We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Albatross Backpacker Inn

Hostel | 1 Torquay Street, Kaikoura, New Zealand 7300

90.9% Overall Rating

149 out of 168 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/02/2014)

"Friendliness and comfortable atmosphere. Includes everyone in free BBQ. Fun to hang out around lounge and hear conversations and singing."

Read all Albatross Backpacker Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kaikoura?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kaikoura

Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
21.79 USD

Hostel 88.9% 34 reviews
Dusky Lodge
19.45 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 21 reviews
YHA Kaikoura
24.90 USD

Hostel 88.2% 46 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

149 out of 168 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Albatross Backpacker Inn'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 129 of 136 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2010

Liked: Friendly staff and clean toilets/showers.

Disliked: Booked a twin room and the room was so small that we had to struggle for backpacks space and also it was next to the road and main entrance which was noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

laura shuck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 laura would recommend this property

Liked: It was probably one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, felt more like spending a night at home with your friends - free homemade brownies were amazing too!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The BEST HOSTEL ever!! Ben and Katie are friendly and welcoming and made lasagna for everyone! Great arty, musical vibe. (ask Katie for a ukulele lesson!) Very clean and chilled out. Had a brilliant time staying here, met some awesome people! This is exactly what a backpackers should be!

Disliked: NOTHING!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the town area, friendly staff

Disliked: none

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Subanake Pothanant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

01 November 2010

Liked: Hostel staff are friendly.

Disliked: I booked 1 double and 1 twin room but I got 1 double and 1 bunk bed. For your confirmation I should pay to hostel at 117 NZD but I don't know why they charged me at 125 NZD instead. It's small amount but it's not straightforward. I came to check in late so i don't have a chance to choose a new place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tudor Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2010 Tudor would recommend this property

Liked: The staff make you feel very much at home and the hostel has everything you need. The free apple crumble and ice cream was a huge bonus too!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Price

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2010 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This has to be, hands down, the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The owners are amazing and made everyone feel so welcome. If you like nights spent playing (or learning to play) Ukulele, painting and then get up to go swim with dolphins you won't want to miss out on this awesome place.

Disliked: NOTHING

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helene Turner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 October 2010 Helene would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely hostel with great, friendly owners. Very laid back atmosphere with excellent communal space and lots of nice personal touches like free fresh herbs for cooking. The owners will advise you on and help you book whatever tours you're interested in (dolphins, seals, whales etc). Would highly recommend - our fave in NZ so far

Disliked: the double room was very small but the rest of the hostel made up for it - and even as we left the owner was looking at fitting some hooks/ shelves for extra storage as we'd suggested. I think for security the main door to the veranda should be locked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2010

Liked: I loved their Turkish beds which gave you lots of privacy in a dorm of 6

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julia pell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2010 julia would recommend this property

Liked: The property was welcoming and had little extras that were a nice touch, eg. free chocolate brownies were baked, free tea and coffee. Showers were nice and hot and a towel was included in the double room and it was free to park.

Disliked: The hostel is very hot on recycling but possibly a little bin the room would be good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CRAIG PICARD

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2010 CRAIG would recommend this property

Liked: The atomsphere was excellent and hostel managers were very chilled and welcoming. We could have easily stayed a few more nights.If we visit NZ we will be staying here again.Plus they also bake which, is a treat when you want something sweet!

Disliked: Nothing was as described and some!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Characterful hostel, very friendly

Disliked: Rooms were slightly shabby, need an ungrade.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved it here and wished we could stay forever!!Keep up the uke band :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Liam McGinley

14 June 2010 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Once you find the place (which took me a while, mainly due to my poor map reading skills) you'll settle in quickly. Very friendly atmosphere and helpfull staff. Rooms are basic and a bit tight. Kitchen is well stocked with lots of free basic ingredients

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emer Moore

05 June 2010 Emer would recommend this property

Liked: brilliant place to stay! id recommend anyone going to Kaikoura to stay here. lovely staff made lasagne and pavlova for everybody and there were plenty of people baking delicious brownies and cookies to share. wish i couldve stayed there longer! and theres great musicians there too!

Disliked: Emer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool owners, made me feel really welcome and even gave me some home made pudding, very friendly place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma O'BRIEN

05 May 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double, the room was quite small but clean and comfy. The communal areas were nice both inside and outside. Free fair-trade coffee, tea and hot choc which was nice. Really up on recycling here which is really good! Good showers. Clean toilets and showers. Friendly staff who helped book on going travel plans.

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 April 2010

Liked: der Kamin

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jazz Bhangal

13 April 2010 Jazz would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Location! Location! Albatross Backpackers Inn a centrally located Inn/hostel, only a 5 - 7 minutes walk from the i-site and the town centre and situated a block away from the beach; you just can't beat the location. The building itself is listed, and the owners have retained most of the original features and have managed to maintain the building to a very modern standard. The managers Ben & Katie make the Albatross a cosy home away from home; with it's wood fired stove in the large wood floored common room, spacious dorm rooms, well equipped kitchen with its free spice rack and fresh outside herb garden, uber clean bathrooms and toilets. And outside they have decks and verandahs to lounge around on or just laze about on the green lawn on those sunny autumn day. You can loan the free bikes for the day and cycle to the seal colony. There's a secure carpark for campervans and those with oars. I would highly recommend the Albatross for a relaxing stay and for a little chill time. Stay here with confidence.

Disliked: Jazz left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ziga Pavlic

01 April 2010 Ziga would recommend this property

Liked: Very very nice hostel, with very nice hosts Katie and Ben.Would strongly recommend it to everybody coming to beautiful Kaikura.

Disliked: Ziga left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good music and amazing bbq night!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

katie williamson

08 March 2010 katie would recommend this property

Liked: homely feel with relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: katie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and atmosphere was great. Best hostel in NZ.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice old house, friendly owner, coozy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.