We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dolphin Lodge Backpackers

Hostel | 15 Deal Street, Kaikoura, New Zealand 7300

88.9% Overall Rating

31 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/02/2014)

Faith Radford thinks…

"Small, friendly and pleasant hostel, in a good location on the hill above the waterfront – just a few minutes’ walk to the beach or into the main strip of bars etc. From our room (a private double)…"

Read all Dolphin Lodge Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.78

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kaikoura?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kaikoura

Dusky Lodge
19.45 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 21 reviews
Albatross Backpacker Inn
24.90 USD

Hostel 90.9% 168 reviews
YHA Kaikoura
24.90 USD

Hostel 88.2% 46 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

31 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dolphin Lodge Backpackers'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So clean and BEAUTIFUL location, the staff was very friendly

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ciaran Head

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014

Liked: Beds were good and the view was great!

Disliked: Wifi was crazy prices, I've never had to pay so much! No lockers in the rooms, bathroom was freezing (despite the water being hot) and the cat brought in a dead bird when I was having breakfast which wasn't great

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Faith Radford

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2014 Faith would recommend this property

Liked: Small, friendly and pleasant hostel, in a good location on the hill above the waterfront – just a few minutes’ walk to the beach or into the main strip of bars etc. From our room (a private double) you could see the sea, and clearly hear the waves as you drifted off – very relaxing! We liked that you could rent (slightly beaten-up) bikes for just $5 a day. The jacuzzi was also very welcome…

Disliked: The need to push a button for 1 hour of electricity was annoying (especially as you also needed to press it for hot water but this wasn't pointed out– it took us a while to work that one out! The décor is tired, but who cares really…

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krista Stubbs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Krista would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location, close to the I site, close to pub and other attractions. I loved how cheap bike rentals were and the hot tub and hammock! Great view as well!

Disliked: Bathrooms were quite small. But not a lot to complain about!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly & helpful. Clean. Lovely position. Small & personal.

Disliked: Trek up steep path to reach it on foot. Only heavy going with luggage though.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014

Liked: Close to town good views

Disliked: One plug in the room not convenient for travelers. Bathrooms small, showers not very good water pressure very low

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hot spa pool, cosy rooms

Disliked: lack of view from windows

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helped me through trouble with my credit card (they were great!), very nice atmosphere, terrace to eat outside, beautiful view

Disliked: it was a little hard to get up the hill with my huge backpack but the beautiful view compensated for that

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff

Disliked: Nothing all good

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely atmosphere and great views.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot tub, living room.

Disliked: Thin walls.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

emily mcgarry

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 emily would recommend this property

Liked: This was a lovely little place to stay. The scenery around the lodge was incredible, and they have a decking leading on to the garden (which is also lovely, and very big!) where you can enjoy breakfast whilst taking in the scenery. Our room was very nice, and they have a free spa in the garden that you can use.

Disliked: emily left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Adams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely. Loved Tigger the cat and the hot tub.

Disliked: Other guests not locking the room doors behind them.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beth Potter

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: Room was light and bright with lovely view out of garden and down to the sea. Ensuite bathroom was lovely and clean and the shower worked well. Appreciated having bed-side lamps as these appear to be a rare thing in hostels in NZ! Guy running the place was very friendly and helpful. The hostel cat was really sweet and it was nice to see a pet strolling aroud the place, very homely. Best thing about the place was the garden. Spa was awesome, the patio was a suntrap in the afternoons and sitting there with a drink looking out at the sea and mountains was something quite special! We stayed in a double room but I took a sneaky peek into one of the dorms and was really impressed to see no bunk beds but big rooms and really decent sized single beds.

Disliked: Only things we disliked were the hill from town (which is by no means impossible but when you've just down a killer journey to get to Kaikoura and have heavy bags, its not a challenge you look forward to!), the fact that everyone staying there seemed to be living there so everyone knew each other and not much happening in evenings, tv room basically abandoned! Some hobs don't work in the kitchen and eating area is quite hard and uncomfortable, not very inviting! Would be good if more was happening at the hostel to give it more atmosphere as Kaikoura itself is dead in the evenings!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: + nice staff + very clean + hot jacuzzi outside + close to city / supermarket

Disliked: - no free wifi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Wells

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

22 November 2012 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled out, small and quiet. Space is well designed to bring people together. Fee hot tub is awsome.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very friendly and helpful is a small home like hostel

Disliked: bathroom very cold

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 April 2012

Liked: Friendly hostel in a great location with helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was very helpful and gave me a good suggestion of where to try good crayfish as cheap as possible :) The kitchen is clean and the TV room is comfortable to hang out in on a rainy day.

Disliked: No lockers to put away valuables... Dorm was packed with beds and not a lot of space for stuff - it was therefore everywhere. One outlet in the dorm.... 2 NZD per half hour for wifi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice view, great location, friendly staff, nice atmosphere

Disliked: up a hill, but not too bad!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great relaxing place and the couple who owned it were so friendly.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike it was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Hutcheon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

08 December 2011 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly n there was a nice courtyard, deck chairs n spa

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely view and garden (it was raining while I was there so I couldn't really appreciate them, but that's not their fault!); large, airy kitchen/dining common area.

Disliked: Not much character and the unisex bathroom gets a bit overloaded at high-traffic times.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable

Disliked: Room was a bit cold, heater set to a 30 minute time limit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CLEMENT LE PROVOST

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 CLEMENT would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy lounge & kitchen with fireplace and wooden tables. Friendly staff. Great location, just above the i-SITE and the waterfront.

Disliked: Rooms are too cold: insulation is bad and there is only a small heater that has to be plugged into a timer-operated outlet, which only gives you one hour of heating! So unless you want to get up every hour during the night, you are condemned to freeze. But all in all, it's a great place; go ahead. :)