HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Albatross Backpacker Inn Kaikoura

Hostel

1 Torquay St, Kaikoura, New Zealand

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kaikoura?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 11-14 of 14 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Amazing atmosphere and group BBQ!

Disliked: About 15mi ute walk out of Kiakoura, but very close to dolphin encounter!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely old house great atmosphere good locationGreat owners real comfortable tone of the nicest backpackers Have been to.

Disliked: Nothing only comment reception is closed between 12.30 and 3.30 so had to wait over 2 hrs to Check in

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Relaxed friendly atmosphere. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing really although I did take small issue with some of the people who are living there long term. A french man who was staying there and getting his accommodation for free would sit up on work surfaces used for cooking and when he used the bathroom (I walked immediately after he did) he had clearly pissed all over the toilet seat.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was a good, comfortable hostel which is very good for young travellers.

Disliked: There is nothing that we disliked.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: friendly helpfull owners,spacious common areas and kitchen, lots of outside space and seating areaslocation only 10 mins walk to shops.

Disliked: we stayed in self contained unit, and it was a bit dated,and in need of decorating, shower cubicle was tiny, but overall it was clean and comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice atmosphere. Places to chill out and relax. Rooms are nice, adequate shower/ toilet facilities. Relatively close to the town centre about a 10minute walk away, but nice walk along sea front. Would stay here again, if came back.

Disliked: It was survival of the fittest in the kitchen. It was very busy and difficult to cook your dinner and then there was no where for me to eat it as all the seating was taken, but I think this was due to it raining so everyone piled inside.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were great, especially Joe helped with any questions I had. Made a very good impression even though I was only staying the one night :)

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: To be honest i think this hostel is a bit overrated , i came from the dolphin lodge and i changed after 2 nights because the albatross had a better rating. The atmosphere is very good and they organise lots of things for the guests but the accomodation like the beds and bathrooms are not very up to date.I stayed 1 night in a dormroom and 2 nights in a doubleroom.My dormroom was a room in another room and not in the mainbuilding. The walls are made of paper because i heard everything from outside and matresses are not very comfortable. Doubleroom was a bit better but stil you could hear anything from outside.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff, nice chill out area, clean rooms

Disliked: Bit far away from the shops but closer to local walks

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Atmosphere was awesome! Super chill and relaxed. They do big group dinners a couple times a week and you pay by donation (or helping cook). Big stacks of magazines and free Hot Choco/Tea/Coffee. They're very eco-conscious which is really important!

Disliked: Nothing really. Everything was great! Maybe a locker or something would be could for valuables?

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability