We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Birdsong Backpackers

Hostel | 124 Kumara Junction Highway, Hokitika, New Zealand 7882

90.7% Overall Rating

75 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2012)

"Very cute hostel! Well-stocked kitchen with dishware and other amenities, large communal area with tables for eating, couches for hanging out, etc. Queen bed was very comfortable"

Read all Birdsong Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hokitika?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

75 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Birdsong Backpackers'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 76 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 July 2014

Liked: Staff were friendly

Disliked: Location. Right on main highway, traffic noise v bad from our "seaview" room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wayne Bellette

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2014 Wayne would recommend this property

Liked: Great decor. Felt at home. Liked bird room names and artwork

Disliked: too close to train. woke up thinking there was an earthquake

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: view

Disliked: n/a

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Brendon Vanstone

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2012 Brendon would recommend this property

Liked: great passionate owners, well presented place, and neat themes

Disliked: it was quite expensive- the most ive ever paid for a double room anywhere in NZ, even a very nice one in greymouth was $68 so $75 was a little bit much really. Maybe it was because i booked through a middle man' company?? anyways its a very nice place so will still recommend it :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute hostel! Well-stocked kitchen with dishware and other amenities, large communal area with tables for eating, couches for hanging out, etc. Queen bed was very comfortable

Disliked: Room got VERY cold at night! They do provide hot water bottles and blankets, but I was freezing any time I wasn't in bed (stayed in May). Also, internet is slow and spotty on both computers, so you don't really get your money's worth if paying for internet access.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff - owner of the property was very nice and friendly. Gave us a nice tour of the facility. Several rooms were open, so she gave us a choice of rooms. The room was clean and had a view of the ocean. Towels were provided for free. The communal area was very quaint and conducive to meeting other travelers. Open kitchen and eating/lounging area. Several fridges and kitchen appeared to be well-stocked with cooking tools.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great feel about the place with lovely sea views and very helpful owners.

Disliked: It's a bit noisy as it is on the main road and a bit far out of town if you don't have transport - these are minor quibbles though, it's a great backpackers

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the birdsong decor and the fact that the rooms are named after New Zealand birds. Comfy couches in the common area, a great view of the coast for sunset and friendly staff.

Disliked: It's right off the highway, which I felt made walking into town a bit awkward, so I drove even though it's not far.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geng Qian Choo

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

23 October 2011 Geng Qian would recommend this property

Liked: Have a fabulous stay. Owner Kerry was so warmth welcoming. Very clean and has own characteristic hostel that I would definitely return for 2nd time (and for longer stay as well!)

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff/operator, relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: Road noise / proximity to main highway

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The room we stayed in was very nice and the kitchen/living area is lovely. The owners were actually away while we were there but the people looking after the place were very friendly and helpful with everything!

Disliked: If you don't have a car it could be a little difficult to get to. The internet signal is very limited

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KAN LIN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011 KAN would recommend this property

Liked: good bed and big kitchen.

Disliked: nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sit Fong Siew

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Sit Fong would recommend this property

Liked: The interior and decoration is nice.

Disliked: Heater is not good enough as we all found it abit cold staying there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Snow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is lovely; really cosy, good location, love the decoration and a friendly owner.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Andrew merefield

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2011

Liked: fire place in the common kitchen area

Disliked: cold as ice. our room seemed to be part of the gift shop walled off. The bed head was unattached to the bed and just stuffed between the bed and the wall, thus making for a loud lump against the hollow fibro walls during any activity.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noreza Mohd Rejab

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Noreza would recommend this property

Liked: I simply love the homely setting and the welcome...a good nice place to be in

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly service. Clean and spacious accommodation. Well-equipped kitchen. Great wood heater in common room.

Disliked: Chilly inside ensuite double room in late May. Small column heater is inadequate.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANIS NADDIAH MOHD NASIR

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011 ANIS NADDIAH would recommend this property

Liked: It's SUPER CLEAN! Easy to access and I've got nice view.

Disliked: Let me think... NONE!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners, lovely building and perfect view on sunsets.

Disliked: Everything was nice, so nothing to complain about.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic views at sunset from the upstairs lounge/dining area. And, of course, the birdsong.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere - a very nice view - comfortable facilities - nice rooms - very friendly staff

Disliked: No comments

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff--nice rooms--great kitchen--dining room with view of ocean. off street parking. Good value. People staying there were friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpful. Good common area & fantastic view of the Tasman Sea.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Child friendly. Wonderful lounge area overlooking the sea.

Disliked: A long walk to the shops and main town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Narelle Kropp

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

16 February 2011 Narelle would recommend this property

Liked: Host Neil was brilliant, friendly guy who makes you feel very welcome and at home. Immaculately clean, kitchen well equipped, beautiful view of the ocean from kitchen and dining area. Great place to stay and highly recommend.

Disliked: Could possibly do with another shower/toilet.