that seemed quite new.

Disliked: No-one else in dorm which is in some respects good but doesn't allow so much chance of meeting people. (another person I did meet also was alone in a big dorm)No hooks at all in dorm - very spartan, only bunk units No shelf in shower room to put shampoo on Very low lighting in room, impossible to read! Only a light for upper level not lowerLittle improvements could make a big difference to comfort

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Roger
Thank you SO MUCH for letting us know what we can better! We took over the Lodge in August, and have been making improvements as time permits.
We are super glad you pointed out these little ways we can improve and we are in the process of making sure there are hooks in all of the rooms, a shelf in the shower, and we can look into how to improve the lighting for those sleeping on lower bunks.
Hope you are enjoying your travels,
Peace, Love & Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Big room, clean and tidy. Hand basin a nice touch. Bus stop was outside, and it was pizza night when I stayed!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Jen
Great having you stay and glad you enjoyed your time here, and got involved with the crew!
Hope you are experiencing the best of NZ and we hope to have you back some time soon!

Peace, Love and Sandy Feet
Brooke
Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good friendly reception. Clean and comfortable. Just a short walk from the main centre of Town, Relaxing TV room and games room. Good sized Kitchen with an outside area to sit around.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Richard

Thank you for your wonderful feedback - Great to hear you enjoyed your stay!
We look forward to having you stay with us again,

Peace, Love and Sandy Feet,
Brooke
Manager

Check Availability