HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Albatross Backpacker Inn

Hostel | 1 Torquay Street, Kaikoura, New Zealand 7300

90.9% Overall Rating

149 out of 168 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/02/2014)

"Friendliness and comfortable atmosphere. Includes everyone in free BBQ. Fun to hang out around lounge and hear conversations and singing."

Read all Albatross Backpacker Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kaikoura?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kaikoura

Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
23.45 USD

Hostel 88.9% 34 reviews
Dusky Lodge
20.94 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 21 reviews
YHA Kaikoura
25.12 USD

Hostel 88.2% 46 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

149 out of 168 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Albatross Backpacker Inn'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 129 of 136 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and comfortable atmosphere. Includes everyone in free BBQ. Fun to hang out around lounge and hear conversations and singing.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kate Wainwright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere and group BBQ!

Disliked: About 15mi ute walk out of Kiakoura, but very close to dolphin encounter!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely old house great atmosphere good location Great owners real comfortable tone of the nicest backpackers Have been to.

Disliked: Nothing only comment reception is closed between 12.30 and 3.30 so had to wait over 2 hrs to Check in

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed friendly atmosphere. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing really although I did take small issue with some of the people who are living there long term. A french man who was staying there and getting his accommodation for free would sit up on work surfaces used for cooking and when he used the bathroom (I walked immediately after he did) he had clearly pissed all over the toilet seat.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a good, comfortable hostel which is very good for young travellers.

Disliked: There is nothing that we disliked.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

gordon potts

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 February 2013 gordon would recommend this property

Liked: friendly helpfull owners,spacious common areas and kitchen, lots of outside space and seating areas location only 10 mins walk to shops.

Disliked: we stayed in self contained unit, and it was a bit dated,and in need of decorating, shower cubicle was tiny, but overall it was clean and comfortable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Foster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere. Places to chill out and relax. Rooms are nice, adequate shower/ toilet facilities. Relatively close to the town centre about a 10minute walk away, but nice walk along sea front. Would stay here again, if came back.

Disliked: It was survival of the fittest in the kitchen. It was very busy and difficult to cook your dinner and then there was no where for me to eat it as all the seating was taken, but I think this was due to it raining so everyone piled inside.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2012

Liked: To be honest i think this hostel is a bit overrated , i came from the dolphin lodge and i changed after 2 nights because the albatross had a better rating. The atmosphere is very good and they organise lots of things for the guests but the accomodation like the beds and bathrooms are not very up to date. I stayed 1 night in a dormroom and 2 nights in a doubleroom. My dormroom was a room in another room and not in the mainbuilding. The walls are made of paper because i heard everything from outside and matresses are not very comfortable. Doubleroom was a bit better but stil you could hear anything from outside.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Riley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, especially Joe helped with any questions I had. Made a very good impression even though I was only staying the one night :)

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Cooney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, nice chill out area, clean rooms

Disliked: Bit far away from the shops but closer to local walks

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was awesome! Super chill and relaxed. They do big group dinners a couple times a week and you pay by donation (or helping cook). Big stacks of magazines and free Hot Choco/Tea/Coffee. They're very eco-conscious which is really important!

Disliked: Nothing really. Everything was great! Maybe a locker or something would be could for valuables?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Virginie Alary

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Virginie would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxing place during the day where you can chill out and enjoy the lovely decoration of the hostel. Nice staff and comfy bed

Disliked: a bit noisy at night and toilets lack of privacy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KIra Siven

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2012 KIra would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really cozy hostel with wonderful lovley people! The staff was really helpful and friendly! Loved it!!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was awesome! My favourite hostel in NZ. So friendly and homely and it attracted such an interesting and fun mix of people. One night they made curry and dessert for us all and we ate it together like some kind of dinner party. Kaikoura is a sleepy little town, despite its touristy reputation, so even though there was not really heaps to do there, I would recommend making the trip to this hostel. I can't emphasise enough how nice the atmosphere was and how much I enjoyed staying here. I didn't even tell the staff what time I arrived or how I would be getting here but they surprised me by picking me up from the bus stop and driving me to the hostel. They really go out of their way to do things like that here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rachel Cronin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012

Liked: This hostel was cute and it had a ski-lodge kind of feel about it. The lounge area is nice and the staff are helpful.

Disliked: The staff are helpful but cliquey. The showers are nowhere near the rooms and you have to walk through the kitchen and the lounge to get to them. There are only two toilets which is not enough. The dorms are small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a hostel for travelers run by travelers. The oweners have thought of everything to make your stay in Kaikoura as fun and easy as possible. There is a great atmosphere and they have thought of everything!

Disliked: The layout was a bit odd in bits, but I think that was to accommodate bits of the former buildings, which are a great feature.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Paluszewska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: The best place in the world!!! I have travelled around for 6 months and this was the best place i satyed!!! Amazing atmosphere! you don't want to leave!!!

Disliked: too lovely you heart gets broken when you have to leave!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shawn McCoubrey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, amazing facility with lots of perks (tour booking, free fresh vegetables and herbs, wine tastings etc).

Disliked: Twin room was tiny and you had to pay for internet (as it is everywhere in NZ)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms

Disliked: Small kitchen / lounge for the number of guests. Showers were closed at random times every morning for cleaning - wouldn't be so inconvenient if they stuck to the 11am time they advertise. Lots of noise, my room was adjacent to corridor, kitchen, and outside seating area. very strong hippy vibe, not to my taste.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deepika Kamath

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012 Deepika would recommend this property

Liked: A happy place with a dreamy quality to it.. The lounge-common area was lovely!! Would definitely recommend this hostel..

Disliked: NOTHING!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, pretty cosy place; Nice place to stay in Kaikoura for sure !

Disliked: N.T.S

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Johanna Koenig

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel had a perfect size .. not to big and not to small. Kitchen had all the equipment needed to cook a delicious meal and for desert the free chocolate pudding was great :)

Disliked: Johanna left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free hot chocolate, good location to town and dolphin swim, staff very friendly

Disliked: Some areas could do with a deep clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character property - colourful and lots of quirkiness. Liked the art corner. The kitchen was pretty good and nice to cook in - fabulous free shelf.

Disliked: Isn't quite enough toilet/bathroom facilities for the number of people. On a rainy day the communal area is a bit small for the amount of people - somewhere else to go would have been good.