HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Albatross Backpacker Inn Kaikoura Hostel

1 Torquay St, Kaikoura, New Zealand

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kaikoura?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 21-13 of 13 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Relaxing place during the day where you can chill out and enjoy the lovely decoration of the hostel. Nice staff and comfy bed

Disliked: a bit noisy at night and toilets lack of privacy

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a really cozy hostel with wonderful lovley people! The staff was really helpful and friendly! Loved it!!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place was awesome! My favourite hostel in NZ. So friendly and homely and it attracted such an interesting and fun mix of people. One night they made curry and dessert for us all and we ate it together like some kind of dinner party. Kaikoura is a sleepy little town, despite its touristy reputation, so even though there was not really heaps to do there, I would recommend making the trip to this hostel. I can't emphasise enough how nice the atmosphere was and how much I enjoyed staying here. I didn't even tell the staff what time I arrived or how I would be getting here but they surprised me by picking me up from the bus stop and driving me to the hostel. They really go out of their way to do things like that here.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel was cute and it had a ski-lodge kind of feel about it. The lounge area is nice and the staff are helpful.

Disliked: The staff are helpful but cliquey. The showers are nowhere near the rooms and you have to walk through the kitchen and the lounge to get to them. There are only two toilets which is not enough. The dorms are small.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Its a hostel for travelers run by travelers. The oweners have thought of everything to make your stay in Kaikoura as fun and easy as possible. There is a great atmosphere and they have thought of everything!

Disliked: The layout was a bit odd in bits, but I think that was to accommodate bits of the former buildings, which are a great feature.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The best place in the world!!! I have travelled around for 6 months and this was the best place i satyed!!! Amazing atmosphere! you don't want to leave!!!

Disliked: too lovely you heart gets broken when you have to leave!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff, amazing facility with lots of perks (tour booking, free fresh vegetables and herbs, wine tastings etc).

Disliked: Twin room was tiny and you had to pay for internet (as it is everywhere in NZ)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice rooms

Disliked: Small kitchen / lounge for the number of guests. Showers were closed at random times every morning for cleaning - wouldn't be so inconvenient if they stuck to the 11am time they advertise. Lots of noise, my room was adjacent to corridor, kitchen, and outside seating area. very strong hippy vibe, not to my taste.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A happy place with a dreamy quality to it.. The lounge-common area was lovely!! Would definitely recommend this hostel..

Disliked: NOTHING!!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability